Computer Society rejects tax on computers

[quote=Lazie;163791]Yuh certain about the NY taxes? Isn't there a certain time of the year where they do that for a week? I may be wrong. quote]

Yes I'm certain... just last week I went on a shopping spree in Manhattan... purchasing a pair of trousers on sale for $35 (in a good good store... not bootleg)

No tax.

Is tap dancing yuh speciality? How many times must I point out that JAmaicans buy these items overseas and pay taxes? Yuh respond to a post that point out that we're willing to pay taxes on the same items overseas. No wonder yuh point was only known to you.
      Ok Lazie... yuh tiad mi out.. tek di winnins

That's like saying if I go to Saudi Arabia and pay 5c per litre for gas I should expect to pay the same thing back in Jamaica.
        no this comparison thing only works for America... the gold standard.

yep. All for profit organization fi pay.

The problem with targeting a particular industry (like the cell phones) is the risk of creating an underground economy in illegal cell phones that just "turn up" in the system.

However, some industries continue to prosper regardless of the prevailing economic conditions; car (gas, parts etc.), alcohol, cigarette, phone etc. so mek dem pay more for sin taxes and luxuries... cars (over a certain engine size etc). Let those who can pay; if the country cannot afford it then it won't be imported.

Those that can be reasonably associated with productivity and education should be left alone.

yep. All for profit organization fi pay.
              I guess you don't know Jamaica too well... that's an administrative nightmare... dat nuh wort di trubble.

The problem with targeting a particular industry (like the cell phones) is the risk of creating an underground economy in illegal cell phones that just "turn up" in the system.

However, some industries continue to prosper regardless of the prevailing economic conditions; car (gas, parts etc.), alcohol, cigarette, phone etc. so mek dem pay more for sin taxes and luxuries... cars (over a certain engine size etc). Let those who can pay; if the country cannot afford it then it won't be imported.

Those that can be reasonably associated with productivity and education should be left alone.
                That's too complicated a proposition for some here to overstand.

Have computers ever been subject to Taxes in Jamaica ?

Red Herring topic.. if yuh cyaan afford the tax.. buy a computer that cost 16% less.. tek less memory or a smaller screen or a slower processor....

Am I missing something here ?

i don't know. what point could you possibly be trying to make?

That's the solution?

I guess I can go buy gas that is 8.75% less. I actually know where to get that gas too!

make sure you nuh bun down the place.

might be the removal of an incentive.. rather than the draconion measure it is being touted as..

Sometimes when yuh get used to something...

That's the solution?

I guess I can go buy gas that is 8.75% less. I actually know where to get that gas too!
                              don't tell me you frequent Greenwich Farm!

mek dem pay more for sin taxes and luxuries... cars (over a certain engine size etc). Let those who can pay; if the country cannot afford it then it won't be imported.

the answers to most problems are right in front of us... we just dont WANT to see them...

peter, we've discussed these same topics on the forum so many times...

when will the govt (starting from the pnp) take the lead and mandate all govt passenger vehicles be hybrid...

all new cars imported should be hybrids except in heavy machinery... all others pay high tax rate...