Buju Banton : Bob Marley Is Not The Greatest Musician

Good point Jawge , many dont look at the enviroment that greatness was achieved from .

Look ! for me Bob was the greatest reggae artist and that is from a holistic point of view.The greatest singer for me will always be John Holt followed by D.Brown .The greatest band for me will be the skatallites.

Greatest because of the enviroment he came out of and the influence he ((projects ))its a continum with BOB!.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

What keeps reggae artistes back is not Bob Marley.. it's their generally poor songwriting and maybe a less than professional approach to the business.
      Bob's biggest strengths were his songwriting, his principles and charisma... one can't teach that... either you have the gift or you don't.

Maybe without Bob the current set would not even get airplay in many markets... they would be kinda like... soca?
      Not true! Morgan Heritage, Beres Hammond, Tanya Stephens, Bushman to name a few do put out good music, not in a position to say anything about their principles and charisma. But then, when yuh hear a Serani on mainstream radio how many times for the day ... you have to wonder.

Put out good music and get airplay is not the same thing. You had nuff good Jamaican music before Bob that couldn't even get airplay pon Jamaican radio muchless.

It is hard to overestimate the impact Bob has had on our music industry.

Not true! Morgan Heritage, Beres Hammond, Tanya Stephens, Bushman to name a few do put out good music, not in a position to say anything about their principles and charisma. But then, when yuh hear a Serani on mainstream radio how many times for the day ... you have to wonder.
          Yes a few artists do produce good music... but no doubt... most produce recycled garbage.

You really believe Bob holds any of those artists back... ah joke dat.

I shall continue to compare them to Bob, including him owna son, Damien.

I don't need them to be social commentators like Bob, but give me the same sort of consistent quality, originality, success in every corner of the globe, and then I'll say yuh good, maybe better than Bob.

Bob a di best. Argument done!

I shall continue to compare them to Bob, including him owna son, Damien.

I don't need them to be social commentators like Bob, but give me the same sort of consistent quality, originality, success in every corner of the globe, and then I'll say yuh good, maybe better than Bob.

Bob a di best. Argument done!
              When Buju did albums like Inna Heights and Til Shiloh, did he get the same ratings as when he did Mr. Mention and Voice of Jamaica? I notice that now that he is moving or has moved back to more hardcore stuff its as if him ratings start moving up again.

Maybe the question should be asked is what the fans are looking for. Vybz may get played alot in the dancehall, hence being booked for numerous shows, a singer like Taurus Riley or a group like the Heritage have to go on a riddim carrying 5 or 6 other artiste in order to stand out. Meanwhile good tunes are hardly played in the dance or on the airwaves.

Maybe the fans today just want crap and the artiste simply give them what dem want.

It's sad boss: we are our worst enemy.

Are you speaking about local or global audience?
                  Please clarify, thanks.

suh now is bob fault? how is it that people claim to be calling bob the greatest to begin with?

pele, michael jordan, tiger woods, muhammad ali.......one man stands alone because of what he has done....not because of wishful thinking!

look how many "new" michael jordans have flopped? harold miner, michael finley, allan iverson.........despite the kaka's (), robinhos et al pele stands alone.....ad nauseum

As Buju tell you a the European Market kept him going with Inner Heights and Tis Shiloh.

mi nuh wah do him.. cho

DRIVVAAAAA

Same thing when he came out and said only "light skinned" dancehall artistes are promoted but ongly thing is nobody neva have a problem wit it den. Now when it's the revered Bob Marley people up in arms.

as Ningaman would say ... "Hold On!" I objected to that statement when he said it.

who never have a problem with that?

my post said it is not true or mi nuh count

suh bob nuh light skinded tuh?