• Maroon leaders condemn attack on British journalists, pursue

'We're sorry'
    Maroon leaders condemn attack on British journalists, pursue perpetrator

Pat Roxborough-Wright

Thursday, April 16, 2009

Maroon leaders were up to yesterday pursuing leads with a view to bringing the perpetrators of the attack, allegedly by one of their own, on three British journalists who were visiting Accompong Town, St Elizabeth on a filming expedition.

"We are expecting certain correspondences right now in order to move forward with the matter because this is a disgrace... and it is not what the Maroons are all about. We are very sorry that it happened and we apologise on their behalf. We just want to condemn the incident and do everything we can to bring this matter to justice," said Council member Melville Currie.

Currie - a deputy of Colonel Sydney Peddie, head of the Maroon Council - had been escorting the journalists when the attack ocurred.
    He was close to tears as he recalled the incident.

"Right now my eyes are full of water... when I think of what the journalists went through... they were harassed, traumatised...," he said.
    According to Currie, he made arrangements for the journalists to be exposed to some of the cooking methods employed by the Maroons at the request of Hugh Dixon, one of the organisers of the annual Trelawny Yam Festival.
    "They wanted t
    o know about how food was actually cooked here and so I had set up everything. Everything was going on quite nicely when two men came and asked how much money we were charging them. I told them that that was the council's business and they went away then all I know is that one came charging back with a machete and mash up everything, Chop up everything, left, right and centre," he told Chat!

According to Currie, the alleged attacker was one of the contenders for Peddie's post in the upcoming leadership elections constitutionally due later this year.

"He wasn't even born here, he was born in Kingston, went to America and was deported, but because everybody knows his father, we accepted him. Now this," he cried.

Ralston Reid, one of seven contenders vying for Peddie's post in the leadership elections, also condemned the incident.

"It is a bad thing that never should have happened and we condemn it because it makes us look unintelligent. We do not support that sort of behaviour," he said.
    Peddie said that the alleged attack resulted in some US$10,000 in damage to the journalists' equipment.

"According to the document that I am looking at right now, a mixer, cables, radio microphones, a transmitter, and igloos were damaged," he said.

In the meantime, both men are appealing to the group of journalists to let them have access to the damaged equipment.

"We reported it to the police, but we need the damaged equipment as evidence so that the police can proceed," said Currie.

It is not immediately clear how many journalists visited Jamaica on account of the project. However, those that the Observer West caught up with on Monday, while expressing great interest in the cuisine, advised that they had been instructed by their employers not to comment on the incident.

Damn!

One of the journalists had called me on some other matter, and when I asked him about what he was doing here, he stopped short of telling me the details. He was apparently very hurt and disappointed. His family is Jamaican and so he was also embarrassed about the whole deal.

That man mussi have a mental problem fi do sumtin like this.

Maybe we have to look at this from another perspective and understand the history behind it to see where this guy was coming from.

These journalists were British right? Forumites should go back to the 1700s and learn about when the the British were attacking Kojo and his community in Accompong .

What he did was not right, HOWEVER.....

Heh heh. Sorry, couldn't resist.

were they white? before people like the once noble chiron formerly sagest of all centaurs asks the question let me make it clear....i am referring to the journalists NOT the maroons!

Tourism must be taught in all Schools.

So what if the are black? Them nuh British?

The Maroons were active in capturing runaway slaves and returned many to bondage. It was the Maroons who captured heroes like Paul Bogle & Three Finger Jack.

Well, yes, thats true. They have a mixed record.

But they also fought off the British army which always wanted to destroy thier settlements on a few occasions.

I suppose at least one was black, the one I spoke with. He was also Jamaican.

See dem pics below

Attack on British journalists could hurt Trelawny's yam fest

BY HORACE HINES Observer West reporter
                        Thursday, April 16, 2009

HAGUE, Trelawny - Organisers of the annual Trelawny Yam Festival fear that last Sunday's alleged attack on a group of British journalists on a filming expedition in Accompong Town, St Elizabeth will cost them global exposure.

"It is really one of those unfortunate things and really leaves you shocked to know that, that kind of behaviour could be meted out to a visiting team that is here to give prominence and international significance to what we do. I am pretty happy it did not lead to any form of injury and that the team is here today, but the purpose for which they are here has been seriously compromised because of the incident," said Hugh Dixon, chairman of the Southern Trelawny Environment Agency (STEA) at the festival on Monday.
                        British journalists at Easter Monday's Trelawny yam festival in Hague. (Photo: Horace Hines)
                        According to STEA, organisers of the popular food festival, the team was in the island to capture features of the island's culinary culture for the powerful British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC).

"The BBC team is here to film the Trelawny Yam Festival... specifically the culinary aspect which is the feature of the festival. It has gotten some amount of international recognition and sought after by one of the largest networks in the work. When you are faced with a situation where people might have little sense of the largesse and impact of publicity for what you do and they spoil it by clearly what is a display of ignorance, what can I tell you? I cannot judge anything but wherever in the world you go and the source of the message is affected you can't do very much more but to be appalled by the behaviour."

The yam festival which was staged at a cost of $4 million, under the theme 'One Parish, One Family, One Festival', was held over two days.
                        The first day - April 11 - was staged at the Troy High School in the parish, while the second culminated at the Hague Agricultural Showgrounds on Easter Monday with a culinary yam competition showcasing professional chefs from hotels and resorts, as well as individuals and groups.