• Music - Reaping What We Sow

No Caribbean love for dancehall

Published: Sunday | May 10, 2009

Krista Henry, Staff Reporter

"One Caribbean, one soul, reaching for a common goal" may have been the mantra preached by Trinidadian David Rudder in One Caribbean, but when it comes to putting the message into practice it has not reached the music of the region.
    As flocks of inter-regional artistes from the Caribbean are drawn to Jamaica to work with local artistes and producers alike, in a reverse move, Caribbean islands are putting a 'stop order' on Jamaican artistes travelling throughout the region. Jamaican artistes have long found themselves in the bad books of international authorities since the days when Shabba Ranks' career was stopped in mid-flight after experiencing the backlash of responding to a question about Buju Banton's Boom Bye Bye. Since doing that song in the early 1990s, Buju has been plagued across the globe with banned concerts, a trend which has now spread to the likes of Beenie Man, T.O.K., Capleton, Sizzla, Elephant Man and others.

closer to home
    More recently, however, the ban has been implemented closer to home, with artistes being banned from performing within the Caribbean and, in some cases, their songs banned from being played by radio stations in Caribbean islands. Within the last two years, dancehall artiste David 'Mavado' Brooks has been banned from countries such as St Vincent and the Grenadines, Grenada, Guyana and Trinidad and Tobago due to the violent and sexually explicit content of his lyrical repertoire. In the mid-1990s, female dancehall artiste Patra was also banned from St Vincent and the Grenadines.
    Last year, Guyana's state Television and radio, National Communications Network, placed a ban on the music of Jamaican artistes Mavado and Bounty Killer, who were both banned from performing in the country by the government. In an article published on Islandevents.com, it was reported that all private programme producers who host programmes on state radio, were asked to desist from playing the music of the two artistes because of the content of their lyrics. The report said, "following his (Bounty Killer's) performance, Guyana's Home Affairs Minister Clement Rohee said the promoters had given a commitment that the artiste would not sing songs that promote violence. However, he reportedly breached the commitment." Mavado, who was also billed to perform at Linden Town in Guyana in April 2008, was banned at the last minute after he was said to be a security risk and would, therefore, not be allowed to enter.

kartel barred from grenada
    Two weeks ago, controversial deejay Adidja 'Vybz Kartel' Palmer was barred from performing at a show in Grenville, St Andrews in Grenada, scheduled for May 2. The artiste was banned from the event, Rap-it-up, which was to mark the official launch of his Daggerin condoms in that island, after government officials turned down his work permit, stating that his songs were too lewd and violent. When contacted by The STAR, the deejay pleaded for the ban to be lifted. He said, "This decision by the government of Grenada to not grant us work permits is regrettable, especially in light of the fact that this is a concert to promote safe sex in a region which has the second-highest rate of HIV infection in the world after sub-Saharan Africa, and a high incidence of AIDS, a disease which has devastated several families in the Caribbean. Through our company, Daggering Unlimited, we advocate safe sex and condom use, using entertainment."
    Unlike the other islands, each year Jamaica opens welcoming arms to soca artistes for the carnival season who have long lauded the friendliness of Jamaica. Artistes such as Barbadian Alison Hinds, Trinidadians Destra Garcia and Machel Montano, among others, are frequent visitors. Other artistes such as Collie Buddz (who hails from Bermuda), Pressure (from the United States Virgin Islands) as well as Timeka Marshall and Natural Black, who are both from have lived and worked in Jamaica for extended periods.

not recommended
    For Carlette Deleon of Headline Entertainment, booking agent to a number of Caribbean acts, banning Jamaican artistes in Caribbean islands is not an approach that she would recommend.

