Computer Society rejects tax on computers

• Computer Society rejects tax on computers

The Jamaica Computer Society (JCS) is suggesting that the Government consider increasing the GCT on cell phone calls instead of imposing it on computers, computer parts and accessories.

It says the imposition of GCT on computers at this time will hurt the growth and development of small and medium enterprises.

It further says GCT on information and communication equipment is misdirected and will undermine the Government’s policies aimed at pulling Jamaica out of the current economic crisis.

Suh nobody nuh waan pay no taxes? One taxi association give the gov't 72 hours fi respond to dem letter. What a backside?

I am against the computer and book tax. Given what's happening around the world, I will bear the gas tax as much as possible.

I only wish we could have one finance minister and not 3 thirds!

I am against the computer and book tax. Given what's happening around the world, I will bear the gas tax as much as possible.

I only wish we could have one finance minister and not 3 thirds!
        Whats wrong with paying taxes on computer? Many of who purchase dem computer a Merika nuh pay taxes? Suh whats the fuss about? The announcement from the PM telling people fi buy computer via dem kids school is a no no. Suh Jawge want a computer fi help him manage him go-go club, whats to prevent him from conning his child's school?

What does US state/local tax policy have to do with Jamaica?

Nothing wrong with supporting the tax if you feel its a good idea (as you seem to do with everything that emanates from the current government) ... quite another thing however to justify it with a less than useful comparison with the US.

Apples & oranges.

What does US state/local tax policy have to do with Jamaica?

Nothing wrong with supporting the tax if you feel its a good idea (as you seem to do with everything that emanates from the current government) ... quite another thing however to justify it with a less than useful comparison with the US.

Apples & oranges.
            Is it! How many that purchase a computer question what kind of tax it is? We quick if complain and protest but nobody wants to pay. Time fi shelf the Jamaica No Problem attitude.

I just came from the post office, Lazie. 6 people in front of me basically buyng stamps or sending a registered letter. I must have been there for half an hour. We are still fixing carbon copy paper between sheets of receipts, handwriting receipts, and filling out the registered mail ticket (or whatever it's called) by hand. Do you have any appreciation for that sort of drudgery? What could computers do for a business like that? Now that is a state operation, so maybe we shouldn't care, but do you know how many other businesses could use a half decent computer system? Yes, the banks and insurance companies have computers all over the place, but are they even using them in the most efficient manner?

Back to the post office itself - our govts want to tax education (both of them so don't start with me, Lazie!) by taxing books. If you ever see how these people at the bank addressed the envelopes to be mailed, where they placed the stamp, where they placed the return address?! The post office rep didn't know where to place the additional sticker for the registered mail.

I guess no one writes anymore, much less write letters, no one gets letters from anyone, not even for the light bill cause is tief wi tief dat. I bet they could fill out a Western Union receive form with their eyes closed though!

It always amazes me how some of us are experts with our cell phones. That indicates to me that wi not as dumb as we behave. Give us some decent education, some cheap books and computers and we would show the world dat wi can do more than run. And shoot.

Whats wrong with paying taxes on computer? Many of who purchase dem computer a Merika nuh pay taxes?
                Lazie, two different societies. Let's deal with the solutions, and the taxes, with that in mind.

... 2 different societies? Suh thats why we all glad to pay taxes a farin, but complain when it fi pay a yaad? I guess thats why one society have no problem moving forward and the other stuck in reverse. The gov't has made it clear time and again that computers for educational purposes will not be taxed .... yet unuh still a complain?

Lazie, there is a slight difference in literacy levels for the countries. Stop the foolishness.

I am against taxes for books and computers, educational or not! At the end of the day, it's all about education, efficiency, production and knowledge.

I just came from the post office, Lazie. 6 people in front of me basically buyng stamps or sending a registered letter. I must have been there for half an hour. We are still fixing carbon copy paper between sheets of receipts, handwriting receipts, and filling out the registered mail ticket (or whatever it's called) by hand. Do you have any appreciation for that sort of drudgery? What could computers do for a business like that? Now that is a state operation, so maybe we shouldn't care, but do you know how many other businesses could use a half decent computer system? Yes, the banks and insurance companies have computers all over the place, but are they even using them in the most efficient manner?

Back to the post office itself - our govts want to tax education (both of them so don't start with me, Lazie!) by taxing books. If you ever see how these people at the bank addressed the envelopes to be mailed, where they placed the stamp, where they placed the return address?! The post office rep didn't know where to place the additional sticker for the registered mail.

I guess no one writes anymore, much less write letters, no one gets letters from anyone, not even for the light bill cause is tief wi tief dat. I bet they could fill out a Western Union receive form with their eyes closed though!

It always amazes me how some of us are experts with our cell phones. That indicates to me that wi not as dumb as we behave. Give us some decent education, some cheap books and computers and we would show the world dat wi can do more than run. And shoot.
                      Amen!

Is it! How many that purchase a computer question what kind of tax it is? We quick if complain and protest but nobody wants to pay. Time fi shelf the Jamaica No Problem attitude.
                        Intentionally or not... I believe you miss my point.

In NY there is no tax on clothing purchases below.. I think $110. In Nevada and Alaska etc there is no income tax...

Should we adopt those policies too?

I forgot to mention the stamp. STAMP, remove carbon, STAMP, remove carbon, STAMP.

I stood there thinking, this has not changed from my teenage years. No progress whatsoever for our post offices.

Oh, I happen to have a picture of the post office I went to this morning.

Check it!
                            Attached Files

Steeupps.

It sounds like if you give them computer, then will use them as paperweight!