• Top 20 Jamaican music of all time?

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean.../ent/ent3.html

The top 20:

1. One Love/People Get Ready (Bob Marley and the Wailers - 726 points)
    2. Oh Carolina (The Folkes Brothers - 540)
    3. 54-46 (The Maytals - 516)
    4. Got To Go Back Home (Bob Andy - 493)
    5. My Boy Lollipop (Millie Small - 470)
    6. Many Rivers to Cross (Jimmy Cliff - 451)
    7. Israelites (Desmond Dekker and the Aces - 424)
    8. Cherry Oh Baby (Eric Donaldson - 367)
    9. Simmer Down (The Wailers - 357)
    10. Carry Go Bring Come (Justin Hinds and the Dominoes - 331)
    11. The Harder They Come (Jimmy Cliff - 316)
    12. No Woman No Cry (Bob Marley and The Wailers - 305)
    13. Rivers of Babylon (The Melodians - 298)
    14. Redemption Song (Bob Marley and the Wailers - 289)
    15. Easy Snappin' (Theophilus Beckford - 281)
    16. Girl I've Got a Date (Alton Ellis - 261)
    17. Satta Massagana (The Abyssnians - 253)
    18. Everything I Own (Ken Boothe - 249)
    19. Eastern Standard Time (Don Drummond - 246) 20. Wear You To The Ball (U-Roy - 236)
    More Articles from Entertainment

Alton Ellis only have one? And its not even "I'm Still in Love!"?

Not sure about that No. 1 song. That would not even make the top 5 Bob Marley songs for most of us.

Rampin Shop nuh mek di list? Clearly, this poll was not done on the Internet!

book of rules - the heptones... should be there in the top 5!!!!!

true!

A eediat list dis because me nuh see nuh SHABBA song pon it. W'appen to classics like "Hard and Stiff" , "Needle Eye", "Caan Dun", and the everlasting, ever fresh "love Punany Bad"?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iuPx3...eature=related
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

"This is going to stir up controversy and we want it to."

Definately WAY too biased towards the older songs. The newest song on that list is Redemption Song, I think.

None of the really great dancehall songs from the 80s or 90s. Not even a Greetings or a One Blood.

Putting up Resistance - Beres Hammond
                Lord Give me Strength - Luciano
                No Woman no Cry - Bob marley
                Murder She Wrote - Chaka Demus and Pliers
                It wasn't Me - Shaggy
                Shy Guy - Diana King

Cho the list too long.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

"This is going to stir up controversy and we want it to."

Definately WAY too biased towards the older songs. The newest song on that list is Redemption Song, I think.

None of the really great dancehall songs from the 80s or 90s. Not even a Greetings or a One Blood.
                  Well its the norm apparently ... to be considered the best it have to be done from Jesus was on earth. No wonder there was astonishment on the forum when Shelton indicated he wasn't a Bob fan.

It Wasn't Me is a reggae chune? Oh, it say Jamaican music!

Mah bad!

Very biased list, and agree a Shabba Ranks tune needs to be on the list, and possibly "Love P.unana.y Bad" fi add to it. Also the most popular riddim of all time, sleng teng (Ring the Alarm - Tenor Saw) is missing.

Most popular riddim? Clearly Diwali!

