• The moral agenda

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>Henley Morgan
    Thursday, November 16, 2006
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=88 align=left border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>Henley Morgan</SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>There is a misconception that Jamaica's problems are economic at the root. Flowing from this is a preoccupation with what economists call economic indicators.<P class=StoryText align=justify>These include measures such as gross domestic product, national debt, foreign direct investment, net international reserves, money in circulation, exports, imports, tourist arrivals, electricity consumption, construction activity and the like. Economists rely on these indicators to assess the present and to predict the future growth of the economy.
    While these indicators tell us about the quantity of life, they tell us little about the quality of life, and absolutely nothing about the moral health of the nation.<P class=StoryText align=justify>There is another set of indicators - I call these the moral indicators - to which our planners need to give greater focus. These include rate of homicide, domestic violence, joblessness, children born to single parents, divorce rate, spousal abuse, child abuse, carnal abuse, buggery, teenage suicide, juvenile delinquency, teen sex, abortion, drug use, pornography, illiterates leaving the public school system and a whole slew of measures under the general heading of social injustice. Had the same emphasis been given the moral indicators as the economic indicators, we would have long ago come to the realisation that Jamaica is in the throes of social decomposition.<P class=StoryText align=justify>I have a theory that our failure to slow the moral, social and cultural slide of the country undermines and renders futile our efforts at achieving economic prosperity. Two recently released indexes seem to support this position.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The corruption index ranks Jamaica 62 among 144 countries. On the human development index, Jamaica ranked an embarrassing 104 out of 177 countries. In both instances only one Caribbean country, Haiti, achieved a lower ranking than Jamaica.<P class=StoryText align=justify>More important than that, the countries in the lowest quartile of the rankings are also the ones with the lowest GDP growth figures. What other conclusion can one come to than that indifference to moral and social decay leads inevitably to economic stagnation? Jamaica needs a moral, spiritual, social and cultural renaissance more than it needs an economic one. In fact, the former is a prerequisite for the latter.<P class=StoryText align=justify>This thinking is not original. There is a parallel in recent American religious and political history. In the mid-1970s Jerry Falwell of the religious right galvanised popular discontent with America's declining values into a movement he called the moral majority. Big-name Christian conservatives in politics were co-opted by the movement and the rest is history. Moving from voicing conservative positions on a range of issues such as abortion, gay rights, creationism and prayer in public schools, the movement graduated to using its 40 million evangelical membership base to ensure that politicians of a similar suasion got elected to office.
    President George W Bush is the best known beneficiary of the movement's legitimate and admittedly sometimes misplaced passion for seeing America return to a path of moral rectitude in public governance.<P class=StoryText align=justify>What's the point? Economics is important to the life of the nation but a balanced budget will not by itself stop the killing, reduce teenage pregnancy, end child abuse, cause children to s

RE: The moral agenda

Firstly, I must commend Henley Morgan for pointing out the rankings of the corruption index and the HD index. However, I find it contradictory that after pointing out those facts, he states that PM Miller,
    "will actively promote a moral agenda that will touch the very soul of the nation and thus create an environment in which Jamaicans will do what comes almost naturally, create wealth"
    Who is the PM now? Why does she have to wait to win the 5th term to promote a moral agenda? Am I missing something somewhere? Portia's handling of the Trafiguria Affair is a clear indication of where she stands when it comes to the moral agenda.

The last paragraph shows that Dr. Morgan and Karl kut from the same komrade kloth.
    People can admit "that Jamaica is in the throes of social decomposition.
    but still shout,

"the figures may well be true, but no black dog fi monkey fi me!"

PNP! PNP! PNP! Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees!

How is exposing the gov't's corruption going against the moral agenda? Dr. Morgan is asking for one thing must have a problem with it coming from the JLP. Reminds me of X. From BJ point out who been pushing for constitutional reform, him and Karl stop ask for it.

These people amaze me.

Lazie (11/16/2006)Firstly, I must commend Henley Morgan for pointing out the rankings of the corruption index and the HD index. However, I find it contradictory that after pointing out those facts, he states that PM Miller,
      "will actively promote a moral agenda that will touch the very soul of the nation and thus create an environment in which Jamaicans will do what comes almost naturally, create wealth"
      Who is the PM now? Why does she have to wait to win the 5th term to promote a moral agenda? Am I missing something somewhere? Portia's handling of the Trafiguria Affair is a clear indication of where she stands when it comes to the moral agenda.

