• More countries confirm swine flu

More countries confirm swine flu

WHO flu expert Dr Keiji Fukuda: "Containment is not a feasible operation"

New cases of the deadly swine flu virus have been confirmed as far afield as New Zealand and Israel, as the UN warns it cannot be contained.
    The US, Canada, Spain and Britain confirmed cases earlier but no deaths have been reported outside Mexico, where the virus was first reported.
    Mexico has raised the number of probable deaths to 152, with 1,614 suspected sufferers under observation.
    UN inspectors are to examine reports pig farms may have spread the virus.
    The UN's health agency, the World Health Organization (WHO), confirmed that the flu had been transmitted between humans.

CONFIRMED & SUSPECTED CASES
    Mexico: 152 suspected deaths - 20 confirmed cases
    US: 64 confirmed cases
    Canada: 6 confirmed cases
    New Zealand: 3 confirmed cases
    UK, Spain, Israel: 2 confirmed cases each
    Countries with suspected cases: Brazil, Guatemala, Peru, Australia, and South Korea, and seven EU states

Mapping the outbreak
    WHO chief Dr Keiji Fukuda said it was not inevitable that the outbreak would develop into a global epidemic - or pandemic - but countries should "take the opportunity to prepare".
    Several countries have issued warnings against travelling to Mexico, but the WHO and the EU's health chief, Androulla Vassiliou, said such measures would do little to combat the flu's spread.
    WHO spokesman Gregory Hartl said experts were working on a vaccine, but said it could take five or six months to develop.
    Health experts say the virus comes from the same strain that causes seasonal outbreaks in humans, but also contains genetic material from versions of flu which usually affect pigs and birds.
    UN alert raised
    Sixty-four cases have been confirmed in the US so far.
    US President Barack Obama has asked Congress for $1.5bn (£1bn) to help prepare for a possible outbreak, and California Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger has declared a state of emergency over the threat.
    Health officials in New Zealand, Israel, Canada, the UK and Spain have all reported a small number of cases in their countries.
    WHO PANDEMIC ALERT PHASES

Phase 1: No infections in humans are being caused by viruses circulating in animals.

The EU said patients were also under observation in Denmark, Sweden, Greece, the Czech Republic, Germany and Italy.
    Tests are being carried out on people in Brazil, Guatemala, Peru, Australia and South Korea.
    Some countries in Asia, Latin America and Europe are screening airport passengers for symptoms, while Germany's biggest tour operator has suspended trips to Mexico.
    Cuba also suspended flights to and from Mexico for 48 hours from Tuesday.
    The UN's Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO) is sending a team to Mexico to investigate rumours that people had been falling ill last month near intensive pig farms.
    In Mexico City, officials have banned restaurants and cafes from serving all food except takeaways to help prevent the flu spreading.
    The WHO raised its pandemic alert status to level four on Monday - two levels from a full pandemic - after concluding there had been sustained transmission between humans.
    Levels five and six are reserved for when there is widespread human infection.
    WHO spokesman Mr Hartl said there were a number of cases in New York "which appear to be human-to-human transmission".

SWINE FLU
    Swine flu is a respiratory disease thought to spread through coughing and sneezing
    Symptoms mimic those of normal flu
    Good hygiene like using a tissue and washing hands thoroughly can help reduce transmission

Swine flu cases confirmed in UK
    Q&A: What is swine flu?
    'I couldn't get out of bed'
    He said that if the New York cases were confirmed, the WHO could raise its alert to level five.
    The UN body is encouraging countries to begin intensive surveillance of possible infection and send as much information as possible to the WHO.
    In Mexico, swine flu has been confirmed in 20 of the 152 known deaths.
    In almost all cases outside Mexico, people have been only mildly ill and have made a full recovery.
    Meanwhile, Swiss police said a container with animal swine flu samples exploded as it was being shipped on a train from Zurich to Geneva on Monday, injuring a woman.
    Authorities said dry ice keeping the samples cold caused the explosion, but the incident posed no threat to humans.

I wonder if Jamaica understands what is happening out there?

them may think is another Golding plague

Gosh...recently, you are so clear thinking and resolute...

Keep-it-tup !!