The full list of 100

Symposium on the 100 Best Jamaican Songs, 1957-2007.
                          Rank Song Title Artist Score
                          1 One Love/People Get Ready Bob Marley and The Wailers 726
                          2 Oh Carolina The Folkes Brothers 540
                          3 54-46 The Maytals 516
                          4 Got To Go Back Home Bob Andy 493
                          5 My Boy Lollipop Millie Small 470
                          6 Many Rivers To Cross Jimmy Cliff 451
                          7 Israelites Desmond Dekker and The Aces 424
                          8 Cherry Oh Baby Eric Donaldson 367
                          9 Simmer Down The Wailers 357
                          10 Carry Go Bring Come Justin Hinds and The Dominos 331
                          11 The Harder They Come Jimmy Cliff 316
                          12 No Woman No Cry Bob Marley and The Wailers 305
                          13 Rivers of Babylon The Melodians 298
                          14 Redemption Song Bob Marley and The Wailers 289
                          15 Easy Snappin Theophilus Beckford 281
                          16 Girl I've Got a Date Alton Ellis 261
                          17 Satta Massagna The Abyssinians 253
                          18 Everything I Own Ken Boothe 249
                          19 Eastern Standard Time Don Drummond 246
                          20 Wear You To The Ball U-Roy 236
                          21 Get Up, Stand Up Bob Marley and The Wailers 234
                          22 Nanny Goat Larry and Alvin 208
                          23 Night Nurse Gregory Isaacs 208
                          24 War Bob Marley and The Wailers 205
                          25 Young Gifted And Black Bob and Marcia 203
                          26 007/Shanty Town Desmond Dekker and The Aces 200
                          27 Bam Bam The Maytals 187
                          28 Daddy Toots and The Maytals 171
                          29 How Could I Live Dennis Brown 169
                          30 On The Beach The Paragons 166
                          31 Greetings Half Pint 166
                          32 Double Barrel Dave and Ansell Collins 161
                          33 Baby Why The Cables 147
                          34 One Step Ahead Beres Hammond 144
                          35 Now That We've Found Love Third World 140
                          36 Electric Boogie Marcia Griffiths 137
                          37 Revolution Dennis Brown 132
                          38 No, No, No Dawn Penn 131
                          39 Jamaican Ska Byron Lee and The Dragonaires 129
                          40 I'm Still in Love Alton Ellis 126
                          41 Trenchtown Rock The Wailers 117
                          42 Rock Away Beres Hammond 116
                          43 Here I Come Barrington Levy/Dennis Brown 82
                          44 Book of Rules The Heptones 108
                          45 Everything Crash The Ethiopians 104
                          46 Mr. DC Sugar Minott 103
                          47 Puppet On A String Ken Boothe 99
                          48 Dancing Mood Delroy Wilson 99
                          49 96 Degrees In The Shade Third World 98
                          50 One Blood Junior Reid 97
                          51 Wash Wash Prince Buster 96
                          52 Hold Them Roy Shirley 95
                          53 Six And Seven Books The Maytals 94
                          54 I'm Just A Guy Alton Ellis 92
                          55 Why Did You Leave? Heptones 92
                          56 What One Dance Can Do Beres Hammond 92
                          57 Nice Up The Dance Michigan and Smiley 88
                          58 Liquidator Harry J All Star 87
                          59 Marcus Gravey Burning Spear 87
                          60 Uptown Top Rankin Althea and Donna 87
                          61 Better Must Come Delroy Wilson 86
                          62 Don't Want To See You Cry Ken Boothe 86
                          63 Sammy Dead Monty Morris 86
                          64 Tell Me Darling Wilfred Jackie Edwards 86
                          65 Tenement Yard Jacob Miller 86
                          66 Take It Easy Hopeton Lewis 85
                          67 Wear You To The Ball The Paragons 82
                          68 Occupation Don Drummond 81
                          69 Hurts To Be Alone The Wailers 81
                          70 Ram Jam Jackie Mittoo 80
                          71 Golden Love Lord Creator 80
                          72 Satisfaction Carl Dawkins 77
                          73 I Want To Wake Up With You Boris Gardiner 76
                          74 It Was'nt Me Shaggy ft. Rik Rok 75
                          75 Buckingham Palace Peter Tosh 74
                          76 Don't Stay Away Phyllis Dillon 74
                          77 Worried Over You Keith and Enid 73
                          78 Dreamland Bunny Wailer 73
                          79 Life Is Just For Living Ernie Smith 73
                          80 Under Mi Sleng Teng Wayne Smith 73
                          81 One Draw Rita Marley 72
                          82 It's Me Again Jah Luciano 72
                          83 Two Sevens Clash Culture 71
                          84 Love Me Forever Cynthia Schloss 71
                          85 Dance Crasher Alton Ellis 70
                          86 Fatty Fatty The Heptones 70
                          87 Chiang-Kai-Chek The Skatalites/Baba Brooks 70
                          88 Johnny B Goode Peter Tosh 70
                          89 We'll Meet Roy and Millie 67
                          90 Police and Thieves Junior Murvin 67
                          91 Skylarking Horace Andy 64
                          92 Right Time The Mighty Diamonds 64
                          93 Wild Gilbert Lovindeer 64
                          94 Pass di Cutchie The Mighty Diamonds 64
                          95 Jammin Bob Marley and The Wailers 63
                          96 Equal Rights Peter Tosh 62
                          97 Legalize It Peter Tosh 60
                          98 Nice Time The Wailers 59
                          99 Love Has Found Its Way Dennis Brown 59
                          100 Putting Up Resistance Beres Hammond 59

Most popular riddim? Clearly Diwali!
                            Huh? Joyride or Punnany Riddim.

Maybe the most popular riddim of all time

http://search.yahoo.com/search;_ylt=...1-s&fr2=sb-top

It has been mixed so many times and so many ways. The Stalag riddim is wicked for riding and singing. Nuff Big tune like "Arlene a dream you dream"
                              "Ring the Alarm" just mention two a the mega hits. Not to mention that Briggie, Josie, Yellow and the top DJ had to ride this in the dancehall.