the more i think about it

Portia made that by-election into a referendum on the Golding Govt and that is why the big loss was embarrassing.

It seems that wiser heads have now prevailed on her to take things cooly and that stands to improve her long term political prospects.

As for addressing unemployment, infrastructure etc, it seems you have not fully digested the times we are in. Just keeping the level you have will be a stunning success.

Things dread...dont mek the likkle reprieve fool yuh.

Portia made that by-election into a referendum on the Golding Govt and that is why the big loss was embarrassing.

It seems that wiser heads have now prevailed on her to take things cooly and that stands to improve her long term political prospects.

As for addressing unemployment, infrastructure etc, it seems you have not fully digested the times we are in. Just keeping the level you have will be a stunning success.

Things dread...dont mek the likkle reprieve fool yuh.
      Print di money!
      deal with the down-the road consequencies when they come! Mi aseh dat fram lang time!

Why would I expect anything else?

Print di money!
          deal with the down-the road consequencies when they come! Mi aseh dat fram lang time!
          run wid it!

Is a Zimbabwe style hyperinflation yuh want?

???????????!

run wid it!
                Yuh seit? ...or yuh don't?

Do you think putting in first rate infrastructure would result in having many families 'eat a food'...help to spur real economic growth...some of those earning would be used to start other enterprises...and the facilities/infrastructure would of themselves act as 'spur' to economic development...all while putting a lid on possible social unrest?

Mi seh put more people to work on 'things' that create 'building blocks' for future economic development!

and printing money will do all of this? are you that naive or am i that cynical?

Is a Zimbabwe style hyperinflation yuh want?
                    I made a post on why that would not happen...and it disappeared.

In a nutshell I spoke to the spur to economic development putting in good infrastructure launches...and the fact is Zimbabwe's level of corruption...bad as we are...is way above anything we have seen in JA.

...besides it is also about managing what we do with that 'printed money'...and dealing with the not inconsequential effects of rising levels of unemployment and underemployment - idle, hungry, angry folk ---->----->

Layoffs are changing workplace psyche

Published: Monday | April 27, 2009

Garth Rattray
                    The number of people who are losing their jobs in these trying economic times is extremely troubling. Many of my patients are temporarily surviving on their redundancy package or with the help of others. In some family units, both income-earning parents were laid off.

There are direct and indirect economic repercussions to all of this. The sudden loss of income is devastating to individuals and families and the job losses also affect the wider economy because of the resultant downturn in business activities everywhere. There are also direct and indirect psychological repercussions to job losses that will endure even when the economy eventually rebounds.
                    People who lose their jobs experience stress resulting in varying degrees of anxiety with depression or depression with anxiety. Those with strong family and/or spousal support survive their economic dry spell with nominal distress but those without any support, or who are themselves responsible for the welfare of others, are often so traumatised that they require some sort of medical intervention.

Layoffs are changing workplace psyche

Maybe later in the crisis, we will get away with something like this. However, much of the material for Infrastructure building will come for abroad and you need FX for this. In printing money, the FX rate will explode upward as people will read the play and try to protect themselves by buying dollars like never before.

How is money printing accomplished anyway? Isn't it by one of 2 ways: 1) lowering interest rates (encouraging more credit, with reserve requirements simultaneously lowered) or 2) Open Market Operations by the BOJ, where they simply issue more T'Bills and Local registered stock to mop up liquidity or buy back outstanding stocks to create more liquidity in the marketplace?

Maybe later in the crisis, we will get away with something like this. However, much of the material for Infrastructure building will come for abroad and you need FX for this. In printing money, the FX rate will explode upward as people will read the play and try to protect themselves by buying dollars like never before.

How is money printing accomplished anyway? Isn't it by one of 2 ways: 1) lowering interest rates (encouraging more credit, with reserve requirements simultaneously lowered) or 2) Open Market Operations by the BOJ, where they simply issue more T'Bills and Local registered stock to mop up liquidity or buy back outstanding stocks to create more liquidity in the marketplace?
                        You are spot on...but what is the alternative to 'mopping up' the 'fustrations out there' (fustrations = angry unemployed and under employed and fearful subsistence hangers-on)? ...those who the tax increases without some relief ...e.g. putting more hands within the family unit...extended family unit...to work?

How do you address the problems that 'so-so tax increases' have on the vast many who were before the tax increases merely 'hanging on'? ...and who with these tax increases a guh drap 'splash' lacka ripe breadfruit?

People need to adjust their expectations. Chuss mi, even the money man dem aggo feel it.

Yuh nuh read the posts by Don1's Russian columnist from a few months back. Dread, it aggo dreader Dread!

People need to adjust their expectations. Chuss mi, even the money man dem aggo feel it.

Yuh nuh read the posts by Don1's Russian columnist from a few months back. Dread, it aggo dreader Dread!
                            Agree 100%.
                            mi ajus lang time now!

john crow seh de worl nuh level... you fail to see de hypocrisy in all of this...

what hypocrisy, i know you ask... a few years back when the pnp govt had to raise revenues, this same govt (opposition at de time) accused the pnp of being wikid and cruel to poor people and incited de people to riot just to embarass de govt...

it was a big ting cause there was a confrence in jamaica at de time... mi memory sketchy pon de details but someone on de site will remember it...

lazie since yu live pon nationwide radio, yu should remember tuh...

de pnp opposition moreso dan de govt is mostly responsible fi de relative calm and peace wid deze increased taxes...

lazie, yuh must learn fi give unto caesar what is due unto him...

yeah, but just fi print money so suh so... no papa... a nuh suh it guh...

if people a bawl now... wha yuh tink wudda happen lata...

wi need production, manufacturing, more efficient revenue collection... reduction of waste and corruption... reduction of energy dependence... efficiency in energy consumption... machinery, appliance, transportation... bus, reduction of unnecessary medical costs...