National Broadcast by The Hon. Bruce Golding Prime Minister

• National Broadcast by The Hon. Bruce Golding Prime Minister

Two weeks ago, we tabled in Parliament the Budget for the new fiscal year. Members of Parliament spent three days last week going through the Budget, page by page, line by line.

As I had explained to you in a broadcast on April 5th, we had to cut expenditure in several areas. We are going through tough times and we are now feeling the full effects of the global crisis on top of the many other problems we already had.

For many years, we have been borrowing and spending, borrowing more in order to keep spending, piling up more and more debt on which we have to pay interest and which we have to pay back.

It's like an addiction: the more we borrow, the more we have to find to service what we have borrowed, so we have to keep on borrowing. This year, we will have to pay $309 billion to service debt alone!

We have reached the stage where all the revenue we collect is still not enough to service that debt. So, before we can pay one civil servant, one teacher, one policeman or one nurse, before we can put one bottle of medicine in our hospitals, before we can provide one school lunch for a needy student, we have to borrow more money.

We cannot go on like this! We have to change course! The global crisis has only made matters worse because, with the collapse of the capital markets, it is even harder to get money to borrow.
    Even though we have cut expenditure and reduced the size of the budget in real terms, even though we have had to forego the wage increases that were due to public sector workers this year, there is still a gap in the budget that must be closed.

We can't cut the budget anymore to close that gap. We can't cut expenditure on the police force at a time when we are fighting this monster of crime and violence. We can't cut what we are spending on our schools when the future of our children and, indeed, the country depends on improving the quality of their education. We can't cut expenditure on our health services when there are so many persons who can't afford to go to private doctors or private hospitals.

We cannot borrow more money to close the gap in the Budget. That would only be digging ourselves into a deeper hole, forcing us to find more money to service that additional debt. We can't stop borrowing completely and suddenly. We will have to reduce our borrowing gradually over time. But make no mistake: we are going to have to start cutting our suit to fit the cloth; we are going to have to start paying our way to prosperity instead of borrowing our way into deeper misery.

We are going to have to find our own money to close the budget gap. We will have to raise more revenue and, tomorrow, the Minister of Finance, in opening the Budget Debate, will outline the tax package that is required to close that gap.

In formulating the tax package, we have sought to spread the burden as wide as possible so that it doesn't fall too heavily on any one set of people. We have had to devise methods to get those who have been getting away to pay their fair share. But we have had to take into account the low-wage worker, especially the PAYE worker, who has been bearing more than his fair share. And we have had to look out for the very poor, the pensioners and the vulnerable who need to be protected.

Increasing taxes is never easy or pleasant. Every government likes to be able to announce that taxes are being reduced. Some countries have, in fact, reduced taxes as a means of stimulating the economy. We would love to be able to do that, too. But, then, they don't have a debt burden that gobbles up all of their revenue. They have accumulated fiscal surpluses that allow them to reduce taxes. Ours is a different story. We have lived with fiscal deficits for years and they only pile up more debt that leads to more deficits. We just cannot go on like this!

As one would expect, there has been speculation about the likelihood of tax increases and rumours about planned disruption. What purpose would that serve? Would it close the budget gap? No! Would it force us to restructure the budget by reducing the grants we give to our basic schools, or the provision of medical supplies to our hospitals, or by laying off thousands of public sector workers? Absolutely not!

As I have said before, the country is going through tough times - tough times for you and tough times for the government. All of us have to help the country through this crisis so that we can position ourselves for recovery after it has passed.

Let us not sacrifice the interests of the country on the altar of expediency of whatever kind or motivation. Let's not hand the country over to lawlessness and anarchy.
    The Security Forces are on alert and are prepared to respond to any situation where public order is disturbed. But I appeal to all Jamaicans: Let that not become necessary. Let good sense prevail. Let us confront our challenges no matter how difficult they may be.

We did not cause the global crisis but we are suffering the consequences and we must ensure that we endure. We have come through tough times before. We will come through these tough times as well and we will come through them better and safer if we do so together.
    God is good and I know that God will continue to bless Jamaica and its people.

http://www.jis.gov.jm/PMspeeches/htm...L_22__2009.asp

Budget day blues - No pocket to be spared in closing tax gap

Jamaicans are being warned to brace for a big tax package - that could include a special levy on gasolene - as Finance Minister Audley Shaw moves to close a $55-billion financing gap in his budget.

Shaw tabled a $548-billion budget in Parliament a fortnight ago, and will today tell legislators how he plans to fund the expenditure.

But with revenue running far below projection last year and the private capital market tightening, Shaw will have to look to the multinational agencies for soft loans and the Jamaican consumer for more taxes.

Shaw has indicated that he will be going after tax dodgers but that is unlikely to close the gap.

Passport fees double

Already The Gleaner has learnt that passport fees will be doubled to $5,000 from $2,500, while the island's 40,000 licensed firearms holders will also be hit with a doubling in the cost of their permits.

Other consumers will not be spared as other government services will also be increased by up to 100 per cent and property tax seems set to rise.

"I think you are going to see GCT (General Consumption Tax) on things like water and electricity bills which have not yet attracted GCT similar to the telephone bill. In addition, the level of GCT on phonecards could be increased from the present 20 per cent to about 30 per cent," financial analyst Anne Shirley told The Gleaner.

"I would be looking for the gas tax despite the controversy surrounding it, as I don't think the Government has a choice on this.

"Also, I'm looking for increases in a lot of the smaller fees for government services which are now between $2,000 and $2,500 and can be doubled," Shirley added.

