Gas tax alternative

• Gas tax alternative

Gleaner columnist Reverend Devon Dick is suggesting that the government implement a visa regime, which would require all non-CARICOM citizens to obtain the document before they enter Jamaica.

Reverend Dick says the visa regime could be a viable alternative to introducing a gas tax or any other taxes that would further burden Jamaicans.

He says the government could charge at least US$100 for a five or 10-year Jamaican visa.

He says this would result in US$120 million in revenue in light of the 1.2 million visitors who are reported to visit the island each year.

President of the Jamaica Hotel and Tourist Association, Wayne Cummings says such a system would not work.

http://go-jamaica.com/news/read_article.php?id=8344

Now this is something worth debating. Heard a caller on Mutty this morning suggesting that the gov't should bring in another lottery that is run by the gov't. Sounded as if he had his flask close by ... but I don't see why that couldn't be done. Our country must be the only one that the lottery goes into private hands.

Rescind the free health care. I am guessing that that is a major burden on the government.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Gleaner columnist Reverend Devon Dick is suggesting that the government implement a visa regime, which would require all non-CARICOM citizens to obtain the document before they enter Jamaica.

Reverend Dick says the visa regime could be a viable alternative to introducing a gas tax or any other taxes that would further burden Jamaicans.

He says the government could charge at least US$100 for a five or 10-year Jamaican visa.

He says this would result in US$120 million in revenue in light of the 1.2 million visitors who are reported to visit the island each year.

President of the Jamaica Hotel and Tourist Association, Wayne Cummings says such a system would not work.

http://go-jamaica.com/news/read_article.php?id=8344
        ludicrous. Dick should stick (LOL!) to preaching.

Rescind the free health care. I am guessing that that is a major burden on the government.
          The freeness was a mistake ... it creates the moral hazard of wanton and wasteful use of resources. The govt should implement even a token user fee.. $100 or so.

agree with you on that.

Agree totally. I feel that way about all govt services.

Similarly I believe everybody with any income should pay some income taxes even if it is a token amount.

ludicrous. Dick should stick (LOL!) to preaching.
                Why dismiss it just like that? I think it is something that should be reviewed. Yeah, maybe at the end of the day it may be rejected ... but it should be given some consideration.

What you don't realise is that people were going broke paying healthcare. If you had to get blood or major surgery it was major money.

Keep the free healthcare. What if you have fi pay 5 dollar more for gas for FREE HEALTHCARE?

Sass...don't bother!

Many cant pay Don. The overwhelming surge of new users is proof of that. No one with means would willingly join those long lines.

You right cause me support free healthcare and most progressive third world country can afford it so why can't we. Only the US I know have pay as you go system I know.

it too early, you can't go a you bed yet.

So, do you think 1.2 million people would ante up another $100 just so? i think that would be retrograde... Maybe giving every visitor a $20 US rebate for coming might be even a better solution? just being devil's advocate since you mentioned the word debate.