The maturity factor. Valid point.

Boss yuh fi stap tell lie
      Is same way yuh come ah try belittle bronx ah talk bout no toilet paper and printing paper an ah mention Georgia an suburbs. Mi did ignore yuh cause mi know betta.

There many jakans that are trying to live two places: They show you this picture of a fancy house in georgia yet they live in a one bedroom in the bronx. Thei kids are back and forth. If you are a homeowner in Brooklyn, Queens or Bronx, you are set. A lot of jakans coming back from the south to seek jobs here.

As for crime in the inner city: please that was the past. I have friend who has a home with lake nearby (upstate) One day she decided to clean her son's roomI won't mention what she found there (hint: G&W). In these times one just have to pray and hope that your child turns out good.

Quote:"take thaem out of the hills but you can't take the hills out of them"

Mi have room fi rent pon mi property; so tell yuh fren dem.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
        It will cost billions to build a nuclear reactor, and before that is put on the table, more can be accomplished to reduce our importation of fuel to generate electricity.
        It would not necessarily cost billions. A right sized plant for Jamaica might be a mini facility of maybe 300-400 megawatts.... that could provide 50+% of current peak demand.... and cost less thean US$1B.

I think the construction costs for such tiny plants are about double a coal or oil fired plant.... maybe US$2M per megawatt.

Cost is not perhaps the biggest issue. Jamaica should firmly reject nuclear and go with renewables. Creating an infrastructure base to support one nuclear plant is misguided folly.

Also....Island tourist paradise powered by nuclear energy?... not a good selling point for our main industry.

If Portia is pushing that she needs to see her shrink.

where is the resident energy policy research guru when he is needed so sorely?... damn!
        Last edited by Don1; May 1, 2009, 11:28 AM.

Well someone was pushing the introduction of a pebble-bed reactor in Jamaica few weeks back in a letter to the Gleaner and someone else rebuffed the idea a week or so ago, citing tech and enviro issues.

Do a search and you will see.
          Truth is I do not care about the long term effectiveness of this...use our God given and safer, easier to handle and right there to be harnessed wind and sun!

Keep JA clean!
          Wish we could find something to replace Bauxite mining in terms of earnings. Keep JA clean..and allow her to live in great shape forever!

This statement alone; tells
            you run! "the spectre of nuclear fallout is virtually impossible. "

This guy knows what he's really saying? I think we should intensify research in the feasibility of wind technology and leave this clown alone.

Leading sustainable development - How about nuclear energy?

