Jamaica: Gunman holds crew on passenger jet
Huh?
I see it easy to enter...harder to come out alive.
If you brandish a gun, seize a haostage and walk thru...you are in! Now, whether you advance beyond that is something else.
as long as you can enter the airport building with a gun, i see this as a distinct possibility!
Originally posted by Willi View PostCant happen in Heatrow, as you have a half hour walk after screening to the gate most times. LoL
There's a new twist to the story. Reports have it that the hijacker is a staunch HVIEW fan who is on this site. He reportedly went ballistic (and decided to pull of this brazen act) when someone said, and i quote, "Harbour View a heediat side!!"
Isn't the Canadian PM in Ja?
Maybe good for publicity and media.
Come on Ed Barlett do your thing.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
News
Jamaica: How did the hijacker get on board?
Posted: 2009-04-20 05:54:06
Live Regular updates on Power 106
»» Photo Gallery
»» Weather Information
»» More News/Updates
The Gleaner/Power 106 News Centre has been informed that the hijacker who is from a Montego Bay community had airport passes resembling legitimate access cards.
Last night a top-level airport official reported that camera footage showed that the man was detected from he was inside the airport terminal.
The official says the man threatened personnel in the terminal before proceeding to the aircraft.
But still, he was not restrained because there were no armed security personnel in the terminal.
And the senior official at MBJ Airports Limited says armed security personnel are not usually in the terminal.
According him this is an internationally accepted practice.
It’s reported that as soon as the man boarded the flight he issued orders that he wanted to go to Cuba.
The CanJet chartered flight was scheduled to stop in Cuba before heading to Halifax, Canada.
At the time the hijacker took control, the 169 passengers and five crewmembers aboard were preparing to take off in minutes.
The incident, though isolated has raised serious concerns about airport security.
Last night the Gleaner/Power 106 News Centre asked the senior MBJ official whether it was time to reintroduce armed security officials in the terminal.
But he says this should not be considered.
The MBJ Airport official insisted that the incident was isolated and was clearly not a terrorist attack.
Have your say at www.gleanerblogs.com
Originally posted by Willi View PostBut still, he was not restrained because there were no armed security personnel in the terminal.
And the senior official at MBJ Airports Limited says armed security personnel are not usually in the terminal.
According him this is an internationally accepted practice.
Canadian PM praises JA authorities for peaceful end to hijacking
Jamaica Observer
Posted: 4/20/2009 11:18:35 AM
CANADIAN Prime Minister Steven Harper has praised the performance of Jamaican authorities for bringing last night's hijacking of CanJet flight 918 at Sangster International Airport in Montego Bay to a peaceful end earlier today.
Speaking at a joint press conference with Prime Minister Bruce Golding at the airport this morning, Harper acknowledged that security had been breached but said that he preferred to dwell on the outcome, describing the day as "truly joyful".
"Jamaica has conducted itself from the prime minister on down with professionalism and friendship that we will never forget," he said.
He reserved especial praise for local security forces: "The passengers have nothing but tremendous things to say about how these men and women have handled themselves during this difficult chain of events."- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostSo, airports all over the world are now in danger! This cannot be true!
jus tink...? wen yuh walk innah airport henny baddi eva check yuh sin-ting dem before yuh innah hair-port? ...yuh nuh cudda have gun har wus?
...Aff-course dem haul nuh safe!
btw - Yuh eva tink ow a JFK dem plane deh dat a pass (a taxi) ova di Van Wick 'drive in' cudda be innah easy reach a henny-wan dat cudda waan damage dem (an incidentally parts of di airport)?"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostSo, airports all over the world are now in danger! This cannot be true!
When mi walk off the plane in Rome the first thing that greeted me was ARMED PERSONNEL“Life is a system of half-truths and lies, opportunistic, convenient evasion.”