The other day Mosiah was asking if there is a point when we paying too much tax.
This is a serious question. My opinion is if we are getting the service for our taxes then it is not too much. The problem with Jamaica is we are only getting debt service for our dollar.
If the people of Jamaica was getting water, road repair, houses, light, healthcare, water, emergency services and better government service, along with education then pay even up to 50% in taxes would be ok.
Many of the country in the Nordic like Switerland etc. charge very high taxes and nobody is complaining as they get the service. When you have a kid born you get 1 year off. You don't pay no school fee, no book fee, and nothing else, kids just go a school. You nuh have to worry about new front end for your car or shocks, you just worry bout driving.
The British labour government is trying to make the top rate for taxes in the UK 50%. I don't know what it is now but that I read on BBC.
What if instead of borrowing so much we had a decent tax rate that would not have put us in this debt? One of the serious problem is where is all this borrowed money? We have to demand quality service for our dollar and smart think leaders.
This is a serious question. My opinion is if we are getting the service for our taxes then it is not too much. The problem with Jamaica is we are only getting debt service for our dollar.
If the people of Jamaica was getting water, road repair, houses, light, healthcare, water, emergency services and better government service, along with education then pay even up to 50% in taxes would be ok.
Many of the country in the Nordic like Switerland etc. charge very high taxes and nobody is complaining as they get the service. When you have a kid born you get 1 year off. You don't pay no school fee, no book fee, and nothing else, kids just go a school. You nuh have to worry about new front end for your car or shocks, you just worry bout driving.
The British labour government is trying to make the top rate for taxes in the UK 50%. I don't know what it is now but that I read on BBC.
What if instead of borrowing so much we had a decent tax rate that would not have put us in this debt? One of the serious problem is where is all this borrowed money? We have to demand quality service for our dollar and smart think leaders.