I pray that Jamaica remains safe and unaffected by this flu...considering the overall inept systems of management and leadership.
        Last edited by HL; April 28, 2009, 04:55 PM.

Them say it safe fi eat di PORK BUT COOK IT GOOD.

If it safe then why "cook it good"?

Di medication soon done, so I soon start jink again!

Yuh know seh flu kills 50,000 people every year in the US, right?

Not sure if you're joking... I don't think the flu is transmitted by eating pork. It is transmitted from human to human by coughing and sneezing.

that is what I hear but I am just curious to know why they say cook it WELL. Are they not sure?

The figure is closer to 36,000 and 90% of those deaths are people over 65.

that is what I hear but I am just curious to know why they say cook it WELL. Are they not sure?

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                        The figure is closer to 36,000 and 90% of those deaths are people over 65.
                        Does their age make it better or worse?

Their age makes it worse, since people over 65 tend to be in poorer health and resistance to the flu is less.

OK

HOW MANY AMERICANS REALLY DIE OF THE FLU EACH YEAR? Release Date 2004-10-22 Time 09:35:00 Comment
                            Article Text
                            OCTOBER 22, 2004. Ask the American Lung Association. Better yet, read their own report from August of 2004, titled, "Trends in Pneumonia and Influenza/Morbidity and Mortality."

This report comes from "Research and Scientific Affairs/Epidemiology and Statistics Unit." At the bottom of the document, the source is listed as: National Center for Health Statistics, Report of Final Mortality Statistics, 1979-2001.

Get ready for some surprises, especially since the CDC keeps trumpeting flu-death annual numbers as 36,000. Like clockwork. Year in and year out. 36,000 people in the US die from the flu every year. Killer disease. Watch out. Get your flu shot. Every autumn. Don't wait. You might fall over dead in the street.

Here are the total flu deaths from the report. From 1979 to 1995, the stats were released every two years.

1979: 604
                            1981: 3,006
                            1983: 1,431
                            1985: 2,054
                            1987: 632
                            1989: 1,593
                            1991: 1,137
                            1993: 1,044
                            1995: 606
                            1996: 745
                            1997: 720
                            1998: 1,724
                            1999: 1,665
                            2000: 1765
                            2001: 257

Don't believe me?

Here is the page:
                            http://www.lungusa.org/atf/cf/%7B7A8...256%7D/PI1.PDF

Get there and go to page 9 of the document. Then start scrolling down until you come to the chart for flu deaths as a separate category.

Recently, Tommy Thompson, head of US Health and Human services, stated that 91 percent of the people who die from the flu in the US every year are 65 and older. So you might engage in a little arithmetic and figure out how many people under 65 are really dying from the flu each year.

But no matter. The raw all-ages stats are low enough. Quite low enough. Quite, quite.

Do you see what is going on here?

You can go into my archive and read recent pieces on this subject and find my argument for those who blithely claim, "Well, harumph, you see, uh ah, flu often leads to pneumonia and THAT'S why we have to be so careful about the flu. Deaths from pneumonia are large numbers, harumph, blah blah blah..."

It's a straight con, folks. The CDC is on a streetcorner with a little table, and there are shills walking around repeating the 36,000 death figure while the PR flacks at the table are working the vaccine angle.

The crowd is getting restless. A man shouts, "Where is my flu shot? We're all going to die!"

Meanwhile, on Capitol Hill, Congress is planning a measure that will guarantee vaccine manufacturers annual billion-dollar payoffs no matter how many doses are left over, unused.

========================

OCTOBER 19, 2004. First, people in my part of town have been offline for most of the morning. Just got back on. Hope the problem is fixed. I might get pushed offline again, in which case I won't be able to post articles and my email won't work.

Okay. USA/AP is fronting for a new estimate of flu deaths in the US. Up from 36,000 to 47,000. Of course (see my archive), readers of this site know these are both lies. If 1000 people a year die of the flu in the US, that's about average...

In addition, this dog's breakfast of a piece from USA Today factors in another virus, and by the time you're done reading, you don't what the hell the experts are saying.

Posted 1/7/2003 3:52 PM Updated 1/8/2003 1:19 PM

Flu kills thousands more in USA than thought
                            By Anita Manning, USA TODAY

About 47,000 Americans, thousands more than previously thought, die each year from flu and another common respiratory virus called RSV, a study shows. As the elderly population increases, the death toll from these two illnesses could soar, experts fear.

