JLP, PNP at odds over riot fears

Agreed, but the game has changed. We will all soon see that.

Whatever people think of this budget, I am betting that it is optimistic.

Six months to Armageddon?? LOL. I am planning for an extended period of hardship, within reason. One still has to live after all.

I was reading an article recently on some memories people had of living through the Great Depression. One of the main things that struck me was that people believed every year that the worst was behind them, and it couldn't get much worse. But it did.

Agreed, but the game has changed. We will all soon see that.

Whatever people think of this budget, I am betting that it is optimistic.
        I actually support the PM on this. Further I agree it is going to get much worse. The chatter on the stress test is that most of the large banks failed it. It's not going to be pretty. The last eighteen years of static growth leaves Jamaica with no room to maneuvre. We are going to have to depend on the kindness of friends and strangers and they are just barely better off. there is another way though but I think JA has to sink further before they realize what is needed.

Financial armageddon.

We will still have to live for sure, but as Don1 Russian article said, things may be very different. We may have to realign expectations dramatically.

No need to go back as far as the Great Depression, just ask the Russians how the 1990s went.

Interesting post. Mek mi hear what you think the other way is.

Kingfish wasnt playing .. Nuff scalade hide wheh

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
                I actually support the PM on this. Further I agree it is going to get much worse. The chatter on the stress test is that most of the large banks failed it. It's not going to be pretty. The last eighteen years of static growth leaves Jamaica with no room to maneuvre. We are going to have to depend on the kindness of friends and strangers and they are just barely better off. there is another way though but I think JA has to sink further before they realize what is needed.
                mi dun chat bout fi mi alternativ areddy... peeple pon di forum all a tell mi seh it nuh mek sense... seh it cyaan wuk.... dem nuh si nuh reasin fi change ..... especially wen fi dem party inna powa.... ah suh powa sweet!

Woulda love hear yur vershon fi tru.

That was a political culture change. Did you have a financial solution, given that politicians still dont see a need to change?

Dont froget, the pnp AND THE jlp DONT TRUST EACH OTHER.

That truth was central to my proposal Willi. I suggested that all discussions on the proposed national social contract (not the little MOU charade) be done publicly (televised) ... not behind closed doors...AND not just be between the PNP and JLP.
                      All important stakeholders in Jamaica should have formal representation in coming up with a survival and prosperity plan.

The job is MUCH bigger than the JLP or PNP alone to manage even under normal circumstances ... 10X bigger than either party now... with the storm upon us.

All hands on deck.
                      Last edited by Don1; April 25, 2009, 10:58 PM.

That was a political culture change. Did you have a financial solution, given that politicians still dont see a need to change?
                        Jamaica requires a change in thinking away from the failed and bankrupt political confrontations of the past and present.... that's where everything starts.

The social contract I proposed required a change in political culture and our traditional backward thinking ... aimed at building a national roadmap to prosperity. We are not currently on such a path.

Golding came into power promising a new type of governance.... and is delivering more of the same.

Can't say I'm surprised.... vexed..... but not surprised.

Fair enuff.