• PNP-YO to intensify protests against new taxes

Wednesday, 29 April 2009

Dissatisfied with the Prime Minister's response to its alternative tax measures presented earlier this week the People's National Party's Youth Organization (PNP-YO) will meet Wednesday to discuss its next move.
    However, President of the PNPYO, Damion Crawford, says while the group will intensify its protest it is not in favour of blocking roads.

"We have realized that there has been an increase in violent protests, that I would have to call riot, and I am not satisfied with that. By extension we are taking that into consideration but we will be discussing all the alternatives and all the implications but we will be taking action whichever direction that that is deployed in," Mr. Crawford said.

On Monday representatives of the group marched near to Jamaica House and were later allowed to submit proposals, which they said are aimed at easing the burden on taxpayers.

http://www.radiojamaica.com/content/view/17517/26/

More roadblocks mounted in the Corporate Area

Wednesday, 29 April 2009

Sporadic roadblocks continue in sections of the Corporate Area as residents protest against the new tax measures, which were unveiled by the Government nearly a week ago.

Tuesday night persons again blocked sections of the Washington Boulevard in the vicinity of the Minna Wilmot overhead bridge as well as a road leading to Maverly.

Our news centre was informed that shortly before 8 o'clock residents lit tyres and other debris on Washington Boulevard and West Main Drive.
    It is reported that gunshots were also fired.

This resulted in traffic coming to a halt.

However, the police were quick on the scene and the unmanned roadblocks were eventually cleared shortly after 8 o'clock.
    Tuesday night's incident came hours after persons tried to block Washington Boulevard.

Tuesday morning roadblocks were mounted on the busy thoroughfare.
    The police reported that seven persons were arrested and charged.
    And the police remain on standby for more possible protests Wednesday.
    Head of the Area Five Police which comprises several hot spots in St. Andrew and St. Catherine, Assistant Commissioner Leon Rose, says a large detachment of personnel will be out to maintain law and order.

"The police will be out in our numbers to ensure the free passage of both pedestrian and vehicular traffic. Whilst we recognize the right of every citizen to protest peacefully we also recognized other citizens' unencumbered use of the road. We will ensure that free passage is maintained at all time and that is the role of the police," said ACP Rose.
    In the meantime, the ruling Jamaica Labour Party says it understands the public's reaction to the tax measures.

However, it has made it clear that violent protests will not be tolerated.
    Speaking with RJR News on Tuesday night, JLP General Secretary Karl Samuda asserted that roadblocks and other disruptive forms of demonstrations must be discouraged.

"Not only is it counterproductive and seeks to do more damage and seeks to do more damage to our economy than anything else, but it destroys the infrastructure when one attempts to burn the asphalt it just adds to a very difficult situation in terms of cost for the government," said Mr. Samuda.

"So we view this as a very serious departure from a sense of law and order and we will take every measure available to us to ensure that this type of behaviour is discouraged and repelled," he said.

Light it up yes! Talk tuh dem Bushman http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=91FytHWdDjw.

"Not only is it counterproductive and seeks to do more damage and seeks to do more damage to our economy than anything else, but it destroys the infrastructure when one attempts to burn the asphalt it just adds to a very difficult situation in terms of cost for the government," said Mr. Samuda.

"So we view this as a very serious departure from a sense of law and order and we will take every measure available to us to ensure that this type of behaviour is discouraged and repelled," he said.
        Yeah! I wish we had felt this way 10 years ago.

On the other hand, while I do not believe the PNP heirarchy is behind these protests, the least they could do is come out and state same, discouraging the people from further demonstrations which involve the blocking of roads and burning of tyres, etc.

Time for us to stop getting back at the other party because that is what I feel is happening. "Dem block road last time, wi a go block road pon dem now!"

a ten years ago it started?

Didn't they have big protest in the 80s too? or you did deh a foriegn that time? why only 10?

there you go, tracing its history.

of course it started before that, but...yuh get mi point, Assasin?!?

yeah I support your point but people have been stuck on the 10 when I lived through it in the 70 and 80s.

there you go, tracing its history.

of course it started before that, but...yuh get mi point, Assasin?!?
                that's Sass on automatic pilot!

Well ah guess we can tek back the kudos now...

More of the same in 10 years time...ahhh bwoy.

Dem trick yuh again ?

Unnuh head tuff baba...

No! This is not the same thing like what happened in the past.

Which past.. wi know yuh memory short...