Gas tax alternative

So, do you think 1.2 million people would ante up another $100 just so? i think that would be retrograde... Maybe giving every visitor a $20 US rebate for coming might be even a better solution? just being devil's advocate since you mentioned the word debate.
    Never said if I was for or against .. just curious to hear various views.

I just considered it... and I considered a ludicrous proposal! Unless Dick is working for the Dominican Republic or Mexican tourist board ...

check him passport deh quick quick.

I was asking what you thought.

What you don't realise is that people were going broke paying healthcare. If you had to get blood or major surgery it was major money.

Keep the free healthcare. What if you have fi pay 5 dollar more for gas for FREE HEALTHCARE?
            you don't seem to understand my point.... why am I not surprised?

Why dismiss it just like that? I think it is something that should be reviewed. Yeah, maybe at the end of the day it may be rejected ... but it should be given some consideration.
              I did consider it... that took all of 3 seconds. Silly to tax your primary industry and lifeline (apart from remittances) into the ground.

agree with you on that.
                I'm honoured, pleased and frankly... flabbergasted!

Many cant pay Don. The overwhelming surge of new users is proof of that. No one with means would willingly join those long lines.
                  Agree somewhat but.. people can find JA$100 fi guh docta... No?

Not all, plus at that low level the admin costs will eat up the $100.

If it must be modified, I would rather people register for exemptions due to proven hardship and get an exception ID (also for Kids under 12). Everybody else could pay say $300 or more in user fees.

That is the kind of system I prefer. Subsidise people, not services.

If some part of the population cannot afford food, you give them food stamps, you don't make flour free for everybody!

The problem is that there are many people who as Brickie say you think a middle class but they are one doctor fee away from been broke. I spoke a few people and one couple who is very ill told me straight up "if it wasn't for free healthcare they would be dead". they are retirees, drive a car and have a decent house. One thing with the fee that was before is that different proceedure have different fees. So if you had big operations you would be left holding a big bag of fees pretty much like the American system.

You mentioned 'operating a business' in Jamaica... What sector is it in ?

Dont forget that subsidy system have admin costs that eat away at the benefits. Free for all does not have that and is more "efficient" in that sense. In this case, logistics is what is causing the differntiation. Those who can pay are usually those who value their time more and will opt out of the public system, de facto creating the people subsidy system you prefer.

Anybody with the slightest amount of discretionary income or health insurance will bypass the long wait (and relative indignity) in the public system. Those who cant are still guaranteed at least the minimal amount of health care.

Health care is similar to education in terms of public good. No matter how rich you are, you cant insulate yourself against an unhelathy population. If you helper has TB, then you and yuh faumbilly is at risk. I dont care how many billions you have, unless yuh gonna lock up yourself like Hoawrd Hughes and even that is not foolproof!

The question is not if we should have free healthcare but how to make it BETTER, in my book and as Floyd Morris said perfectly, with or without free healthcare we have problems in the system. We can solve it and make it work more effecient.

Not all, plus at that low level the admin costs will eat up the $100.

If it must be modified, I would rather people register for exemptions due to proven hardship and get an exception ID (also for Kids under 12). Everybody else could pay say $300 or more in user fees.
                                My point is that people should pay something. If there has to be a sliding scale of payments based on some objective means testing...fine.

The destitute should not be denied services due to inability to pay user fees.