• Brutality by security forces corrodes society's values

Brutality by security forces corrodes society's values
    Published: Thursday | May 7, 2009

The Editor, Sir:
    I listened to a former member of the Jamaica Constabulary Force, Alwyn Morgan, speak with Wilmot Perkins on his call-in programme on May 4 and was struck not only by his courage, but also by his loyalty to Jamaica.
    Morgan's account of the killing of a mentally challenged man in 1995 by a Jamaica Defence Force (JDF) member on duty with his SLR must have left other listeners in awe at the brutality and savagery of that murderous act. Likewise, it possibly resurrected for many the almost daily similar brutish acts over the years by our security forces, resulting in our police force having the distinction of having the highest per capita killings in the world at approximately 140 per year.
    Why can't we understand that, unless we bring police brutality to an end, we are not going to make any real advances as a society? It matters not what the colour, class or background is of the Jamaican who is beaten, killed, tortured or abused by the police. What matters is that an attack on any Jamaican is an attack on all Jamaicans. If the police are allowed to continue to abuse the rights of Jamaicans with impunity, then we are nurturing and sustaining a society that will be forever violent.
    I sincerely believe that President Obama's strong stance against torture by the US has very little to do with his love for America's enemies, but more to do with his love for his country. As he put it, "... you start taking shortcuts, and over time, that corrodes what's best in a people". The same principle must certainly be applicable to Jamaica. If we allow our police to kill and brutalise, we will also, over time, corrode what is best about our country.

Ineffective
    The different oversight and accountability bodies of the police, the Police Public Complaints Authority and Police (Civilian) Oversight Authority, have been ineffective because, I believe, their leadership lacks the will to be effective. Instead, our most effective oversight body of our police appears to be Jamaicans for Justice, because its leadership is passionate in their effort to ensure a just society where the rights of all Jamaicans are respected.
    We need to not only get these two agencies of government working, but we must also send a clear message to our security forces that the abuse of citizens' rights will no longer be tolerated and/or condoned.
    I am, etc.,
    Colonel ALLAN DOUGLAS
    alldouglas@aol.com Miami, Florida

Thank you, Lazie.

And you will be surprised to know what seemingly intelligent people on tv and radio think about the JFJ.

If you want to deal with police brutality you have to deal with Narco -political brutality , Social Brutality , Economic brutality and Educational Brutality.

Lets be real the police force is a reflection of them all .It will never happen until you address all of the above .I dont see a police man walking any beat in kingston with a baton, do you ?

Granted we have some cases that cry bloddy murder , but the gunmen being killed with collateral damge is a reflection on us all, not just the police force.

The P.O spring forth from the same , prep , primary , high and Universities we came out of , are you telling me when they join the force they have a revelation to be brutal ?

Its a culture of society not just the police why do they have so much public support if it is as you say a police problem ?They terrosise an area one day and they next they can be greeted as Heroes when they murder a wanted man in the same area.

PLEASE LETS DEAL WITH THE REAL ISSUES.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

All that from what I posted? Ok!

The flare up in Rockort recently a lady made a comment , nuh guh down deh police a kill man and gun man a kill man !!!!!!

So we have a war on our hands where the police (state) are terrorising people and gunmen(Narco Political Activist ) are terrorising people.

We want what to stop ? Police brutality , it wont happen.The state is double dibbing on both ends.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

So with whom the responsiblity of protection lay? The government, the police or the gunmen?

Brutality by security forces corrodes society's values
              Published: Thursday | May 7, 2009

The Editor, Sir:
              I listened to a former member of the Jamaica Constabulary Force, Alwyn Morgan, speak with Wilmot Perkins on his call-in programme on May 4 and was struck not only by his courage, but also by his loyalty to Jamaica.
              Morgan's account of the killing of a mentally challenged man in 1995 by a Jamaica Defence Force (JDF) member on duty with his SLR must have left other listeners in awe at the brutality and savagery of that murderous act. Likewise, it possibly resurrected for many the almost daily similar brutish acts over the years by our security forces, resulting in our police force having the distinction of having the highest per capita killings in the world at approximately 140 per year.
              Why can't we understand that, unless we bring police brutality to an end, we are not going to make any real advances as a society? It matters not what the colour, class or background is of the Jamaican who is beaten, killed, tortured or abused by the police. What matters is that an attack on any Jamaican is an attack on all Jamaicans. If the police are allowed to continue to abuse the rights of Jamaicans with impunity, then we are nurturing and sustaining a society that will be forever violent.
              I sincerely believe that President Obama's strong stance against torture by the US has very little to do with his love for America's enemies, but more to do with his love for his country. As he put it, "... you start taking shortcuts, and over time, that corrodes what's best in a people". The same principle must certainly be applicable to Jamaica. If we allow our police to kill and brutalise, we will also, over time, corrode what is best about our country.

Ineffective
              The different oversight and accountability bodies of the police, the Police Public Complaints Authority and Police (Civilian) Oversight Authority, have been ineffective because, I believe, their leadership lacks the will to be effective. Instead, our most effective oversight body of our police appears to be Jamaicans for Justice, because its leadership is passionate in their effort to ensure a just society where the rights of all Jamaicans are respected.
              We need to not only get these two agencies of government working, but we must also send a clear message to our security forces that the abuse of citizens' rights will no longer be tolerated and/or condoned.
              I am, etc.,
              Colonel ALLAN DOUGLAS
              alldouglas@aol.com Miami, Florida
              or... brutality of society corrodes security forces? It's a vicious cycle.
              ...... a symbiotic relationship.

Ahh yuh see it Don , Dem find man headless and wid gunshot a Rockfort and if police line up de man with im associates and friends the JFJ naah guh like it.