Published: Thursday | April 16, 2009

Vallana Hill, Contributor

No matter how many regional alliances Jamaica enter into, or free trade agreements we ratify - the main thing that will always remain the foundation of survival - is competition. Every balance struck natural or man-made is a result of equal and unchanging competition for resources between more than one organism. For Jamaica to survive in a rapidly-advancing world which embraces open competition through free trade and globalisation, we must change the way we approach our standard mode of operation by first gaining a competitive advantage. In the basic sense, competitive advantage comes three-fold for sustainability:
              1. Cost leadership - delivering the same services as competitors at a lower cost.
              2. Differentiation - greater services to customers at the same prices as competitors.
              3. Focus - concentration on a narrow exclusive competitive segment hoping to achieve a local rather than industry-wide competitive advantage.
              Sustainable development
              According to the International Institute for Sustainable Development, energy is one of the key building blocks of sustainable development. In all countries, it is the fundamental requirement for providing other basic life necessities, such as food, water, shelter and clothing. Without energy, from its simplest forms such as biomass to its more complex counterparts such as fossil fuels or hydro-electricity, society is unable to maintain or improve living standards, meet the basic needs of its citizens or maintain the socio-economic infrastructure necessary for political and economic stability.
              It is clear that fossil fuel energy for some time has been a volatile source of energy for small states such as Jamaica, after seeing our fuel bill almost double last year because of world speculation on political happenings far beyond our control and influence. We need a better more stable and efficient source of energy that is environmentally safe, affordable and renewable.
              Energy diversification
              Recent studies on Jamaica's electricity requirements confirm the need for energy diversification and the necessity for replacement of obsolete plants. The generation cost of these old plants is so high that costly commitments for at least some diversification and plant replacement may well be necessary.
              According to Dr Charles Grant in his paper entitled 'Nuclear Power Generation in Small Nations', renewable sources of energy may be inefficient to meet our energy needs: "... In 2002, Jamaica produced 6.3 TWh of electricity, 97.4 per cent of which was generated from oil. Renewable energy sources such as solar, wind, tides and waves do not provide directly either continuous base-load power, or peak-load power when it is needed and our potential for hydropower (118 MW)8 is not sufficient for current demand. The Wigton Wind Farm project in Manchester has 23 wind turbines installed with a capacity of 900 kW each, for a total capacity of 20.7 MW (potential for 70 MW). The wind farm is expected to run at an average capacity factor of 35 per cent, which would supply approximately 62,000 MWh of electricity per year. The use of biomass in Jamaica is in the region of 1.2 million barrels fuel oil equivalent. However, none of the biomass processes are used for electricity generation. Renewable energy sources are, therefore, limited to some 10-20 per cent of the capacity of our electricity grid, so other sources seem necessary to reduce dependence upon fossil fuels."
              Possible solution
              One solution we can investigate is nuclear energy. Below shows a comparison of the costs of electricity from nuclear fission compared with other energy sources.
              Global nuclear generating capacity is growing rapidly: fourteen new power plants were connected to the grid between 2004 and 2007, 35 reactors are under construction, with a further 91 ordered or planned. As of March, 2008, there was a total of 228 reactors proposed worldwide.
              Advantages
              The advantages of nuclear power are:
              (1) The plants do not emit carbon dioxide, nitrogen or sulphur oxides and release much less radioactivity than coal or oil-fuelled plants;
              (2) Its enormous energy density is several million times that of chemical fuels. One single pass use a kg of uranium fuel generates 400,000 kWh of electricity, compared to about 4 kWh from oil;
              (3) Uranium projections for the future are robust and many countries are seeking new sources;
              (4) the operating costs of fission reactors are not very sensitive to fuel prices, doubling the cost of nuclear fuel would increase the price of nuclear generated electricity by five per cent compared with, for example, the effect of doubling the cost of natural gas, which could lead to electricity price rises of 75 per cent;
              (5) The industry is at least as safe as is any other of its scale.
              Concerns
              There remain concerns that include: (1) the long lead time and high capital costs to construct and commission nuclear reactors; (2) 'final' disposal of nuclear wastes; (3) proliferation of nuclear weapons (4) the availability of nuclear-trained persons in the face of the expected global demand.
              The new generations of nuclear reactors incorporate several improvements including: enhanced reactor safety; improve nuclear power generation economics; minimise environmental impact; and improve resource utilisation.
              The Pebble Bed Reactor
              The Pebble Bed Modular Reactor (PBMR) is a new type of high temperature helium gas-cooled nuclear reactor, that got its name from the type of fuel the reactor runs on - little tennis ball size spheres with a uranium core and a ceramic coating, offering a unique safety mechanism which makes it easy to store the spent fuel, because the silicon carbide coating on the fuel spheres will keep the radioactive decay particles isolated for approximately a million years, which is longer that the activity even of plutonium.
              There are opportunities for Jamaica to assess the comparative designs of small reactors but at this stage the pebble bed is nearest to production and is an attractive possibility. This design is claimed to be simpler to operate and maintain, to make extensive use of passive systems for safety and to utilise components that can hardly be compromised by human error. In particular, the design excludes core damage and radioactive releases were an accident to occur. The relatively low power output, relative simplicity, and built in high safety margins, support consideration for [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]application[/color][/color] in Jamaica and the regulatory and licensing processes are likely to be simpler and quicker. South Africa has developed a German technology for a 160 MWe modular unit (PMBR). Chinergy (in China) is preparing to build a somewhat similar 195 MWe unit, and the US is developing another design with 285 MWe modules.
              Requirements for starting a nuclear power programme
              Even a small nuclear power programme is a major undertaking for Jamaica. It involves relatively large capital sums, significant investment in a sustainable human and technological infrastructure, legal and regulatory support to ensure safety and security, and safeguards against proliferation. Most countries have taken 10 to 20 years between the time that an initial decision is taken to launch a programme and a reactor comes on stream. However, with the introduction of standardised reactors this time may be significantly reduced. Considerations to move forward however, will necessarily take time as what now seems to be the most suitable reactor, has still to be tested under commercial conditions. Yet, even during the preparation for a decision there can be valuable spin-off benefits including the push to do some related work that should be done anyway and is affordable. The MIAS is a non-profit organisation of the University of the West Indies, Pure and Applied Sciences Department, offering analytical, technical and web services and specialised science projects. If you have any question or comments about these articles please email: mias@uwimona.edu.jm or uwi.mias@gmail.com or contact the MIAS Analytical Services Division at 970-2042 or 512-3067 for enquires on services offered.
              Those reactors are experimental... not a mature technology.

