I was just reading some of the other posts below and thought about my earlier statement about changing the mindset of how Jamaicans think about tourism. I remember when I worked in Jamaica and went on "leave" from work. The average vacation time for any job in Jamaica is 3 weeks with a week added for years of service. Sometimes you could end up with up to 6 weeks in vacation time. Vacations were not generally planned. Usually, with a 4 week vacation, I would take a week to catch up on some personal business that I could not get the time off from work to do; spend about a week in Ochi or some other spot with the wife or come to "foreign"; and then stay home for the other 2 weeks or so bored out of my mind and can't wait to get back to work. The concept of planning a family vacation a year in advance and saving towards it for months, was never a part of me. Take having a US visa out of the picture, I would say that I was a typical Jamaican. Since I have been living here in the USA, my concept of vacationing has changed. Now, my family and I plan our vacation and see it as a necessary part of our lives. How many Jamaicans (living on the rock) share this view? An in-law of mine made a comment once that made me laugh. His mother (he is a big man in his forties) is always sending money for him. On this one ocassion, he called her to beg for some money. When she told him that she did not have it this time because she was going on vacation, he said, "Vacation? Weh yuh go pon vacation fah? Yuh nuh dun live a fareen?!!!"
Jamaica is joking with Tourism
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
The funny thing is most British people pay for their vacation lickle lickle when them get paid, them nuh put it pon nuh credit card so the vacation is book 6 months or a year in advance.
that relative of yours may also be living in a good house paying no mortgage and driving a car too but him nuh understand his mom have those bills a foreen.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
You keep harping about all inclusives when
it is clear for everyone to see that all inclusive does not help JA.
AI (from here all inclusives will be called AI) has sucked the life out of Mobay reducing the city to one of crime, begging and scamming.
I've never seen you where mentioned that they had sting operation for workers who took tips (these workers would be FIRED!); hence there was a deliberate attempt to stop foreign exchanage from going directly in the hands of general populace. AI is a selfish concept whis only burdens the municipalities of the island without paying for it. Unless a special tax bracket is made for AI hotel, Ja is wasting its time.
vacation was always important to me....they are a little more elaborate these days and i have finetuned it a little...e.g. on cruises mi not getting off at each and every port fi run upon dung an look all kinda sitten....enjoy the spas, the buffet's activities......
my wife is the genius at planning though and she planned a 3 week vacation in 2002 that was the bomb...3 days in london, 5 days in paris, 3 days in barcelona, 7 day mediterannean cruise 1 additional day in barca and then back home.
last august we rented a house in Upton St. Ann and it was the bomb i couldn't stay for the whole time but the kids LOVED it...family members came down an ting.
my old man never took anythng name vacation and it was a shame because he worked hard and deserved it but my ultmate point is, it is something that requires thought and planning (das why is di wife do it...)
Some people love it. It is build Orlando but what does the people of Orlando get from it, when you have to make up your bed yourself and you cook your own food?
What your brethren don't understand is that these concept are there and bringing in some visitors, it is up to us Jamaicans to get a piece of the pie.
You think when the higgler them harrass the tourist that a go encourage them fi come outa the hotel?
The other day I read a little article about a group of local in negril who came up with an idea of a reggae bus painted in Rasta colour and would take guest free of cost to the West end where they could support the vendors there. Now if the vendors there create the right atmosphere a nuff visitors a go take the reggae bus ride and enjoy themselves.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
To be fair though the timeshare concept is not really designed to keep people in the timeshare all the time the way the All Inclusives are.
But I agree with you that there is a market for all types of concepts. It is true that the all inclusives alone is not the solution for us, but there are many people who , harassment or not, really don't want to leave the hotel and like the idea of everything being there, and the all inclusives serve that market."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass