Government doubles up on literacy fight

For educational purpose there is an exempt( I guess you didn't read that)

"Would" is the operative word.

Do you pay tax on your computer in America? Is it used for educational purpose? Watch you tell me them can afford it now.
    I think this is the time to allow this ignorant chap to drown in his ignorance. How many times since morning that has been explained to him?

Can you explain why gates donate so much money to inner city educational cause as well.

So far nobody has come close to selling computer for 3 dollars are even 300 Jamaican dollars and that is why would is the important word.

So you don't see taxation on books and
        computers in a third world country as a problem?

Can you tell me why Microsoft was working with other corps. to distribute laptops that would cost $3 bucks to third world countries? Thanks.
        I'd love to see a $3 laptop... you can't even get a lap dance for $3.

I think you mean the $100 lap top project .. even that the cost has doubled I believe.
        Last edited by Don1; April 29, 2009, 04:24 PM.

Listen if you can't see a corelation to
          corporation giving laptops for three to a third world nation and taxing computers in a third world nation then it's best you let me speak with the senior labourites. Ask yourself why is it priced so low!! what is hard to see here. Is bill gates giving laptops for three bucks to inner city kids or is he giving out scholarship? Again there must be a reason.

My bad was being conservative with the numbers.

well when the govt. done tax that dog nyam dem suppa.

They now have the netbook which is priced at 299 and 399. its sole purpose is for reading emails and surfing online (doesn't even carry a cd/dvd drive) This would be ideal for high school kids in JA.

Once again the comedian argue from a point of ignorance. No wonder you admire portia as a leader.

According to an article by Wesley Barrett for the 09-10 budget "Education is allocated $72.58 billion ..... This allocation is a distant second in size to debt servicing which leads with $309 billion." Suh your claim that education isn't a priority is a myth just as you claim Portia is some form a leader.

Yes, it would be great if education was allocated more but as the PM said, we affi cut we suit fi fit the cloth.
              LOL!! The Prime Minister's eaas' mussi ring evey time yuh post..

Yuh nuh lef im out at tall!!!!!!!!!!!!

If mi did ave a nanny fi evey time yuh kall di bredda name.... mi woulda nice!

My bad was being conservative with the numbers.

well when the govt. done tax that dog nyam dem suppa.

They now have the netbook which is priced at 299 and 399. its sole purpose is for reading emails and surfing online (doesn't even carry a cd/dvd drive) This would be ideal for high school kids in JA.
                ah joke dat! dem nuh waan dat! yuh mad!

I recall shipping 30 (2 year old) brand new.. second hand Dells to JC a few years ago.... di man dem tek one look pon dat an seh mi naah try... dem waan gi di sumpen dem to di auxilliary staff to ************************.

Meanwhile di computa lab whey dem di ave a bruk dung!

Dat deh culture tun upsided dung... ah joke ting.

Jawge they would not tax the $100 laptop because it is part of an educational program.

It is a very ambitious project, I have been following it closely. Check out this clip on laptops in columbia

http://www.ted.com/index.php/talks/n..._colombia.html

Thanks boss this mek all who ah say
                    yuh nuh need computer fi learn look like cub scout. Not to mention how dem all say ino age ah joke ting.

Back to reality I know they wouldn't and couldn't (even if they wanted to)
                    tax these laptops but don't you think taxing books and computers is sending the wrong message? (especially in the info age) Bearing in mind that this is a developing nation.

BTW the MIT media LAb bad; You can take entry level EE clases and diiferential eqs. Mi cyaan cuss merica all mi can say is thanks.

We are now in the post-Info age! LoL

Come in like ah seh a buzzword bingo yuh a play!

Huh?

Didnt someone post that computers for Educational purposes will not be so taxed?

Why yuh mek Jawge frame this debate with mis-info, from the mis-info age? LoL

Huh?

Didnt someone post that computers for Educational purposes will not be so taxed?

Why yuh mek Jawge frame this debate with mis-info, from the mis-info age? LoL
                          Did not see that post but... how does control what a computer is used for?

Jamaica needs to spread the use of computers as widely as possible for education as well as to ehance productivity and efficiency.

Taxing computers it seems to me will curtail their availability and deflate productivity.

They need to find other things to tax... that's the point.

Didnt you see the debate about DJs using computers in their business as opposed to other studio equipment? What about profitable businesses like banks?

Its easy to distinguish educational computers, I dont see that as a big issue. a bigger issue is the definition of a computer. Is a GPS unit, and iPod or a host of other devices computers? Hell, my wife's Nokia has more power than any 10 year old PC! (Sorry, but the 5800 NokiaXpress Music touchscreen phone, AKA the nokia iPhone is not available in the US, and is beter than the B-Berry Storm). Many such devices have massive storage space and impressive processing ability.

However, I do agree with you that it would be easiest to just leave computers out of the tax net as its NOT necessary to go there. i said the same to Jawge, but he ignored that part and ASSumed that I was in favour of the tax and that I was an INFO-Age denier...the greatest crime in his eyes! LoL

Didnt you see the debate about DJs using computers in their business as opposed to other studio equipment? What about profitable businesses like banks?

Its easy to distinguish educational computers, I dont see that as a big issue. a bigger issue is the definition of a computer. Is a GPS unit, and iPod or a host of other devices computers? Hell, my wife's Nokia has more power than any 10 year old PC! (Sorry, but the 5800 NokiaXpress Music touchscreen phone, AKA the nokia iPhone is not available in the US, and is beter than the B-Berry Storm). Many such devices have massive storage space and impressive processing ability.

However, I do agree with you that it would be easiest to just leave computers out of the tax net as its NOT necessary to go there. i said the same to Jawge, but he ignored that part and ASSumed that I was in favour of the tax and that I was an INFO-Age denier...the greatest crime in his eyes! LoL
                              Didn't see that music debate.

I think we are generally on the same page on this.

respek

you see it?

Jawge nuh understand what a clock a strike.

make him stay deh.