NCU shows the way once more

Casserly wasn't looking for many tech workers, just call center workers and that was a challenge.

So you can imagine trying to find technology workers.

funny but true.

Again I say tourism must be taught in school. A simple A+ training could have helped them.

Suh what yuh tink bout Patrick Casserley ?

I understand his biggest problem was office space..

Does the Caymanas project target the type of industry you are talking about ?
        Casserly is a good example.

I'm not sure what Caymanas offers in terms of software development... seems to me it's more logistics and trade related. Software developers don't need that type of multi modal location.

California has Silicon Valley.... New York has Silicon Alley.....We need some "Silicon Lanes" within or close to our academic centers... Mona/Utech, NCU etc.... Where developers can get intellectual support close by.

This is not a factory type application needing mucho space, highways, ports and the like.

I thought his biggest problem was getting trainable people, who had attained the skills one should have from a basic secondary education. I know it was certainly one of his problems.

I don't think Don1 realise what a small base of trained professionals we have.
          I realize that... which is why I say we start small. UTECH already has a Technology Incubator.
          The longest journey begins with the first step.

Incidentally I know that US companies have recruited several programmers directly out of Jamaica.

The brain drain is nothing new... we can start to reverse that. Our domestic track program should be a great template & inspiration.

if the government can't maintain parish council road, you look to them fi build electronic superhiway?

How long it took them to build highway 2000 again
            It's not for the government to build that. It's for innovators to do so.

The GOJ just has to set the right conditions to make it happen.

Caymans master plan has a strong ICT component.

specifically software? or more call centers?

ok thanks

That would be nice... reality will dictate the use...

The sell move by Casserly was strategic in moving up the value chain..I presume there is a plan to develop the local competence to a meaningful scale.

In general I know the Govt is targetting middle,upper-middle income level employment for the Caymanas project..

informative but boring. could y'all start di tracing again soon?

yuh nuh good.

Here I am striving mightily to better myself.... promoting more light and less heat....only to be encouraged to return to strife and chaos.

We Jamaicans are doomed.
                        Last edited by Don1; May 12, 2009, 11:26 AM.

cho. the two and dem tun friend. Historian and Don1 a brethren these days.

Everybody cool and mellow. A wonder a what inna the pipe?

If only our politicians could learn from us!

only legal stuff...for medicinal purposes mind you.....

if ongle hl and mosiah coulda 'gree!

soon, soon...ah gwine dash it pon him without warning...