• Cease and settle!

Cease and settle!

Lloyd B Smith
    Tuesday, May 19, 2009
    "See them fighting for power but they know not the hour."
    - Bob Marley

Lloyd B Smith
    Let's face it. Usually after a general election has been fought and won, the country settles down and gets back to normal. This has not been the case with respect to the aftermath of the September 3, 2007 general election. Of course, the main reason for this is more than painfully obvious. The ruling Jamaica Labour Party has a razor-thin majority (32-28) over the Opposition People's National Party.

And as if this scenario was not volatile enough, the dual-citizenship issue continues to rear its ugly head with one by-election held so far in Western Portland while there are several more to come. In order to ensure that the incumbent JLP MP Daryl Vaz, who was disqualified by the courts, would win in fine style, the JLP pulled out all the stops. Millions of dollars were spent (including large amounts culled from the public purse to undertake various projects), and almost the entire party hierarchy invaded that deep rural enclave, including cabinet ministers and other high-ranking government officials.

As a result of this major preoccupation and "occupation of West Portland" by the JLP, the Bruce Golding-led administration either did not spend enough time (or did not have the time?) in crafting the 2009/2010 national budget. What emerged was therefore, as the PNP's Spokesman on Finance Dr Omar Davies has indicated, a "chaka chaka budget". Indeed, even as this article is being written, the nation does not have a clear-cut understanding of that most important matter and how in real terms it will affect our everyday lives.

One refreshing outcome of the budget debate, however, was the manner in which the earlier presentations were delivered. Speakers on both sides of the Lower House, including Finance Minister Audley Shaw and his counterpart Dr Omar Davies, followed by Opposition Leader Portia Simpson Miller and Prime Minister Bruce Golding, impressed us with their accommodating and conciliatory stance. But perhaps we started to applaud them too soon because by the time we came towards the end, the gloves came off and they were back to their usual combative, confrontational style of tackling the nation's business. When will our politicians grow up?

In the wake of a confusing budget presentation that has left us with more questions than answers, the PNP and latterly the JLP announced that it was embarking on a series of town meetings islandwide. The PNP has so far held one in Savanna-la-Mar and the JLP's first meeting will be in Mandeville. Call me cynical or maybe I am too sceptical, but what are the PNP and the JLP going to do to ensure that these town meetings do not end up just being political rallies attended by faithful and loyal supporters?
    In any event, given the very divisive and intimidating nature of our politics, it is very unlikely that many Comrades are going to attend a JLP town meeting and vice versa, which in essence means that they will be preaching to the converted or those who have eyes but will not see or have ears but will not hear because of their partisan stance. I don't know how the PNP will be funding their town meetings, but no doubt the JLP being the party in power will be using taxpayers' money to stage theirs. Will this be yet another exercise in futility, primarily designed to merely keep the party vibes going?

Will there be meaningful discourse, constructive consultation and objective dialogue or just another opportunity for "throw word, tracing" and political one-upmanship? And given the fact that there are some three by-elections in the offing, will these meetings be used as a platform for scoring political points rather than dispassionately examining the mess we are in and what are the best ways to extricate the country from the quagmire of a sluggish economy?

Frankly, I have very little hope that anything positive and productive will come out of these town meetings, except that the various utterances and verbal attacks will only help to create a greater divide between Comrades and Labourites.

Why do I say this? Because what is unfolding is a power game. And it has nothing to do with people power! Is it not strange that not much has been stated during the budget presentation so far about the dual-citizenship issue? Then all of a sudden, it rears its ugly head again when the PNP cried foul with respect to the Labour Day national projects, all three of which were slated for the constituencies that are up for possible by-elections! Are Jamaicans so naïve that they do not see through all this hypocrisy and sophistry?

The bottom line is that both the JLP and PNP need to "cease and settle". And for this to be achieved, then both parties need to sit down at a roundtable and iron out those kinks that are preventing them from working towards the common good. In real terms, if we are to go by the Constitution of Jamaica and the letter of the law, the country now has a bogus Parliament - one that is illegitimate and unconstitutional. In other words, Jamaica is being run by a rogue Parliament and history will not be kind to those of our elected officials who have helped to perpetrate this travesty.

