Gas tax alternative
Originally posted by Willi View PostDont forget that subsidy system have admin costs that eat away at the benefits. Free for all does not have that and is more "efficient" in that sense. In this case, logistics is what is causing the differntiation. Those who can pay are usually those who value their time more and will opt out of the public system, de facto creating the people subsidy system you prefer.
Anybody with the slightest amount of discretionary income or health insurance will bypass the long wait (and relative indignity) in the public system. Those who cant are still guaranteed at least the minimal amount of health care.
Health care is similar to education in terms of public good. No matter how rich you are, you cant insulate yourself against an unhelathy population. If you helper has TB, then you and yuh faumbilly is at risk. I dont care how many billions you have, unless yuh gonna lock up yourself like Hoawrd Hughes and even that is not foolproof!
It also reduces the moral hazard of unnecessary, wasteful usage of the service.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
and keep some people out of the hospital?
Can't we cut the waste without the fees?- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
the destittute just stay away.
Nobody should have to go banckrupt to pay hospital bill.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View Postand keep some people out of the hospital?
Can't we cut the waste without the fees?
on the other hand total freeness introduces the moral hazard of waste... that's just human nature not to value something 100% free.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Assasin View Postthe destittute just stay away.
Nobody should have to go banckrupt to pay hospital bill.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Maudib View Postsell mi a $500 Bfree...
LOL !
check a C&W agent for the bfree card.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
It not that they can't pay but it cost some people them house and land.
Are there no efficent free systems in that we can use? The people still have to pay for it one way or another.
I know many people who go to obeah man, bush doctor and use home remedy because they think they can't afford user fee. This is more of a concern to me.
I also know myself and many others who couldn't afford high school if it wasn't free in our days. Thanks to Manley.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View PostIt not that they can't pay but it cost some people them house and land.
Are there no efficent free systems in that we can use? The people still have to pay for it one way or another.
I know many people who go to obeah man, bush doctor and use home remedy because they think they can't afford user fee. This is more of a concern to me.
I also know myself and many others who couldn't afford high school if it wasn't free in our days. Thanks to Manley.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
what I am telling you is you don't have to be destititue fi run up inna million dollar healthcare bill.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Bus Sass, I don't think Don1 is saying that its either FREE (for the destitute) or FULL PRICE for everyone else.
He is just saying it should not be FREE for everybody. There should be some fees attached for those who can afford to pay. And I agree 100% with that."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by Islandman View PostBus Sass, I don't think Don1 is saying that its either FREE (for the destitute) or FULL PRICE for everyone else.
He is just saying it should not be FREE for everybody. There should be some fees attached for those who can afford to pay. And I agree 100% with that.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE