• Government doubles up on literacy fight

Published: Wednesday | April 29, 2009

The Ministry of Education, in a drive to have 100 per cent literacy and numeracy at the primary level, is to spend close to half a billion dollars on literacy and numeracy specialists this financial year.
    This is more than a doubling of the allocation on literacy and numeracy specialists.
    In the last financial year, close to $200 million was allocated to the programme. This year, almost $500 million has been allotted.
    The ministry is expanding its corps of literacy specialists from 50 to 90 and the number of numeracy specialists from 56 to 70.
    The specialists are to be sent to schools that are most in need. They will teach methodologies to teachers and move on when the teachers achieve sufficient aptitude.
    The expansion in the number of numeracy and literacy specialists fits into the education ministry's decision to make literacy and numeracy its priority areas this financial year.
    Expansion
    The expansion also comes amid public concern emanating from recent statements in the media about the quality of mathematics teachers in the public-school system. The ministry said it shared the concerns and were seeking to assure the public that several measures are being implemented to address this matter.
    In November last year, the ministry, through the Education Transformation Team, commissioned an independent study to determine the quality, qualification and attitudes of Jamaican mathematics teachers at the primary and secondary level. Among other things, the researcher concluded that 30 per cent of the teachers sampled did not pass mathematics at the secondary level.
    This translates to 38 per cent of primary teachers and seven per cent of secondary teachers of mathematics being without a pass in the subject at the Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate (CSEC) level. However, the ministry has dismissed claims in the media that 30 per cent of mathematics teachers at the secondary level have not passed the subject.
    Data-gathering process
    Among the measures undertaken by the ministry is the development of a National Mathematics Strategy, which was launched last June under the Education Transformation programme. The development of the strategy was informed by a data-gathering process which highlighted poor student performance, particularly at the primary level.
    The issue of teacher quality was also identified as a matter which needed attention. The strategy targets teachers and students by providing intervention for poor-performing students, facilitating opportunities for able and gifted students to be challenged, and by investigating the gender-achievement gap which exists. In addition, the strategy seeks to influence changes in the curriculum of the country's teacher-training colleges. The National Mathematics Strategy also provides for an increase in ongoing in-service training for teachers and teacher trainers. Since the launch of the strategy in June 2008, more than 2,300 primary and 300 secondary teachers have been trained at workshops.

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...ews/news7.html

This is the biggest joke of the century: data gathering
    and at the same time computers are being Taxed (granted in a developing nation)

This is the biggest joke of the century: data gathering
      and at the same time computers are being Taxed (granted in a developing nation)
      Dentist appointment today Jawge?

I understand now: the info age is
        a myth,hence the taxation of books and COMPUTERS, and speak about 100% literacy and numeracy. you guys are doing well

I understand now: the info age is
          a myth,hence the taxation of books and COMPUTERS, and speak about 100% literacy and numeracy. you guys are doing well
          Yuh need to stop being emotional for a change. How else would the hole in the budget be closed? If you notice, Dr. Davies went to Parliament yesterday proposing more spending. The man dem told us tough decisions would be made .... suh stop the complaining.

You sound like a bitter Republican...

Mind yuh heartstring buss...

Yuh need to stop being emotional for a change. How else would the hole in the budget be closed? If you notice, Dr. Davies went to Parliament yesterday proposing more spending. The man dem told us tough decisions would be made .... suh stop the complaining.
              Taxing those tools of education will not close the spending gap. There are other inputs that can be taxed... the government made the choice to tax those particular items... for whatever their reasons.

If Jawge believes these particular items should not be taxed... why the problem?

If you notice: Tobacco and liquor weren't taxed though. I guess
                Ja's destiny is set out for her:Gambling, smoking,drinking, Art and craft, entertaining tourist, Gardening and the like. Anything else is taxed out of the general populace's reach.

We all know what the above is saying and where it's going.

Quote: "ole time someting come back again......"

Taxing those tools of education will not close the spending gap. There are other inputs that can be taxed... the government made the choice to tax those particular items... for whatever their reasons.

If Jawge believes these particular items should not be taxed... why the problem?
                  Tools of education? Yeah!!! With the advancement of technology people using computers for almost anything now. When the Stoneloves and Bass Odesseys a use laptop fi cork dance ... they shouldn't pay taxes on those tools?

I don't have a problem .... the person with the problem is Jawge. I don't like paying taxes ... but I have to pay it. Time Jamaicans start acting like they live in the real world.

Tools of education? Yeah!!! With the advancement of technology people using computers for almost anything now. When the Stoneloves and Bass Odesseys a use laptop fi cork dance ... they shouldn't pay taxes on those tools?

I don't have a problem .... the person with the problem is Jawge. I don't like paying taxes ... but I have to pay it. Time Jamaicans start acting like they live in the real world.
                    You miss the point... there is always a choice of WHAT to tax or not... that's the point. No one is saying tax nothing... but where the burden is best placed.

Jawge seems to believe that books, computers etc should not be taxed (a valid concern in my view) ... how about more on cigarettes, alcohol and the recently announced government thrust (LOL!) to tax prosititutes for example?
                    How about a b@++ybwoy tax... sorry... wouldn't work...Maudib would veto that..

You would do well however as a spokesperson for the Prime Minister's Office.

Nice job.

Are all books and computers taxed ??

You miss the point... there is always a choice of WHAT to tax or not... that's the point. No one is saying tax nothing... but where the burden is best placed.

Jawge seems to believe that books, computers etc should not be taxed (a valid concern in my view) ... how about more on cigarettes, alcohol and the recently announced government thrust (LOL!) to tax prosititutes for example?
                        How about a b@++ybwoy tax... sorry... wouldn't work...Maudib would veto that..

You would do well however as a spokesperson for the Prime Minister's Office.

Nice job.
                        Yuh all over the place. Jawge would complain about anything the gov't do. Him catch a bone and hanging onto it, thats nothing new for Jawge. People using the term education as a smokescreen. I've given an example of computers that aren't really being used for educational purpose. Tap dance round that.

I have problem with the sin tax, but aren't those the items that the previous gov't had the balls to tax every April? Fine add more tax to them ... that should force people to stop smoking and drinking based on Jawge's theory.

Is there a limit to the amount of taxes we can/should pay?

Yuh all over the place. Jawge would complain about anything the gov't do. Him catch a bone and hanging onto it, thats nothing new for Jawge. People using the term education as a smokescreen. I've given an example of computers that aren't really being used for educational purpose. Tap dance round that.

I have problem with the sin tax, but aren't those the items that the previous gov't had the balls to tax every April? Fine add more tax to them ... that should force people to stop smoking and drinking based on Jawge's theory.
                            I'm all over the place?? Don't get that one.

I don't track Jawge's posts... I am merely addressing this narrow issue and I feel he has a valid point.
                            Your "point" about computers being used for things other education is so flimsy... I will not address it.

No problem if you disagree.

Lazie, have you ever stop to think that
                              your dance hall anaolgy is ridiculous (hence no response)? The computer is a multipurpose tool I.e. the same laptop that was used in school can be easily used at nights to mix music by DJs, the same laptop that's used by a defence dept. offical can be used to play games by his kids in the evening (I could go on but I will stop here). lazie wake up this is the info age and the computer is the crux of it.

Your party's taxation of the tools of education is sending one loud and clear message (education is of no priority) Tobaaco and hard liquor is without tax and you cannot see a problem? Ja is doomed.