• Chang defends action to move squatters

Monday, April 20, 2009
    MONTEGO BAY, St James - Water and Housing Minister Dr Horace Chang has defended last week's demolition of five houses on state owned-lands in the Whitehouse area of Westmoreland.
    "The demolition is unfortunate but I have to defend the action of my officers because we can't condone squatting," Chang told the Observer.
    At the same time, Chang said that he has asked Member of Parliament for the area, Luther Buchanan, to identify suitable state-owned lands to relocate the displaced occupants.
    "I sympathised with them (squatters) and I am in discussion with the MP to identify suitable lands as soon as possible, so that we can lease them the land for a peppercorn fee so that they can live in a structured way," Chang said.
    Last Friday, more than 22 persons were left homeless after a team from the housing ministry flattened their houses after an agreement between the housing ministry and one of the occupiers to purchase the one and a half acre property reportedly fell through.
    According to Chang, more than 10 years ago the occupier - who he did not name - agreed to purchase the property from the ministry of housing at a cost of $500,000.
    A initial payment of $45,000 was subsequently made, Chang said, but the occupier failed to deposit anymore money on the property.
    He said the man continued to occupy the property despite several warnings from the ministry of housing for him to vacate the land.
    "What he did was that instead of paying for or vacating the property, he proceeded to lease other persons parcels of it to build houses on," Chang explained. "If nothing was done to stop this, then very soon the land would be filled with unplanned settlements."
    Meanwhile, Buchanan expressed confidence that he would find a suitable site within days for the displaced occupants to be relocated.
    "I will come up with a suitable place so that the process to reconstruct the houses for the families can begin," he said.
    The families, he added, are currently staying with relatives and friends in Westmoreland.

Bigger than even the crime problem, this squatting issue will be the country's biggest, if it isn't already.

No, Gamma, I don't see squatters as criminals unless they resist moving or took the land thru violence.

Bigger than even the crime problem, this squatting issue will be the country's biggest, if it isn't already.

No, Gamma, I don't see squatters as criminals unless they resist moving or took the land thru violence.
      Suh you buy your land for later use and a man simply tek it over, wha yuh call that? Social program or getting robbed?

re-read, please!

well they are trespassing and in any event have they agreed to move.

Part of the real reason of failure in our economy. How can market economy function without ownership? If so many people don't own anything then how are they going to move forward?

them nah move and nah pay nothing.

Some of us act like dem coulda do bettah!

Mo some could do better. When I worked in Mobay, there were word on the street to go pay some amount to certain people and get a squat. Then join the fight against bulldozing and force some people hand.

However there is a big problem with getting titles, providing low income intiatives where people can pay a reasonable sum for where they live and provide service. The only thing is the people have to have a culture of paying rather than try to beat the system. I don't envy Horace Chang or any minister who have to deal with this because it is a mess. How did Ochi get so bad?

Muss be a michael Manley ting...

Ah wondah what woulda happen if wi had winter down here.. Half the population woulda dead.. Too easy down here.. Tek the mismanagement of di country and it's resources as joke.

Okaaaay, now tell us what will
                      be built on the property, now that the "squatters" are removed.

I just don't want to guess. BTW isn't this the same guy who wanted to build a hotel on a landmark in St.James? ah well.

you nuh have no land to donate?

Sass, I'm from a humble background. If i was a descendant
                          of plantation owners then you could ask me that question and yes I would give my prime real estte to those that were displaced in Westmoreland.

Let's check out the location of this property where it lies.

if a prime location you think it is prime for squatting?

The amount of money they had to pay monthly is very small. The problem with many of these squatters is they know they can get away with not paying.

They managed to broker a deal and they need to live up to that responsibility. Them a the lucky ones, you know how many squatters woulda pay what them a pay and nuh have no problem?

If they weren't sqwatting they would pay a little rent and the amount charged for this prime location is amounting to rent and nothing more.