She told The Sunday Gleaner, "You should outline to the artistes the guidelines that they will follow, and if the patrons don't want to see them, then they don't pay to go. "I'm disappointed that Caribbean islands are having a knee-jerk reaction to a situation that is far more complex and one that needs more thought put into decision-making than to simply ban our indigenous artistes." Deleon elaborated that the banning may have a detrimental effect on the artistes and will, in turn, affect the image of more 'positive' artistes.
    Dr Donna Hope Marquis, writer and lecturer at the University of the West Indies, Mona, and dancehall aficionado, believes the ban takes away from the earning potential of the music industry and the revenues that can accrue to our society. According to Hope Marquis, part of the problem starts in Jamaica as it seems that the same artistes that are labelled as negative locally are those that are banned and labelled as negative in the region.

music suffers
    She commented, "I believe the artiste, the music and Jamaica are affected as bans anywhere portray all three in a negative light ... we must work with our artistes here in Jamaica to sort out any challenges we have with the music. Our artistes are from and of this society and so is their music. If we demonise our artistes here in Jamaica then others will feel quite justified to do the same elsewhere, except that, when this happens, it is not the artiste but actually Jamaican music that suffers."
    She continued, "Jamaican debates about music, content and standards are telescoped across the world and the responses will parallel that of the authority figures here. It is quite instructive that the situation with Vybz Kartel in Grenada was orchestrated by government officials even though Kartel has a huge fan base there and he was actually to perform at an event which was to mark the official launching of his Daggerin condoms in Grenada. Condoms and public education programmes about the risks of HIV are positive uses of the music, but, again, we are faced with this dilemma."

This Woman Has Missed The Point!

“It is quite instructive that the situation with Vybz Kartel in Grenada was orchestrated by government officials even though Kartel has a huge fan base there and he was actually to perform at an event which was to mark the official launching of his Daggerin condoms in Grenada. Condoms and public education programmes about the risks of HIV are positive uses of the music, but, again, we are faced with this dilemma.” - Dr. Donna Hope Marquis

This woman continually misses the point when it comes to a discussion of dancehall negativity!! Even someone like Ninja Man (and I’ve posted proof of this here in the past) has a far greater awareness of certain social implications of the dancehall phenomenon than this woman, who ironically is a university lecturer and so responsible for shaping thinking! Couldn’t her commonsense tell her that the Grenadian government does not want the daggering culture (whether through condoms or other means) to infiltrate their society? And so what if Vybz Cartel’s brand of condoms is not sold in Grenada? Big deal, as there are many other brands, and less crudely named brands, available on the market there!

And then look at the paradoxical situation of the world’s premier promoter of the “daggerin” lifestyle (Kartel) becoming an educator about “the risks of HIV”!! How ironic!!!

mi tell unnu Kartel a nuh idiot.

watch him re-invent himself again.

I have no problem with daggering or any sexual lyrics as long as it is played for ADULTS ONLY.

No kids should have to listen to that kind of thing. The gun lyrics is a different thing. There should be a way to lock them up for inciting violence.

Kartel re-inventing himself? Again?!? How so?

Eediat article still. Dancehall is loved throughout the Caribbean, including Mavado's and Kartel's chunes.

And why are we acting like is ongle dem two exist? Eediat article. Banning them throughout the region does not doom dancehall one bit!

He is intelligent enough to always ride the edge.
          When I say re-inventing himself I mean lyrically. He will do enough to get enough airplay and exposure and do things to keep himself in the public eyes.

Dancehall in the Caribbean

Eediat article still. Dancehall is loved throughout the Caribbean, including Mavado's and Kartel's chunes.

And why are we acting like is ongle dem two exist? Eediat article. Banning them throughout the region does not doom dancehall one bit!
            I have always longed to see the statistics that support the view stated here that “dancehall is loved throughout the Caribbean.” Of course, dancehall is very popular among certain demographics, but equally important, it is viewed with undisguised distaste by many, many people throughout the Caribbean, including many young people. This is a fact!

I would give almost anything to see a top notch (as in accurate) survey done to measure dancehall’s actual popularity, and also to measure its popularity against soca among a large cross section of the region.

