Jamaica cruisin'

[QUOTE=Don1;164533]Incidentally Jamaica's tourism industry is relatively well run.. excellent resorts, innovative hoteliers, many attractions, well trained staff, modernized ports of entry and a tourist authority very well regarded in the industry.QUOTE]

One of the reasons why the family only goes on Jamaican vacations, we get to experience worldclass Jamaica. Then when those 10-14 days are up we drive to Portland to experience what real Jamaicans have to live through....a crying shame.

"Then when those 10-14 days are up we drive to Portland to experience what real Jamaicans have to live through....a crying shame."

Expand on this nuh. give me a little more.

The basic things like water never in the pipes.....we did solve that problem with 3 massive black eyesores(water tanks) but the annoyance factor can never be discounted.

Then there is that awful road to go up to the hospital and overall state of the hospital......a friend had baby while we were there and we had to bring in all the basic supplies that you think a hospital would provide. I'll leave it at that.

thanks. I have often talked about the state of eastern Jamaica but sometimes it seems like a just pure chat but I am just so disappointed how we have fallen.

People on the forum a talk about Vaz wining election.

thanks. I have often talked about the state of eastern Jamaica but sometimes it seems like a just pure chat but I am just so disappointed how we have fallen.

People on the forum a talk about Vaz wining election.
            I have come to realize that Vaz is your hero.... the knight in shining armour sallying forth to save the East.
            Good luck with the reprobate... hope he continues to work out well for your peeps.

funny that you also said given the chance you could not vote for the fellow... what does it all mean?....hmmm

Not mi hero. it just show the pot belly politicians that they can accomplish

so why would u not vote for the fellow? or have u revised that?

everything is subjected to change.There is a lot I don't like about "Mr. Fix it" but if he continue servicing the people of Portland you never know.

I see... so there is hope for him.

Why did you have objections to him in the first place? What was the reason(s)?

let's hope no Portie young ladies get in his way.

He has shown a pattern of behaviour regarding 'young ladies' ??

rumours that I heard from my teenage days. His arrogance and his personality may not reflect someone I liked for West Portland.

That said many of us wouldn't vote for Desmond Mckenzie either but after seeing what he has done he is your hero.

When I vote for MP and looking for someone who can do the best job. I normally interview them, get their opinions, plan and see how realistic it might be. I have done this with community groups since I have been about 12.

Look I grew up on the border of Portland and St.Mary and while Daryl Vaz is working the judgement is out on Tarn Peralto which is of the same stock and is the MP for South East St.Mary. Before them you had Errol Ennis and Harry Douglas, both PNP and son of the soil and the concensus by the people is they didn't deliver.

When saying so if the PNP had choosen my candidate(a friend who use to play for my football team and is a community activist(a educated one) I would vote for him any day over anyone of them as I know what he has achieved and tried to do.

Now what make you vote for a candidate?

Fairness, performance, ideas and an acceptable moral character.

I see Desmond McKenzie as having all the above and have not been persuaded otherwise by any information that has come my way to this point.... hence my respect and support for his activities as mayor.

Vaz may or may not have the first 3 but as to moral character he is an abject failure in my book.... and unfit for public office.

To each his own.
                          Last edited by Don1; May 10, 2009, 08:42 AM.

You never hear Karl story about Mckenzie?

MOST of the Jamaican politicians have poor morals so think about that.

You never hear Karl story about Mckenzie?

MOST of the Jamaican politicians have poor morals so think about that.
                              No... did not hear that story.... please expound.

Cynic that I am, I'm always ready to downgrade my opinion of a politician.

if Karl want he can repeat it or ask him in a private email.