Major package inevitable

She is not alone in the belief that a major tax package is inevitable as Shaw and his team buckle under a growing debt burden and a sharp reduction in revenue collected from areas such as income tax and GCT last year.

According to Professor Don Robotham, there is no way the Government can finance the budget without new taxes.

"Very likely, there will be a tax on petroleum products. Equally likely is a substantial increase in bus and taxi fares ... Discretionary GCT and corporate tax exemptions for certain sectors (primarily tourism) will have to be revoked," Robotham said recently as he expressed concern about what he said was a $55 billion revenue gap.

"The proposed reduction in corporate income tax from 33 per cent to 20 per cent - a revenue loss of about $6 billion - will have to be shelved," added Robotham.

But Shirley believes the Government will have to offer a tax break if its new measures are to be accepted.

"I think he will increase the income tax threshold and he will try to see if there are other areas that he can give back something to make some of his measures palatable," Shirley said.

"There is not a lot of wiggle room but to the extent that he (Shaw) can find areas that he is able to do something on, I think he will try because it will be a very difficult budget for him to craft," added Shirley.

No option

Edward Chin-Mook, president of the Small Business Association of Jamaica (SBAJ), believes Shaw will have no option but to find ways to offer some breaks to taxpayers.

"This particular budget is going to be the mother of all budgets. We are facing challenging times and the leadership must offer some sweet medicine along with whatever bitter ones," Chin-Mook told The Gleaner.

"The sector is bracing for some very harsh measures but we are not going to be prepared to take them unless there are signs of solutions to the problems down the road," added Chin-Mook.

He said the proposed tax on gasolene products and GCT on utility bills should be scrapped and other creative measures implemented.

"These are the easy things but they will hurt small businesses and persons who are most vulnerable. The Government should instead go after big businesses which are under-reporting and others who are failing to pay millions of dollars in taxes.

"With a tax on gas you are going to kill the little man, you are going to kill the start-up businesses and crush their spirit," declared the SBAJ president.

Capturing tax dodgers

Shaw is expected to use today's presentation to announce a push to capture professionals and big business operators who are not paying their taxes, while consolidating some payroll taxes.

He will also present the final figures for the 2008-2009 fiscal year, but data for 11 months show the Government's collection of revenue and grants at $21 billion below projection, with most areas well short of the target.

With more fallout from the global economic tsunami expected this year, Shaw and his team know that, despite increased loan funds expected from the Inter-American Development Bank, the European Union and possibly the International Monetary Fund, it will struggle to pull in the revenue.

arthur.hall@gleanerjm.com

Professor Don Robotham:

Very likely, there will be a tax on petroleum products. Equally likely is a substantial increase in bus and taxi fares ... . Discretionary GCT and corporate tax exemptions for certain sectors (primarily tourism) will have to be revoked.

Edward Chin-Mook, president, SBAJ:

This particular budget is going to be the mother of all budgets. We are facing challenging times and the leadership must offer some sweet medicine along with whatever bitter ones.

Government revenue - Apr 2008-Feb 2009

Budgeted Collected Shortfall
    Tax Revenue $232B $216B -$16B
    Non-Tax Revenue $14.8B $14B -$747M
    Bauxite Levy $7.7B $4.3B -$3.4B
    Capital Revenue $2.05B $1.07B -$981.7M
    GCT (local) $44.8B $36.8B -$8B
    GCT (imports) $30B $27B -$3B

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...ead/lead1.html

Already The Gleaner has learnt that passport fees will be doubled to $5,000 from $2,500, while the island's 40,000 licensed firearms holders will also be hit with a doubling in the cost of their permits.
      So, it's going to be harder for the law-abiding to get a permit.

Are we doing anything to make it more difficult for rich, former CC students to get illegal guns?

So, it's going to be harder for the law-abiding to get a permit.

Are we doing anything to make it more difficult for rich, former CC students to get illegal guns?
        Weren't you all aware that this was going to be a tough budget? What you recommend they do? Go out and borrow more money?

Do you have a problem with making it more difficult for criminals to acquire guns?

Did I say anything about anything else?

They should consult with Omar...

Do you have a problem with making it more difficult for criminals to acquire guns?

Did I say anything about anything else?
              Suh what does "making it more difficult for criminals to acquire guns" have to do with fees for firearm holders?

Forget it, Lazie!

Carry on marching to the beat!

"It takes cash to care"

Forget it, Lazie!

Carry on marching to the beat!
                    The only surprise is that you didn't start off with that. The PM asked Your Majesty's Loyal Opposition to indicate what to cut in order to increase funding elsewhere ... they all got silent. Based on that reaction, there is nothing more to cut.

Leading up to this budget, it was well known that tough measures would have to be taken. At this point I don't see why yuh climbing up the wall ... I suggest yuh wait until the details are presented later, then start climbing again.

The PM asked Your Majesty's Loyal Opposition to indicate what to cut in order to increase funding elsewhere ... they all got silent. Based on that reaction, there is nothing more to cut.
                      It's your turn, Lazie. You party is now in power.

... and thats the reason for your reaction? Nuh your government tuh?

True! And that's why I am not supporting any riots.

Pity the JLP govt. back in the day could not put the country first!

True! And that's why I am not supporting any riots.

Pity the JLP govt. back in the day could not put the country first!
                            Suh let me guess ... those that put us in this hole was putting country first? Its understandable that people get upset hearing what might be coming, but nuh bother overdweet.

Oh, so you didn't have a problem when the JLP started, joined or encouraged protests back in the day that brought the country to a standstill?!?!