• Jamaica cruisin'

More cruise passengers for Jamaica

BY HORACE HINES, Observer West reporter
    Thursday, May 07, 2009
    MONTEGO BAY, St James-

John Byles, president of the National Cruise Council, says the industry has been buoyed by cruise ship arrivals redirected from Mexico in the face of the outbreak of the swine flu.
    According to Byles, the increase in calls by cruise vessels from both the Royal Caribbean and Carnival Cruise Lines have served to lengthen the cruise shipping season which traditionally runs from October to April, but has been getting off to later starts and ending earlier.
    "There are more calls to Montego Bay and Ocho Rios coming in from both Carnival as well as Royal Caribbean," Byles told the Observer West, adding that calls from the Carnival cruise line have been extended to June 15, and July for Royal Caribbean.
    "Some of these cruises were not scheduled to come to Jamaica as part of their itinerary so we now have the opportunity to handle them well, allow them to have a great experience in our ports," he added.
    Byles said the boost was welcome considering the 32.2 per cent decline in cruise passengers arrivals to the island's ports in February.
    Last year the island welcomed one million cruise passengers.
    Two vessels, the Carnival Glory and the Carnival Ecstasy will be calling on the Jamaican ports for the first time due to the redirection of cruise from Mexico in light of the outbreak of swine flu.

I made a visit to Cayman not too long ago, some days them have all 4 cruise ships in the Harbor. And this is an island that is 30 miles long with a few beaches and some turtles and iguanas as attractions.

Cayman has less Johncrows..

We breed them...

Yes they are being redirected from Mexico but the bigger question is why were they not originally scheduled to stop in Jamaica? The reason is the passengers see Jamaica as a cesspool and I am talking from being a one-time cruise ship employee. All di ship captain dem use to mek up every excuse inna di book not to come to Jamaica.

The most i ever see in Mobay at one time is 2. Seen 3 in Ochi several years ago.

Cayman has less Johncrows..

We breed them...

.................................................. ...........

post removed due to better judgment prevailing.
            Last edited by Don1; May 8, 2009, 03:30 PM.

Yes they are being redirected from Mexico but the bigger question is why were they not originally scheduled to stop in Jamaica? The reason is the passengers see Jamaica as a cesspool and I am talking from being a one-time cruise ship employee. All di ship captain dem use to mek up every excuse inna di book not to come to Jamaica.
              Interesting to hear these anecdotes when Jamaica is consistently rated one of the top cruise destinations worldwide at the WTA and Carnival is spearheading cruise port development in Jamaica at the moment... spending some of their own dollars.

But our cruise business should be 3X what it is now no doubt.

Saw three in Ocho Rios on my way to Champs last month

So, is wha happen to Mobay?

My thoughts at the time but no answers

A well run tourist industry in Jamaica would see cruise liners pushing each other out of the way to get docking space.

Jamaican tourism can do a helluva-lot-better!

A well run tourist industry in Jamaica would see cruise liners pushing each other out of the way to get docking space.

Jamaican tourism can do a helluva-lot-better!
                        Incidentally Jamaica's tourism industry is relatively well run.. excellent resorts, innovative hoteliers, many attractions, well trained staff, modernized ports of entry and a tourist authority very well regarded in the industry.

The problem lies in the country itself.... Jamaica is not well run... and never has been.... except possibly in the time of the Arawaks.

It's like inviting visitors to your home and confining them to a well appointed room.... but the rest of the house is shambolic.

Good Point

Incidentally Jamaica's tourism industry is relatively well run.. excellent resorts, innovative hoteliers, many attractions, well trained staff, modernized ports of entry and a tourist authority very well regarded in the industry.

The problem lies in the country itself.... Jamaica is not well run... and never has been.... except possibly in the time of the Arawaks. It's like inviting visitors to your home and confining them to a well appointed room.... but the rest of the house is shambolic.
                          I can’t believe I’m agreeing with you, but this time I’m forced to! You’ve made a very good point here. It is, I believe, an accurate summation of the problem that Jamaican society and Jamaica’s tourism are facing now.

The workers in my opinion are trained ok but not great. As a hotel trainee graduate of HEART Runaway Bay, I remember the quality training we got and within one week at least 3 major hotels wanted me. Both in training and working I saw where there was the need for improvement.

Some of the hotels do a good job, HEART only can accomodate a certain amount and JTB help train some of the current workers but we could do a much better job in my opinion but your points are well taken.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                              I can’t believe I’m agreeing with you, but this time I’m forced to! You’ve made a very good point here. It is, I believe, an accurate summation of the problem that Jamaican society and Jamaica’s tourism are facing now.
                              So there's hope for you yet.