On Education

Willi calm down; I knew you had high hopes on these guys (silky sweet words) but now the leopard has revealed himself, you are mad. Boss
    nuh worry yuself ah so di young one dem ah go LEARN dem haffi personally feel it before dem undastan whey peeple ah talk bout.

So which bettah now boss? pay ah likkle suppen ah school or go free an pay tax pon books, computers and all materials for learning?

Mi did tell unnuh say ah bare sufferation ah go tek unnuh. Is jah will.

My disappointment is in you. Your thinking is flawed.

I know Math is not your favourite subject, but tell me, is it MORE expensive to pay these taxes or to pay the school fees?

I am sure you have no idea, but are spouting uninformed opinions.

Calm down? Who is the one with the hysterical reply about all kind of red herrings? Steeeuuuppss.

Yuh darling Portia is one of the longest serving MPS of the POOREST, most deprived constituency in Jamaica. Where is the salvation for them that you thing Portia will bring to Jamaica?

WAKE UP man!!!!

yes willi math is a daunting subject for me but tell me this:
        given that the lifespan of a computer is at most three years and books
        are contious material (as opposed to school fee) which would cost more in the end?

From where you stand the govt. is on the right track charging taxes for books and computers ((obviously making up for the "free education")? Well as you say the "info age" is a myth, so studying a litle art and craft will suffice.

Willi thanks a lot , your posts are very enlightening.

Assassin: another thing is parents and old student associations have to play a better role. At my former job I setup an alumni database which was very effective for fund raising. The schools need that form of setup.
          Sass, it is not easy dealing with some of the principals and their school administration. I'm speaking from experience. It can be very frustrating!

make Jawge stay deh.

him have no idea what a clock a strike.

so principals and their admins are
              refusing computers in the ir schools (in the US), which I just don't believe. Tell me the PTA is trying to dicate terms to the school admin and I will go with it.

Sass you are sophist; you debate the issue and won't even apply it to see if it will work (I'm talking about JA here).

First thing is most schools get bond funds to buy computers and it is sometimes voted against. Secondly many of the admin and teachers resist smart classroom as it ismore responsiblity and in case you don't know people don't like changes. In many organization they have to hire people to make workers accept major changes.

It is not as easy as you think. A principal and admin might decide that fixing the roof is more important than a computer, simple as that.

but Sass if you don't fix the roof guess what
                  will happen to the computers. Okay sass, we will just
                  leave Ja as is and hope things will work themselves out.

Next time you have a little time to waste go inna some elementary and high school and take a look inna the bronx.

Many schools can't buy toliet paper, and materials, schools have printers and can't buy paper so Jamaica is not the only one in that boat.

It is not always as easy as you make it.

gwaan play the fool. Did you see the students in South Coralina who wrote to Obama?

Next time you pass a few elemetary school in the Bronx stop and take a look and see the problems they are having. It is not only immune to Jamaica.

Yes we have to make effort but it take collective effort and it is not as easy as you think.

Yuh like put words in people mouths.

I can speak for myself, thank you.

Bossyou don't have to lie to prove a
                          point: which school in the bronx cannot afford toilet paper? Name the school I said. Which school has printer and no printing paper?

See you don't know what Bloomberg did for education, yet you stay afar and fling stone. The most I can say is that many students are better prepared for college without haveing to go to Bonx Science.

BTW if it's that bad here in the US why don't you just move back to JA?

Yuh seem to think computer is the solution to everything. Figures, as the 'info age' seems to be your religion...just like the 'New Economy' was the nirvana for Wall Street.

You ae right willi computers aren't the solution for everything
                              and the info age is just a buzz word.

Despite the above: I invite you to read an Essay by Bill Joy "Why the future doesn't need us". Thanks.

I regularly work in schools.

I still have friends in the NY school system so you can gwaan talk.
                                currently I see in Georgia teachers have to buy their own paper for their students. In one school they took out all the colour printers as it was too expensive to maintain.

Again did you see the letter that the girl from South Coralina wrote telling the state of the school she attended?

Read a little about the inner city school systems.

If you respect the US so much how comes Manley a your hero with his democratic socialism? Did you not realise the US despite that?

How comes so many of unnu socialist run come a capitalist country and make it your own and want run out people?