Against this background, the country will never settle down because neither of the major political parties is going to cease from focusing on the retention or obtaining of power. This is a stalemate that has and will continue to create numerous distractions and contentions "while Jah kingdom goes to waste".

My warning to the JLP and PNP is that the Jamaican people are reaching a point of no return. We are teetering at the edge of a gaping precipice. The dual-citizenship issue must be settled post-haste, and if the JLP continues to move away from all that it promised during the 2007 election campaign, then it will ultimately need a fresh mandate. The PNP still feels that it ought not to have lost the last general election, so the "nightmares" will continue unabated.

In the meantime, a seemingly amateurish government continues to wriggle its way through one crisis after another, even as the average Jamaican is yet to fully understand and appreciate the road to be taken. Where is the road map? Lest Mr Golding and Mrs Simpson Miller forget, if you do not know where you are going, then any road will take you there.
    lloydbsmith@hotmail.com

This article itself is sophistry.

The PNP needs to accept that it is in Opposition and act accordingly.

They need to be responsible and bide their time till the next election. They had their turn for a looooong time and we all saw the result (plain for all to see and interprret as they wish). They should give the other set their chance to mess up and be prepared then to replace them in due course. They wont be forgiven for trying to undermine the JLP Govt, as it will be seen as mean spirited and cynical.

Portland was not won because of spending. Voters have a history of tekking the goodies and voting what they want. Portland is no garrison, where results can be ensured. The portland vote was a PNP backlash for their undermining ways. They dont seem to be able to overcome their sense of entitlement and voters can sense this. Not that the voters love the JLP, more like they resent the PNP.

They need to be responsible and bide their time till the next election. They had their turn for a looooong time and we all saw the result (plain for all to see and interprret as they wish). They should give the other set their chance to mess up and be prepared then to replace them in due course. They wont be forgiven for trying to undermine the JLP Govt, as it will be seen as mean spirited and cynical.

Portland was not won because of spending. Voters have a history of tekking the goodies and voting what they want. Portland is no garrison, where results can be ensured. The portland vote was a PNP backlash for their undermining ways. They dont seem to be able to overcome their sense of entitlement and voters can sense this. Not that the voters love the JLP, more like they resent the PNP.
      I agree with the columnist 100%.

Yes the country is in dire straits and we can argue until kingdom come about the reasons for that (and many are responsible)... but arguing about that is irrelevant... within the context of our perpetual crisis.
      Yet many Jamaicans (for example on this forum) spend much of their time arguing about their favourite party and why it's better than the other.... NONSENSE.

What is relevant is crafting a plan to get out of the morass and move down the road to prosperity.
      It is clear that neither party has a clue as to how to achieve this.
      It is clear that neither party individually (in my opinion) is CAPABLE as they currently operate, to move the country forward. Waiting for the JLP to create prosperity is absolutely naive....dat nah guh wuk.

Leadership must come from the top... that's how Jamaica is structured. To expect the Opposition to show more statesmanship than the ruling party is insane. It is up to the JLP to set the tone for the country as I have been saying from Day 1. If the tone they set is divisive... so will be the political discourse... and the results for Jamaica will continue to be negative.

Jamaica should NOT merely allow the JLP to prove itself a failure over an extended period of time (as we did the PNP). Not if we truly want to see progress.
      That old societal paradigm is bankrupt, expired and should be buried... we can't afford more of that same BS!

Jamaica has to demand a NEW PARADIGM. Where we cooperate under an agreed NATIONAL PLAN.... NOT A PNP OR JLP PLAN.... but a national social contract involving all sectors in its development.
      For that to happen the JLP has to provide the leadership... and maneuver the PNP to follow... by outflanking them and engaging national stakeholders directly... I have extensively outlined some ideas on that issue.

The non-issue and kass kass over citizenship (and other assorted political irrelevancies consuming our energy) can only be put aside by a wider political agreement of cooperation.... why people cannot see this defeats me. This is not an issue worthy of much debate while we are in the eye of this storm.... we need to deal with real issues of survival.

This is like a couple arguing about the in laws when their house is on fire and their children are dying.... INSANITY!

Golding promised new governance... to date he has delivered new words, new faces but not much else. New words and faces are a NECESSARY first step... but not SUFFICIENT.. not even close.
      Some console themselves in the foolish belief that he is not as bad as what went before.