But whether or not such an extensive survey is done, trust me when I say that a backlash is on the horizon against dancehall and its messages! Jamaicans might run their country, but they do not make decisions within other Caribbean territories. As I pointed out here several months ago, the patience of certain governments is wearing thin as they face rising crime and violence in their societies. This is obvious from their actions in recent years.

Today’s newspaper article, by the way, is limited in that it did not include all the countries that have banned dancehall artists. Also, Mavado and Vybz Kartel are not the only artists banned from regional territories, as in the past three years this banning has included others like Tony Matterhorn and Bounty Killer.

Dancehall is not the source of this crime and violence, but at the same time we have to acknowledge that when thugs and gangsters drive their cars, you can bet your life that you won’t be hearing soca or R&B or jazz emanating from their powerful car sound systems! Without exception, you are guaranteed to hear either rap or dancehall.

But, we’ll wait and see if I am correct in my backlash prediction….

Historian,

I don't have figures but from what I hear on the radio in T&T, on the street, from cars etc., dancehall is huge.

No poll needs to be done. Dancehall is much bigger (and better) than soca or any other genre in the Caribbean.

Again, there is tons of good dancehall music out there. Don't the Kartels of this world cloud the reality. And some of the "bad" music is, as far as I am concerned, bad only because it shouldn't be played every where.

Dancehall vs Reggae!

No poll needs to be done. Dancehall is much bigger (and better) than soca or any other genre in the Caribbean.

Again, there is tons of good dancehall music out there. Don't the Kartels of this world cloud the reality. And some of the "bad" music is, as far as I am concerned, bad only because it shouldn't be played every where.
                  Boss, I’m not going to prolong this debate, as I have never seen any statistical survey done on the subject. However, I can assure you that I would be very surprised if I found out that dancehall is more popular than mainstream reggae in the Caribbean!

In fact, I’m going to submit right now that mainstream reggae (along with R&B) is the single most popular and influential genre across the Caribbean region!

Reggae’s impact in the Caribbean and worldwide is immense. Don’t fool yourself that dancehall’s impact is the same, because it is not! So while we waste time talking about irrelevancies like Vybz Kartel, Mavado, Aidonia, Bling Dawg, Bounty Killer and the rest (will we remember these natural clowns ten years from now?), vastly superior talents like Etana, Cherine Anderson, Queen Ifrica, Tarrus Riley, Morgan Heritage, Da’ville, Rootz Underground, and the many others will continue to pack clubs and ball parks! Don’t for a minute think that mainstream reggae is dead!

Dancehall’s message has often been trite, dangerous and problematic in the context of Jamaican society, and I’m referring here to messages (for which we’re still paying the price) such as “informer haffi dead” and other such stuff.

One day, hopefully, you will begin to truly grasp why I detest gibberish-laden dancehall with such passion!!

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                    Dancehall’s message has often been trite, dangerous and problematic in the context of Jamaican society, and I’m referring here to messages (for which we’re still paying the price) such as “informer haffi dead” and other such stuff.

One day, hopefully, you will begin to truly grasp why I detest gibberish-laden dancehall with such passion!!
                    You cannot hate gibberish-laden dancehall more than me. Depends, perhaps, on how you define gibberish.

I would have you know that Queen Ifrica has done here share of gibberish too!

Dancehall is a lot more popular than reggae in Jamaica, the Caribbean and in Jamaican communities across the world. It is not even close!

Shows that nuh include a top dancehall artist are more likely to flop in Jamaican communities overseas. Mi go see Third World flop the other day, and if the promoter did use a littkle commonsense and added a top dancehall artist to the lineup, roads might block and him would not bawl eye wata.

The joker mussi get less than 50 people at the show and him lose him shirt.

but even some a di big Dancehall artist show dem flop too more time.

There is a lot more that go inna it still.

It is a very risky business.

True, but you are right, a straight reggae show will flop. Not even Rebel Salute will take that chance!

I guess a small scale reggae show will do alrite, but if wi talking the big mega shows...not sure bout dat atall!

depends on where.

Europe, Cali, Japan and them place they Reggae show a king, even New England if you take out Hartford.