Pirates vow to kill U.S., French sailors

might be so.. but still they cant live off this piracy thing. They ate some food last year dont plan on it continuing.. They might find themselves not even able to fish.

Is that what Willi is saying?!?

So who cause the non-functioning Govt there?

Tenk yuh.

If people go down to the ghetto, rob dem, dump poison on them, what you think gonna happen?

The Somali people were ASSAULTED by COMMISSION, not ommission.

They CANT already fish...that is the problem!

No outrage from dumping nuclear ABOMINATION on fellow humans.

"No care for you, no care for me...."

Just happy that I don't believe Obama will look on it the same way some of our posters are looking at it. He recognizes that issues have to be dealt with from their root causes and not just go dropping bombs all over the place. Been there, done that, and it has got the US nowhere.

Of course, that does not mean that criminals, and that's what the pirates are, will not be dealt with firmly.

You can pin it on whoever your favourite enemy is and how far you want to go back.

Who caused the state of crime and violence in the Jamaican inner city today? The drug trade? The political Dons? JLP/PNP? British Colonialism? Slavery? The Church? The Roman Empire?

Nonetheless if a gunman from West Kingston takes a fellow Jamaican hostage, I hope that todays Jamaican govt would have NO hesitation in using lethal force to free that person. And at that moment in time I would not be interested in the last 2000 years of history as to why the incident took place.

Clearly, 2 wrongs dont make a right, but it is expected that people will rebel from such treatment and that opportunist will jump in and exploit the situation.

Of course, I-man. But if we want to address the real problem we can't just go after the pirates and the gunmen. The problem will never stop that way.

And placing blame on a particular entity is all well and good, and sometimes needs to be done before we can start the healing. But more importantly, whatever healing can start irregardless of who is at fault, that healing must begin!

Absolutely! And I don't see where most forumites who have commented on this would object to that and promote a "Bomb, bomb, bomb Somalia" campaign.

I guess I kind of assume that we all get that these are very complex and difficult issues to resolve. If we were dealing with the average uninformed person that would be different but most forumites are pretty well informed about the basic history behind these situations.

And I agree that Obama is obviously well informed about these things and from all indications will not have a one-dimensional response to it. What I am happy about is that he had no hesitation in taking out THESE particular pirates. That message HAS to be sent as a starting point for dealing with the problem.

So, we are in agreeance!

YAY!

And the thread is only 25 posts long! Damn! Now what?

I think we will soon be due for our semi-annual, "Why black man can run so fast" thread.

Give Usain another 2 months for a sub 9.70 race or two.

yeah but its more than that. The entire black hawk down syndronme shows some other complicated facts. But I still think we are saying that justifies piracy.. First we need a functioning gov in Somalia. If they said hey we want the usa to do something about maritime dumping then sure.. But to hijack and murder people for ransom and claim its tax I cant support that. Mandella should have taken back to land in south africa then and run some people.. I understand it but I dont support it.

Just to make it clear, although it's not really necessary - I condemn piracy and all sorts of terrorism. The culprits must be punished, and if it means death, as was the case over the weekend, so be it.

However...

do you think the piracy money is distributed... do you think there is an end date when they will wake up and say.. no more. I think taking that us ship and holding he captain was a mistake because now they might be a coordinated effort against them that might in fact hurt them. Again I understand their situation but I dont condone the robbery thing.