While this may well be true... Golding is FAR short of the MINIMUM required to move the country forward.
      So being marginally better is of no consequence to me.

Drivah needs to find that national roadmap.... he's still lost and heading for the precipice... as is the country.

Come-ooooooooooooooooooon?
        That spending must have been a factor?

Willi thank you very much about West Portland. I will say again it is model constituency. Just look at East Portland and South East St.Mary close by and you will see that the people of West Portland is not preoccupied with party politics.

The fact is that a son of the soil Errol Ennis who was also a junior minister of Finance and other area was MP for a long while and he misrepresented the people and it has been telling for the PNP for the last two election and Daryl Vaz has shown energy and a will to work with the people. That can't be denied.

Imbalanced, Hyperbole is rampant.. tone it down then we can take you seriously.

Yuh have one man digging a hole vigoursly for 18 years.. den a next man come in to fill the hole with worn out tools and di hole digger lurking and demonstrating seh him get fyad unfairly and War and calamity bruk out in di whole neighboorhood den yuh have di 'ownah' dat siddung fi 18 years during peace times watching the hole digging complaining dat di hole not filling fast enough or AT ALL after not even 2 years...

How yuh really gwine tek dat 'ownah' seriously (maybe di 'ownah' was getting some nice perks during the hole digging mek him did so quiet ?, den when him fall dung inna di hole him start ball fi help and NOW..)

Willi tell us again how it guh nuh....

Let us check with Omar.. the authority on the matter...

Willi thank you very much about West Portland. I will say again it is model constituency. Just look at East Portland and South East St.Mary close by and you will see that the people of West Portland is not preoccupied with party politics.

The fact is that a son of the soil Errol Ennis who was also a junior minister of Finance and other area was MP for a long while and he misrepresented the people and it has been telling for the PNP for the last two election and Daryl Vaz has shown energy and a will to work with the people. That can't be denied.
                this may be true ... and comforting to you as someone from that corner ...but.... this Vaz/citizenship/by election soap opera is a VERY minor sidebar to the bigger picture of national survival.... and distracting people from dealing with real issues.

That's the main point of the article.

Imbalanced, Hyperbole is rampant.. tone it down then we can take you seriously.

Yuh have one man digging a hole vigoursly for 18 years.. den a next man come in to fill the hole with worn out tools and di hole digger lurking and demonstrating seh him get fyad unfairly and War and calamity bruk out in di whole neighboorhood den yuh have di 'ownah' dat siddung fi 18 years during peace times watching the hole digging complaining dat di hole not filling fast enough or AT ALL after not even 2 years...

How yuh really gwine tek dat 'ownah' seriously (maybe di 'ownah' was getting some nice perks during the hole digging mek him did so quiet ?, den when him fall dung inna di hole him start ball fi help and NOW..)

Willi tell us again how it guh nuh....
                  not interested in your version of history.. irrelevant as usual

Don't panic,

Drivah may be slowed down by di PNP shennanigans and di World Crisis but him is clearly a man for the times.. him know where the country haffi guh and what haffi happen.. killing sacred cows along the way (not an easy task), the pace may not be satisfactory for some but given their stance the last 18 years.. Dem nuh have nuh talk...

Rally Drivah managing the dexterity stage with aplomb..

you are not qualified.. you don't believe in history and as a result you don't even have a version..

If it is minor why is it distracting people.

Without it I guess survival would have been much easier and the real issue would be dealt with.

Don't panic,

Drivah may be slowed down by di PNP shennanigans and di World Crisis but him is clearly a man for the times.. him know where the country haffi guh and what haffi happen.. killing sacred cows along the way (not an easy task), the pace may not be satisfactory for some but given their stance the last 18 years.. Dem nuh have nuh talk...

Rally Drivah managing the dexterity stage with aplomb..

Hope springs eternal in the sycophant's chest.

If it is minor why is it distracting people.

Without it I guess survival would have been much easier and the real issue would be dealt with.
                            Very curious reasoning.
                            You have never seen minor issues distract people? Get real....

this reponse of yours is not worth further comment and distraction.

It's too minor.

Good let us get to the national agenda now.