• Shock and awe!

Housing minister stuns with disclosure that J'ca has one million squatters

BY ALICIA DUNKLEY Observer staff reporter dunkleya@jamaicaobserver.com

Thursday, April 16, 2009

WATER and Housing Minister Dr Horace Chang stunned parliament yesterday with a startling disclosure that nearly one million Jamaicans, or just over a third of the population, are squatters.

Hardened politicians in the parliament were obviously shocked by the news from Chang who quickly added: "There are some 700 squatter settlements islandwide, meaning just about a third of the Jamaican population is squatting; they vary from the very small to some large ones."

Chang was making the case for his ministry before the Standing Finance Committee of Parliament on its second day of combing through the bulky 2009/10 Estimates of Expenditure at Gordon House in Kingston.

His disclosure came after questions were raised about the meagre $5.9 million allocated in the budget this year for his ministry's Squatter Management Unit.

Opposition MPs reacted with obvious shock, saying that the statistics represented a serious social problem.

"You frighten me when you tell me a third of the country which is 900,000 are squatters... I can't think of a more serious social problem than this," People's National Party (PNP) chairman and MP for North West St Catherine, Robert Pickersgill, remarked.

"The statistics you just gave is startling," colleague parliamentarian, Dr Omar Davies said, adding that the major focus of the ministry should probably be more on informal settlements.

Data was not immediately available, but politicians have for several years been blamed for either encouraging or not discouraging the increase in squatting in several constituencies, which amounts to more votes for them.

The island's population, according to the Statistical Institute of Jamaica, stood at 2,682,100 at the end of 2007 with an annual percentage growth of 0.47.

Dr Chang said Montego Bay, Jamaica's western city, had "roughly 30,000" squatter homes, with Clarendon "coming along very rapidly, in addition to sections of St Ann".

He said getting a handle on the situation had proved challenging since the Squatter Management Unit in the ministry, which is intended to address the problem of informal settlements, was at this point more of a policy unit and unable to do the necessary fieldwork with its staff of only four.

He said, however, that temporary rangers had been employed to prevent the expansion of squatting.

"We are looking at how we can adjust the policy and regulations. We are at a stage involving some kind of sustainable programme to address squatter settlements and it's going to be multifaceted - upgrading those that cannot be relocated, arresting the expansion in some places and relocation in others," he said.

"We have seen the problem and we are working at it, it's just that this year we don't have the capital to address it as we would like," Chang added.

He said that a new housing policy, which should be ready by September, would also address the issue of squatting.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/..._AND_AWE__.asp

Squatters?
    Where? ...on whose lands?

Utilities? - ..particularly water and sewage disposal?
    Personal Safety? ...as it relates to free from personal injury and danger to health?

...and then there is shelter? Type and suitability for humans...our brothers and sisters?

This does not help but at this time I am moved to

ACTION NOW!

Squatters?
      Where? ...on whose lands?

Utilities? - ..particularly water and sewage disposal?
      Personal Safety? ...as it relates to free from personal injury and danger to health?

...and then there is shelter? Type and suitability for humans...our brothers and sisters?

This does not help but at this time I am moved to

ACTION NOW!
      Yuh sounding like Omar and Wrong Jungle .. bout Action Now!!

Lazie: You need to step out of the JLP vs PNP world...at the very least, do it sometimes nuh?

Did you have any idea of the magnitute of the squatter settlements and number of squatters?

I did not!

Do you have any questions regarding same you would like answered?

I do!

...but most of all would like the problems and associated problems to be addressed? ...and if we have failed to come to grips...damn! ...we have failed to come to grips with the problems in the past, therefore do you not want us to move on solutions NOW?

I do!

Lazie: You need to step out of the JLP vs PNP world...at the very least, do it sometimes nuh?
          JLP vs PNP world ... the fact is the idiots that were there all along allowed this to get out of hand now all of a sudden unuh all astonished? Set a clowns.

Well, Lazie, the previous govt. started the inner city housing project. The JLP stopped it. Yes, we know about the delinquent home owners in the system, but the shutdown of the project was a wrong decision and not the solution.

We can delay the action for as long as we like, but I hope we are prepared to deal with the problems because of inaction.

Okay, it's Manley's fault and all that. Now what?

Yuh seit!

Cho Lazie, man?

Well, Lazie, the previous govt. started the inner city housing project. The JLP stopped it. Yes, we know about the delinquent home owners in the system, but the shutdown of the project was a wrong decision and not the solution.

We can delay the action for as long as we like, but I hope we are prepared to deal with the problems because of inaction.
                  Why was the project stopped Mosiah?

You tell me, Lazie!

..... It was however suspended by Prime Minister Bruce Golding in April 2008. Here’s why he suspended the programme:

1. At the time of its suspension, the NHT had already spent J$2B of the $5B which was projected to build 3000 houses, but less than 20% of the houses had actually been built.

2. The NHT was calculated as facing an estimated bill of J$15.5M to complete the houses; money that the Jamaican Government just doesn’t have at this time.

Prime Minister Golding later announced plans to relaunch the programme for the benefit of hundreds of Jamaica’s inner-city residents, and pleaded with beneficiaries to make their mortgage payments. But many are said to be struggling because of the general downturn in global economies and Jamaica’s economy. Many are struggling to make ends meet and when it’s a toss-up between buying food and paying a mortgage, it’s obvious which one will actually take priority.

http://www.propertiesjamaica.com/200...be-struggling/

This after the Minister of Housing and others had incorrectly lambasted the program, saying the previous govt. had simply built and given away houses with no regard for social conditions and the training of the residents.

I could say more, but it's not for public consumption and no need to raise some ugly politics that unfortunately might still exist.

what is so surprising about this?
                          How the former ministers never know this?

This after the Minister of Housing and others had incorrectly lambasted the program, saying the previous govt. had simply built and given away houses with no regard for social conditions and the training of the residents.

I could say more, but it's not for public consumption and no need to raise some ugly politics that unfortunately might still exist.

Ugly politics aside .... the reality is

1. At the time of its suspension, the NHT had already spent J$2B of the $5B which was projected to build 3000 houses, but less than 20% of the houses had actually been built.

Address that nuh or yuh gonna cupid shuffle around it?

Well, the issue would be, how exactly did they come by this over-expenditure? Do you have any idea?