Statistical analyses by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention show that during the 1990s, flu killed an average of 36,000 people each year, up from previous estimates of 20,000.
                            That's just an average, CDC flu expert Keiji Fukuda says. Deaths vary dramatically from year to year, from very few to as many as 50,000 to 70,000, he says.In addition, researchers say, 11,000 people, about 78% of them 65 and older, die each year from respiratory syncytial virus, RSV. It's a disease once thought to affect children primarily...

end of USA Today excerpt

Let's see. If you take the traditional lie that 36,000 people in the US die from the flu every year, and you add the 11,000 figure from this other virus, RSV, you get 47,000.

The story tries to confuse the two and make it seem that 47,000 people are dying from the flu.

Several lies combined.

Standard practice.

Why don't they add cancer deaths to flu deaths and invent a new scary category?

Also, the Bush administration has just announced they've been able to come up with a few million more flu shots. Previously, we were told it would 3 months to accomplish this.

Yesterday, I did manage to speak with a few press people about the scandal that is: AT LEAST 6 MILLION TAINTED CHIRON FLU SHOTS ARE ALREADY IN THE US, WERE SENT HERE FROM ENGLAND BEFORE THE BAN WAS LAID ON.

They seemed interested.

As of yet, I have seen no mainstream stories on this, aside from the SF Chonicle piece by Sabin Russell (Oct.6) that broke the scandal.

Press blackout. BLACKOUT.

No one knows what has happened to those millions of shots, which Russell pointed out were sitting in the US distributors' warehouses, outside the control of the FDA and Chiron.

You hand the press great stories and they sit on them.

I even know several alt. news sites that won't touch this with a ten-foot pole.

OCTOBER 21, 2004. The other day, I printed an excerpt from a USA Today/AP story that claimed annual flu deaths in the US are actually higher than suspected.

I have already shown (see my archive) that, buried in small print, the CDC itself lists annual flu deaths as MINISCULE.

Anyway, the USA Today piece talked about something else called respiratory syncytial virus (RSV), and how 11,000 people in the US are dying from it every year.

Independent researcher John Cullison has searched CDC small print and has found their figures for RSV.

Turns out there are three different categories of RSV. We'll take them one at a time.

We have RSV pneumonia. The CDC code for this category is J12.1. Deaths? 1999: 30. 2000: 18. 2001: 26. (These are the only years for which figures are available). Total? 74 deaths.

Category two is acute bronchitis due to RSV. The CDC code for this category is J20.5. Deaths? 1999: 0. 2000: 0. 2001: 1. Total? 1 death.

Category three is acute broncholitis due to RSV. The CDC code for this category is J21.0. Deaths? 1999: 9. 2000: 6. 2001: 4. Total? 19.

Total of deaths from all three categories of RSV for the years 1999, 2000, and 2001 lumped together? 94.

During that period, according to USA Today and its medical experts who provided the "alarming news," we should have expected the total to be 33,000 deaths.

Well, they weren't off by much. Sometimes, you know, it's hard to get it exactly right. Standard margin of error creeps in. The medical expert interviewed was having a problem with the coffee maker. The phone connection between the reporter and the expert was hazy and there were people shouting in the background.

Reminds me of my one day in 1961 as a phone salesman in a boiler room operation in West LA. I was supposed to be selling subscriptions to a local newspaper. It wasn't going well at all. Hell, the circulation of the newspaper was hovering at about 750 a week. Finally, I called a school from my canned list of numbers. The phone rang and rang and rang and, just as I was going to hang up, a man picked up and said hello in a soft voice. Turned out he was the janitor.

Desperate, I tried to shove that damn subscription down his throat. He had the presence of mind to ask me what the circulation of the paper was.

I said, "Oh, about 100,000 a week."

"Okay," he said, "we'll take it."

I couldn't hear him very well, because when I quoted the 100,000 figure, all the other phone pros in the boiler room cracked up and fell out.

The fat man next to me said, "Dig THIS ****************ing guy!"
                            =====================================

thought it was 36,000, but what's a couple hundred between friends!