What's holding back Kartel? A fixation with Bob?

• What's holding back Kartel? A fixation with Bob?

Kartel banned from Grenada
    MONDAY MUSING
    Yasmine Peru
    Monday, April 27, 2009
    We saw a most interesting report on the Internet regarding controversial deejay Adijah Palmer, aka Vybz Kartel. The news coming out of the spice isle, Grenada, states that the deejay has been banned from performing there and a concert scheduled for this Saturday has been cancelled. And it has nothing to do with any homosexual campaign.
    Vybz Kartel
    According to a statement from the promoter published on the Internet, Kartel was scheduled to perform a "rap-it-up" concert in Grenville, St Andrews, on May 2, where his popular Daggerin condom was to be officially launched.
    The release goes on to say, "no reason was given by the Ministry of Labour in Grenada for the refusal of the work permits, but the sensitive issue of censorship or freedom of expression may have been at the forefront". The promoter of the event is reportedly claiming thousand of dollars in losses and is now seeking legal advice, since neither himself nor the artistes were aware of the government's blacklisting.
    An Associated Press release, however, stated that a government official had issued a statement that Grenada has barred a Jamaican rapper from performing because of his raunchy lyrics.
    It quotes Senator Ann Peters, a junior health minister and chair of Grenada's national AIDS Council, as saying that "lyrics that seem to promote violence have raised concern and led the government to deny the rapper a performance permit".
    Vybz Kartel last performed in Grenada December 5, 2008, to a sold-out audience and plans several other performances around the Caribbean, including one on May 8 in Trinidad and Tobago.

you sure some a them small island never ban Bob too?

I was about to ask. Bob's music was banned in Jamaica and other islands as well.

which Bob song was banned in Jamaica?

Wasn't "I shot the sheriff" banned at one time?

I think they are mixing up Jamaica with South Africa. The apartheid government did ban Bob.

But the point is... even if he was banned... the reason for the ban is more important than the ban itself.

If you produce garbage... your music belongs in a dump.... Bob didn't produce garbage.

"Rastaman Vibration"

were you even sentient when that was released? Would love to see evidence that it was banned in Jamaica.. don't quite recall that.

I think they are mixing up Jamaica with South Africa. The apartheid government did ban Bob.

But the point is... even if he was banned... the reason for the ban is more important than the ban itself.

If you produce garbage... your music belongs in a dump.... Bob didn't produce garbage.
                  Yuh studied Bob Marley in school?

According to Bob himself the entire Rastaman Vibration was banned cause authorities dem neva waan hear nutting bout Selassie

And who determines what is garbage? The powers that be considered chanting bout Selassie and his words as garbage you consider music about girls, guns and ganja to be garbage. To each their own.

were you even sentient when that was released? Would love to see evidence that it was banned in Jamaica.. don't quite recall that.
                        Interviews with Bob Marley are not that hard to come by. He said it himself

Here is a piece of an interview ..

W: did you get any resistance from the music industry or government in Jamaica when making your music? Like banning your songs?

M: Of course! Our songs got banned all the while. "Rastaman Vibration" was one of the first record ever banned for me. Yeah, because it carry the speech of Haile Selassie, and because the country trying to go communist or socialist, they never want to hear what Selassie have to say. So them just ban it. When Rastaman song get banned in Jamaica man it was war at the radio stations that play our music. War! A literal going to fight fe get your music played. Cause you know them figure say Rasta is changing society. But that is what we come to do. And people get quarrelsome and weak. We come to change things and when them see changes them quarrel and say it's changing. And that's what we come fi do, and them know it.

http://webby.cc.denison.edu/~waters/marley.html

what is the point being made here?

ther was a rasta ordinance here that was only repealed in the 21st century. having said that, bon was a frequent visitor here back in the mid to late 70's and early 80's. he got special dispensation to enter the islands