Gov’t moves agencies out of high-end buildings

• Gov’t moves agencies out of high-end buildings

In a bid to trim some fat from its budget this year, the government will be shifting several government Ministries and agencies from their high cost rented commercial space, to buildings already owned by the government.
    The Prime Minister says one Ministry is now paying $30 million a year for rent.

He complained that in the Corporate Area, almost $220 million is being spent on rent alone, when there are empty government buildings that just need to be refurbished in order to make them useable.
    The Ministry of Water and Housing is likely to be the first to make the move back to more humble lodgings.

That Ministry moved from its original home on Hagley Park Road to New Kingston, where it rents prime office space for $24 million a year.

"For the life of me I can't understand. I was told that the building was condemned. The only thing that condemned it was the appetite to be in New Kingston. The Minister of Water and Housing is making arrangements it is going to require some refurbishing because it has been locked up for so long but the Minister of Water and Housing is making arrangements to go back home," said Mr. Golding.

He did not give a time-line for the move.

http://www.radiojamaica.com/content/view/17710/26/

Excellent move! Downtown a carry di swing!

Will some investors go under?
      Just asking!

Karl, is there always an opportunity to throw water on any moves by the gov't?

Just asking!
          some lose... others benefit.... that's the way of the world.

how so? not wid Karl, as him say "just print the money"

Govt. should always make use of the buildings it owns. What's the point in locking up what you own and then go renting.

At least some folks will get employment through the refurbishing project, and moving back business to that area will help to revitalize the place.

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                Govt. should always make use of the buildings it owns. What's the point in locking up what you own and then go renting.

At least some folks will get employment through the refurbishing project, and moving back business to that area will help to revitalize the place.
                A Karl yuh a explain that to? Him nuh waan hear that.

Just asking!
                  R U serious Would you lock up a house you owned and move to a rental property in close proximity. That's like "picking up in a shovel, what you're throwing away in a barrell"