Jamaica ah nuh guinea pig fi dat.

Boss yuh fi stap tell lie
                Is same way yuh come ah try belittle bronx ah talk bout no toilet paper and printing paper an ah mention Georgia an suburbs. Mi did ignore yuh cause mi know betta.

There many jakans that are trying to live two places: They show you this picture of a fancy house in georgia yet they live in a one bedroom in the bronx. Thei kids are back and forth. If you are a homeowner in Brooklyn, Queens or Bronx, you are set. A lot of jakans coming back from the south to seek jobs here.

As for crime in the inner city: please that was the past. I have friend who has a home with lake nearby (upstate) One day she decided to clean her son's roomI won't mention what she found there (hint: G&W). In these times one just have to pray and hope that your child turns out good.

Quote:"take thaem out of the hills but you can't take the hills out of them"

Mi have room fi rent pon mi property; so tell yuh fren dem.
                From nuclear energy to toilet paper.

We can replace Bauxite mining:
                  Educate the populace with modern and quality education. Yuh nuh see nutten yet: wait tell our service industry start to compete directly with the highly educated cubans' service industry, with Mexico on our flanks also.

I know what our present "business people" will do. It nah go pretty and right now education is not even a priority to the present govt.

Can you tell me what is your point?

Taken from today's gleaner
                    Nuclear energy
                    Meanwhile, Simpson Miller has suggested that Jamaica should begin to consider nuclear [COLOR=orange ! important][COLOR=orange ! important]energy[/COLOR][/COLOR]
                    as a potential source of energy for the national grid.
                    She also said Government should provide more funds to the Jamaica Business Development Corporation to facilitate the development of micro-, small- and medium-size enterprises.
                    The opposition leader also urged the Government to design a market collection and distribution strategy for agricultural products as a means of stimulating the rural economy.
                    "Jamaica has the basis for agro-processing industries in a number of areas - tomatoes, mango, breadfruit and ackee ... our sought-after exotic fruits could be dried and packaged during the season when there is inevitably a glut on the market.

Well guess what? I do not
                      agree with Nanny P on the use of nuclear technology in order to supply
                      electricity in JA. Last time I checked it was a democracy.

Now show me which school in the Bronx was without toilet paper. Thanks.

Well guess what? I do not
                        agree with Nanny P on the use of nuclear technology in order to supply
                        electricity in JA. Last time I checked it was a democracy.

Now show me which school in the Bronx was without toilet paper. Thanks.
                        Do you live in the Bronx?

yes, the whole site knows this.

A little comprehension would also help you too.

" Next time you have a little time to waste go inna some elementary and high school and take a look inna the bronx.

Many schools can't buy toliet paper, and materials, schools have printers and can't buy paper so Jamaica is not the only one in that boat.

It is not always as easy as you make it."

In case you don't know seek some knowledge on schools districts in the US who have fi ask kids to bring toilet paper to school. Have ever heard me talk about big house in Georgia? No mi have nothing fi show off wid.

God bless what you have.

no you didn't say that but I'm giving
                              you my real life experience.

As for me: I have nothing (except the inclination to seek wisdon, knowledge and understanding), my life is one of humility. Material things nuh mean nutten to I an I.

yes, the whole site knows this.
                                sorry to be so ignorant. can see why you feel slighted by the TP mess.... hush.