sssshhhhhh.
    Mine the tax man hear you

I did not know that. That is a lot of albums to sell "routinely".

What source do these "unofficial" estimates come from?

One of the biggest problems our artistes face right now, is that too many of them don't do albums. A perfect example is Triniman who is an avid fan of Ninjaman - he would possibly pay top dollar for a Best of Ninjaman album right now. The producers are the ones that make the money off these artiste. Another problem is extracting "real" sales figures of these artistes. For at least two to three years now I have been asking on this forum about any of the Chin sisters' album, only to find out that Tami's album was only released in Japan. Sass hit the nail on the head about outlets for reggae/dancehall music here in the states. I am constantly amazed at many of the white Americans knowledge of some of our dancehall music. My wife's boss, who is the whitest of whites, constantly speaks proudly of his Shabba's collection. Another business associate came into my office two weeks ago and heard me listening to FAME FM throwback Wednesday, and I had to stop several times (annoyingly)during our meeting so that he could listen to some old danchall tunes from back in his college days. He went to college in some back-o-wall town waaaaayyyyy upstate NY. When you go to the clubs and the dj throws on some dancehall music, the dancefloor immediately fills up.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

The large USA population base does not drive the sale of dancehall/reggae in the USA. There are few markets where the music gets commercial airplay on radio, and many stations are owned by large corporations where dancehall/reggae gets very limited exposure.

Did you know that maybe the biggest Reggae town in NY is
            WOODSTOCK where it is suppose to be the capital of the 60s music?

They commonly draw huge crowds at reggae festivals in that part of the Hudson Valley.

where you have a major population of west indians dancehall will be popular ... rap artist little jon was a reggae Dj on the four season sound sysetm( folded now),African american youths not into dancehall that much ....

Super Cat Interviewed (pt 1) On Lornas Corner
              http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tnCSq...e=channel_page

Super Cat Interview 1994 Part 2 Lorna's Corner
              http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K8SNo...e=channel_page
              Last edited by Naminirt; May 11, 2009, 01:46 PM.

I did not know that. That is a lot of albums to sell "routinely".

What source do these "unofficial" estimates come from?
                P-Squared, Beenie's opening act in Nigeria, sold 3 million copies in 3 months in Africa according to CNN. Beenie is 10 times as big in Africa as P Squared. With a population of 1 billion how can you really question the numbers?

Yuh lucky DonQuixote not in dis thread !!
                  dey yah!

that is all legal copies?