Good News Jawge !!!

• Good News Jawge !!!

Jamaica is back on track under the JLP !

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...ead/lead5.html

MINISTER OF Education Andrew Holness has urged teachers to immediately tackle the problem of illiteracy.

"The most important thing for Jamaica today is literacy. Until we realise we have an emergency on our hands, we will continue in the same vein, getting the same results over and over again," said Holness during the annual teachers' awards ceremony at the Rose Hall Resort and Country Club in St James Saturday evening.

Holness cited the Human Development Index which indicated Jamaica currently trailed several underdeveloped countries such as Cuba, Singapore and the Philippines in literacy. He offered the Ministry of Education's solution to the challenge of illiteracy: literacy tests that will be centrally administered and standardised effectively in order to ensure that every child in Jamaica can read, write and comprehend before they enter high school.

Huh, yuh think?

dem say yung bud nuh know storm. Ben it's tempting to
    go down the road of party politics with you but I see education as national security. It would be nice if you tell Mr. Holnes that the present
    system of education in Ja , needs to be retooled (in order to meet the demands of the info age). That's just step ONE!

You really love that "info age" term eh?

Suh wheh yuh seh... him on di right track ?

true!

I like what Holness has been saying, and doing.

We should be embarrassed about our education results. Yes, we do have the brilliant students, like any other country in the world, passing 5 and 6 CAPE subjects, but the country needs to be concerned about the averages. Let the families of the brilliant celebrate. We have work to do!

Yes sah because if we are not prepared we are doomed.

I will give more explanations later.