Don1 I must agreee with you about

Here is a reading list for the CAPE syllabus if you don't believe me.

I think our breden Lazie would find some interesting reading here too.

http://www.nlj.org.jm/docs/cape_history.htm

Boss I'm sorry I didn't keep it; I saw in
      the Gleaner where a UWI prof. wrote, subscribing to the view made above.

Done talk.

Yuh know ah meant to tell

Lazie dat him should listen to his senior but as dem say cockroach nuh bizniz innna fowl yaad, so mi leff it alone.

Boss mi haffi go by wha mi see inna di Ja paper.

Quick question: Is garvey being taught at CAPE and the tertiary level in Ja too? thanks.

BTW yuh insult mi by lumping
          mi in wid Lazie but ah nuh nutten still.

Yeah but Jawge you have professors in the US who say all kinds of things, like 9-11 was caused by the US govt blowing up the towers.

It is not fair to judge the whole system off what one prof says.

but to publish in the news paper? Then we must take into
              cosideration Ja's pop size with respect to UWI. I'm sure one can see UWI emerging as an authority when considering the ratio of populatin to tertiary institution.

Point taken , regardless.

The other almshouse is the continuous teaching that Columbus discovered Jamaica, even though the same history books says that he set out to reach mainland India by travelling west instead of the customary eastern travels, and came up on land he had no idea existed. He still thought that he reached India, hence West Indies...seem to me that he got lost and everything else was accidental. My 10 y.o. son did a multi-cultural project a few days ago which he elected to do about Jamaica, to point out his rich heritage. I provided some information to him and had him write that Jamaica was visited by Columbus instead of founded! Yeah, we don't have to dis him but speak the truth..and while we are at it can we also tear off that stupid colonial piece of crap wig that our judges in Jamaica insist on wearing!! Not sure if they even wear it anymore in England but hey, we are certainly upkeeping their tradition. Government do something bout dat please.

Actually, i think you have made a valid point too.

An individual professors opinion in JA will indeed carry a lot more weight than thier counterpart in a larger country with more access to teritary education, especially one writing in a major newspaper.

Heh heh, him soon come and tell we dat we nuh deal wid facts and stas like him.

None sense I didn't do History and I have a degree.

Many students haven't done history. Maybe at your college but not at any I attended that you had to do history.

Okay sir; you went through a
                        US institute of higher learning without knowledge of history. This is rare
                        but more power to you. Ah maybe one day I take it up on
                        myself to attend college, then I won't stop until I get my phd

Mi notice say ah phd. ah run di cut ah yaad.

and this is why yuh
                          ah senior labourite Hope yuh
                          nuh tek nuh offence.

No sensible person can deny the role of the abolitionists/clergy and others!

I have been called worse things on the forum, ask Yuttie!

Originally posted by Sensi View Post
                                The other almshouse is the continuous teaching that Columbus discovered Jamaica, even though the same history books says that he set out to reach mainland India by travelling west instead of the customary eastern travels, and came up on land he had no idea existed. He still thought that he reached India, hence West Indies...seem to me that he got lost and everything else was accidental. My 10 y.o. son did a multi-cultural project a few days ago which he elected to do about Jamaica, to point out his rich heritage. I provided some information to him and had him write that Jamaica was visited by Columbus instead of founded! Yeah, we don't have to dis him but speak the truth..and while we are at it can we also tear off that stupid colonial piece of crap wig that our judges in Jamaica insist on wearing!! Not sure if they even wear it anymore in England but hey, we are certainly upkeeping their tradition. Government do something bout dat please.
                                "Christopher Columbus was a Dyam Blasted Liar".... Burning Spear song by the same name. The fact is we have all the knowledge that we need, historically those who were in charge of our curriculae chose not to include it as our manditory history teaching. The PNP tries to promote the impression that they were a progressive party but on this on other issues they were frauds. whole tight Jawge.