The last paragraph shows that Dr. Morgan and Karl kut from the same komrade kloth.
      People can admit "that Jamaica is in the throes of social decomposition.
      but still shout,

"the figures may well be true, but no black dog fi monkey fi me!"

PNP! PNP! PNP! Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees!

How is exposing the gov't's corruption going against the moral agenda? Dr. Morgan is asking for one thing must have a problem with it coming from the JLP. Reminds me of X. From BJ point out who been pushing for constitutional reform, him and Karl stop ask for it.

These people amaze me.
      I have said it until I am weak - The PNP is going to be the vehicle for change. Yes, change from the current climate of corruption and excessive criminal activity.

The JLP has never had a leader with the balls to effect that type of change.

Sure the PNP allowed the country to sinkunder PJ into greater corruption than what heldbefore under Seaga...but, Portia is not PJ!

Lazie: Look carefully and you will have seen that since Portia took the reigns there have been many, many new investments and a steady increase in economic activity. She is not so far, since taking control,being a 'maggler'/not one to run off at the mouthbut is quietly shoring up her idea of 'how to put the poor first'.

The matter of the 'government run entities' - civil service, police force,JDF, quasi-government bodies, roads, water, electricity, healthservices physical plants, education physical plants, etc...shall be seeing serious injection of funds. May I entreat you to watch the ride - carefully!

Vehicle for change? You're assuming aren't you? Haven't you been making that assumption for the past 18 years?
        Again, you're assuming aren't you? I recall a line in a movie, "Assumption is the mother of all fock ups!" So, its fair to say because of the assumptions by you and all the unthinking comrades, we're in this focked up situation.

Murder reached its highest height under which gov't? The Murder rates was drastically reduced under which gov't? Stop talk foolishness Karl, this is Lazie, not our good friend Jawge. I'll agree that Portia is not PJ, based on her handling of the cement saga and the Trafiguria affair .... we should be more worried.

May I entreat you to watch the ride - carefully!
        Karl, yuh 18 years late.

Lazie (11/16/2006)

Vehicle for change? You're assuming aren't you? Haven't you been making that assumption for the past 18 years?
          Again, you're assuming aren't you? I recall a line in a movie, "Assumption is the mother of all fock ups!" So, its fair to say because of the assumptions by you and all the unthinking comrades, we're in this focked up situation.

Murder reached its highest height under which gov't? The Murder rates was drastically reduced under which gov't? Stop talk foolishness Karl, this is Lazie, not our good friend Jawge. I'll agree that Portia is not PJ, based on her handling of the cement saga and the Trafiguria affair .... we should be more worried.

May I entreat you to watch the ride - carefully!
          Karl, yuh 18 years late.
          Well both of us can't be right about Portia?

...and, in time we shall know who made the right assumption! yuh mekin han ha-sum-shan tuh? rite?

Assumption? Where? I come to my conclusion based on what she has done, said and how she has handled the fire. Our PM went into hiding when Trafiguria buss, she even took the back way out of Parliament to avoid the press. That isn't the triat of a good leader. You and others may be impressed with her, but how I see it, unuh easily impressed.

Does Morgan have a clue?

If the GDP is stronger and we have growth of 5% that means thousands of new jobs and our ablilty to pay our debt is better.

Without this it nuh matter how moral you want to be you won't have money and a growing economy, it will be a hand out economy which is what I know Morgan support.

We have to care for the less fortune. With a bigger GDP we can pay care by having a bigger social net.

Him is like a athletics coach that tell the high jumper, since you cannot 6 feet, lets lower the bar to 5 feet.

Man who feel dowtrodden and don't see any way out, not thinking MORALITY!

Lazie (11/16/2006)Assumption? Where? I come to my conclusion based on what she has done, said and how she has handled the fire. Our PM went into hiding when Trafiguria buss, she even took the back way out of Parliament to avoid the press. That isn't the triat of a good leader. You and others may be impressed with her, but how I see it, unuh easily impressed.
                    Assumption on the JLP leading us out of the mess we are in!

yuh a mek ha-sum-shan tuh?! rite?

yuh slow dis-yah mawin!

No Karl! Based on the plans they are putting forward, compared to what is coming from your religious leaders, as a thinking person, it is clear which path is the best way out.

Example: Audley Shaw proposes that the savings from the PetroCaribe Agreement should be used to reduce the national debt to free up more money for social services.

Portia is using the savings from the Petrocaribe Agreement for her crash program.

If you can be objective, which you see as a better plan?