Computer Society rejects tax on computers

I just came from the post office, Lazie. 6 people in front of me basically buyng stamps or sending a registered letter. I must have been there for half an hour. We are still fixing carbon copy paper between sheets of receipts, handwriting receipts, and filling out the registered mail ticket (or whatever it's called) by hand. Do you have any appreciation for that sort of drudgery? What could computers do for a business like that? Now that is a state operation, so maybe we shouldn't care, but do you know how many other businesses could use a half decent computer system? Yes, the banks and insurance companies have computers all over the place, but are they even using them in the most efficient manner?

Back to the post office itself - our govts want to tax education (both of them so don't start with me, Lazie!) by taxing books. If you ever see how these people at the bank addressed the envelopes to be mailed, where they placed the stamp, where they placed the return address?! The post office rep didn't know where to place the additional sticker for the registered mail.

I guess no one writes anymore, much less write letters, no one gets letters from anyone, not even for the light bill cause is tief wi tief dat. I bet they could fill out a Western Union receive form with their eyes closed though!

It always amazes me how some of us are experts with our cell phones. That indicates to me that wi not as dumb as we behave. Give us some decent education, some cheap books and computers and we would show the world dat wi can do more than run. And shoot.
    "our govts want to tax education (both of them so don't start with me, Lazie!) by taxing books"

You and JAwge drinking from the same cup or something? Books for education and religion (not certain why religious books are exempted) won't be taxed. How many times should that be made clear.

Its okay to ask for decent education, healthcare, roads etc ... but if unuh nuh pay taxes how unuh gonna get it? The man dem say with gas tax is to deal with roads, now unuh fi get pon dem case bout the roads.

Lazie, there is a slight difference in literacy levels for the countries. Stop the foolishness.

I am against taxes for books and computers, educational or not! At the end of the day, it's all about education, efficiency, production and knowledge.

.. and its taxes on computers that caused the difference in literacy levels? Check this video clip, Stone Love a use 2 laptop fi run a dance yet dem nuh fi pay tax? Wha yuh smoking?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GVQAZ...eature=related

Lazie, stop gwaan like wi nah pay whole heap a tax arready! GCT 99% of every ting wi buy is 16.5%!!! Twice what it is in NYC! Mi send mi helper (yes, wi still have those ) har pay by Western Union tidday - 16.5% tax off!

And membah say mi nuh really have a problem wid di gas tax. But, Zas Crise man, how much more yuh waan wi fi pay!?!

That's exactly what happens. But at least, if the computer is there, there is hope. But is nuff time mi see di computer dem, cover up wid all sort a plaskit, nah use!

In NY there is no tax on clothing purchases below.. I think $110. In Nevada and Alaska etc there is no income tax...

Should we adopt those policies too?
            Yuh certain about the NY taxes? Isn't there a certain time of the year where they do that for a week? I may be wrong. Alaska nuh have something called oil? Again, I may be wrong.

Now, despite all that you listed, do these states charge taxes on computers?

For me, Lazie, almost every application one finds for a computer, it is worth it. Child pornography is an obvious exception. And I did specify "child"!

Likewise, it nuh matter what one reads, it is worthwhile, for a country like Jamaica. A coulda Playboy, because there are a lot of good articles in that magazine!

The simple way is Not for profit and educational organization do not pay tax on computers. Everybody else pay.

Yuh certain about the NY taxes? Isn't there a certain time of the year where they do that for a week? I may be wrong. Alaska nuh have something called oil? Again, I may be wrong.

Now, despite all that you listed, do these states charge taxes on computers?
                  Again you miss the point. You seem to believe that if jurisdictions within the US impose taxes on an item... in this case computers... somehow that validates Jamaica imposing taxes on that item.

That's a fallacious argument. The merits or not of Jamaica's tax policy have to be assessed in the light of Jamaica's unique conditions... or perhaps also those of a similarly situated country.

Lazie, stop gwaan like wi nah pay whole heap a tax arready! GCT 99% of every ting wi buy is 16.5%!!! Twice what it is in NYC! Mi send mi helper (yes, wi still have those ) har pay by Western Union tidday - 16.5% tax off!

And membah say mi nuh really have a problem wid di gas tax. But, Zas Crise man, how much more yuh waan wi fi pay!?!
                    As I've said time and again, nobody like paying taxes .. including me. Yes the tax rate in Jamaica is high no argument there. But for people to get twisted in a bind because computers are being taxes is simply a non-issue.

Wait ... Western Union? Wha? BLOCK DI ROAD!!

The simple way is Not for profit and educational organization do not pay tax on computers. Everybody else pay.
                      oh so simple!!

Again you miss the point. You seem to believe that if jurisdictions within the US impose taxes on an item... in this case computers... somehow that validates Jamaica imposing taxes on that item.

That's a fallacious argument.
                        If I keep missing your point is because yuh not making one. All I'm saying is, we don't have a problem paying taxes for items overseas ... but bitch when they must pay the taxes on the same item in Jamaica.

How the taxes they pay overseas benefit them? Is it going to benefit them in any way? But when the roads a Jamaica have pothole unuh all up in arms. I see nothing wrong with taxes on computers.

If I keep missing your point is because yuh not making one. All I'm saying is, we don't have a problem paying taxes for items overseas ... but bitch when they must pay the taxes on the same item in Jamaica.

How the taxes they pay overseas benefit them? Is it going to benefit them in any way? But when the roads a Jamaica have pothole unuh all up in arms. I see nothing wrong with taxes on computers.
                          You brought up a silly comparison with people in the US paying taxes on computers did you not? Implying that if do that in the US... it's ok in Jamaica.

That's my point... the comparison is not germane or even useful.

That's like saying if I go to Saudi Arabia and pay 5c per litre for gas I should expect to pay the same thing back in Jamaica.

Why can't Lazie understand that?!?!

You brought up a silly comparison with people in the US paying taxes on computers did you not? Implying that if do that in the US... it's ok in Jamaica.

That's my point... the comparison is not germane or even useful.
                                Is tap dancing yuh speciality? How many times must I point out that JAmaicans buy these items overseas and pay taxes? Yuh respond to a post that point out that we're willing to pay taxes on the same items overseas. No wonder yuh point was only known to you.