• Dumpling shop???

Krista Henry, Staff Reporter

Lloyd Lovindeer - File
    "Dumpling a wha mi like, some of di gal dem mek it tight, too tight, every eating is a fight ... A di fuss yuh ever have it like dis since yuh get back yuh [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]satellite [COLOR=blue! important]dish[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR]."
    - Dumpling Shop

While the controversial Rampin' Shop by Vybz Kartel and Spice raised more than a few eyebrows, the recently released Dumpling Shop by Lovindeer and Mama Tia has been getting attention and garnering laughter from listeners.
    The hilarious song draws a close reference to the popular song from Kartel and Spice, including a similar rhythm and melody, but instead of 'rampin' in a sexual manner, the song discusses food - more specifically, one man's love for dumplings.
    In the chorus, Lovindeer and Mama Tia sing: "Gal when yuh fling away yuh book/ mi waan know if yuh cook/ when mi come inna di dumpling shop, a full time yuh fi eat/ mi have a likkle treat/ if yuh nuh cook mi nuh eat/ put a likkle gravy pon di meat."

Humour in music
    Known for his humorous songs such as Wild Gilbert, which speaks to one man's experience during the devastating hurricane, and his recent collaboration with Lady G, called That Question, Dumpling Shop also followed Lovindeer's comedic style.
    Lovindeer wrote and recorded his song three weeks ago in Kingston at the studio of Fab 5. He told THE STAR: "Obviously, the idea came from Rampin' Shop by Vybz Kartel and Spice. Nuff respect to Kartel cause mi love dat song. I wanted something to sound like Rampin' Shop but to develop it so that it could play on [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]radio[/COLOR][/COLOR] and the Broadcasting Commission couldn't complain 'bout it."
    A new artiste in the [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]business[/COLOR][/COLOR], Mama Tia, who hails from Kingston, provides the voice of the shop owner who makes the dumplings that Lovindeer craves. In addition to Rampin' Shop, the end of the song draws on Chris Brown's With You as the two sings "Oh, I wanna eat your food/ when I'm in the mood/ mi woulda track yuh all ova di wurl tonite/ track yuh all ova di wurl tonight/ I know yuh like nice food/ when you're in di mood/ you woulda track mi all ova di wurl tonight."
    Lovindeer says the song is not suggestive in the least and it has already been gaining a lot of airplay on the [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]radio[/COLOR][/COLOR]. A video for the song has already been put together on the popular social [COLOR=blue! important][COLOR=blue! important]Internet [COLOR=blue! important]networking[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR] site Facebook, with persons commenting: "Dumplin Shop, let's see if this is ban-able" and, "Good for them. Lovindeer give dem homework." The song will appear on Lovindeer's yet-to-be titled album, which he is currently finishing. Will this represent a comeback for the artiste? "Mi nuh know. Mi just like writing songs and putting them together. If the younger generation hears it and likes it, that's good," he said.

Original lyrical stalwart Lovindeer

The "shelf-life" of an artist is directly proportional to his level of talent.

(Darn i'm good...I just made that up.... )

Guys like Movado, Vybes Cartel...are close to their 'sell-by' date.

That is interesting.

Maybe they will still be relevant to the people of that generation.

yuh mean young people these days nuh like dumplin'?

I have a very simple solution:

Refer to the female thingy as PIE.

Refer to the male thingy as BANANA, SAUSAGE, BRATWURST, OR WURST (German word for sausage)

Banana cream pie, anybody?