• Blacks alarming rate of heart failure

A Racial Divide

Blacks experience heart failure earlier and at a far greater rate than whites.

Jesse Ellison
    NEWSWEEK
    From the magazine issue dated Apr 20, 2009
    Todd Bowen, a 42-year-old father of seven, has been visiting the In the Cut barbershop in Inglewood, Calif., every two weeks for seven years. He likes to look good, but he never expected his tonsorial routine to save his life.

In February, Bowen arrived at the shop to find not only his barbers, but also a doctor doing on-the-spot testing for hypertension and diabetes. Bowen, who is uninsured, had never been tested for either; that day he tested positive for both, with a blood-pressure reading of 160/89. "I was all shaken up when I saw where I was on the scale and where I was supposed to be," Bowen says. "I thought I was invincible, immune. If they wouldn't have been there, I wouldn't have gotten tested. I wouldn't have went out of my way. It was God's will for that to happen to me."

Undiagnosed and untreated, Bowen was at elevated risk of developing heart failure, which increasing numbers of African-American men and women are suffering at earlier and earlier ages. A study last month in The New England Journal of Medicine found that blacks under age 50 experience heart failure at 20 times the rate of whites. "To see this among people in their 30s and 40s was really quite striking to us," says Dr. Kirsten Bibbins-Domingo, codirector of the UCSF Center for Vulnerable Populations at San Francisco General Hospital, and the study's lead author. Because their weakened heart muscles can't pump enough blood, people with heart failure are often too weak to work. "It's a devastating illness whenever it happens. It comes with such a high degree of disability, it could be devastating to whole communities." Exactly why these rates are so skewed is unclear, but high rates of hypertension among young African-Americans is a major culprit. Genetics, higher sensitivity to salty diets and environmental factors are also believed to play a role.

"The finding, while absolutely breathtaking, is not surprising," says Dr. Joseph Ravenell, a hypertension specialist and professor of medicine at New York University. "The reason it's so criminal is that hypertension is very treatable, and easy to identify. However, in order to identify it and treat it requires that black men go to the doctor. Men go to the doctor less in general, but it's a particular problem among young men of color."

That's where organizations like the Black Barbershop Health Outreach Program come in. The California-based initiative, started in late 2007 by Dr. Bill Releford, has already screened more than 7,500 men around the country and plans to see another 25,000 this year alone. Last month in St. Louis, of some 550 men screened, seven had to be taken directly from the barbershop to the emergency room. And in New York's Harlem, another program, called Barbershop Quartet, is taking screening a step beyond, testing not just for hypertension and diabetes, but also for prostate and colon cancer in a mobile clinic parked in front of barbershops during the spring and summer months.

"The barbershop traditionally has been a place within the community where African-American men feel safe," explains Releford. "We can congregate, talk about politics, about our relationships. Now we're adding to the menu: we can talk about our health. Most black men, we're too cool to go to a health fair with balloons and things. It's just not going to happen." It's not just a matter of looking cool. For many, making the time to go to the doctor means a loss of wages. "When your primary concern is putting food on the table or keeping a roof over your head, you're not going to a doctor to get screened for anything," says Dr. Bert Petersen, founder of Barbershop Quartet. "Fundamentally, people have a desire to feel a sense of well-being. But if seeking health care is a problem, you'll put it off."

That was exactly the case for Bowen. "The neighborhoods I'm from in South-Central, it's rough," he says. "It's survival today instead of worrying about anything else." But since his diagnosis, Bowen has replaced soda with water, and hamburgers with salads. He's losing weight, his blood pressure is dropping and he says he no longer feels sluggish when he wakes up in the morning.

Bowen's diagnosis has turned his life around, but with childhood obesity rates on the rise, particularly in poor and minority communities, real change will require prevention, not just diagnosis. "Efforts to improve access to care and coverage are steps in the right direction," says Dr. David Williams, professor of public health and African-American studies at Harvard University. "However, those efforts alone are not going to be successful. Medical care as practiced in the United States is a repair shop. It takes care of us once we get sick. Addressing the problems we're talking about requires a new effort to prevent us from getting sick in the first place."

URL: http://www.newsweek.com/id/193482

Fried food + chinese food.

Healthy Chinese Food

Our Cheat Sheet for Navigating Everyone's Favorite Form of Takeout

By BRANDON GUARNERI
      Men's Fitness Magazine

Feb. 19, 2009—

Chinese food may be tasty, but more often than not it's an ab-killer. We asked Jim White, R.D., a Virginia-based dietician, to help us make some smarter choices.

LEARN THE LINGO

Anything steamed is obviously good, as is Jum (poached), Chu (broiled), Kow (roasted), Shu (barbecued), lightly stir-fried, dry stir-fried, or braised. Anything breaded, fried, or coated in flour is not.

USE THE RIGHT TOOLS

Chopsticks are your friend. "You're going to get less oil than you would with a fork," adds White.

GET SAUCED

Steer clear of thick gravy or sauces made from sugar, flour, or cornstarch (such as those found on General Tso's or Sweet and Sour Pork). They're loaded with corn syrup. Instead, White suggests hot mustard sauce, hoisin sauce, or oyster sauce. And no matter what, always make your order "half sauce." That way, you get half the sauce -- and half the calories -- of what they'd normally use in the dish.

GO VEGGIE

Here's an inside tip: Order your meal cooked in vegetable stock (a traditional Chinese style of cooking called "stock velveted") to reduce the calories in your dish by 150-300 and the fat by 15-30 grams. "Expect your protein to be a bit more moist and tender, with less crunch than usual," says White.

SKIP UNNECESSARY SIDES

A serving of crispy noodles can set you back as much as 200 calories and 14 grams of fat, and Lo Mein is even worse. That dark brown color in the noodles? It comes from soaking up all that oil. A large portion generally runs in the thousands of calories.

BROWN RICE vs. WHITE RICE

Fried rice is undeniably bad for you, setting you back 450 calories and 14 grams of fat. Brown rise is better, with only 215 calories and a generous 3.5 grams of fiber per cup. But even though it's trendy to avoid white rice because it's a high-glycemic carb, it's not so bad. "Calorie for calorie, they're about the same," says White. You do lose the fiber, though (only a gram in a serving), and you get hardly any vitamins at all. Still, it's definitely not as bad as it's been made out to be.
      Originally published in Men's Fitness magazine, March 2009. For more nutrition articles from Men's Fitness, visit http://www.mensfitness.com/nutrition.

Copyright © 2009 ABC News Internet Ventures

var s_account = "wdgnewabcnews,wdgasec";

+ very little exercise.

but all the pro sports boast numerous blacks!

what?!

I have seen some African Americans eat and wow! They do chow down a good helping of fried foods (chicken, fries, rice etc). Those of us who tend to copy the diet of those African Americans will be at great risks for heart problems. But hey! They are well loved by the pharmaceutical manufacturers who produce anti-lipid meds.

We need to eat better, consume less trans fat, watch the dairy intake, get yearly medical checkups, be compliant with our doctors and pharmacists instructions, eliminate stressful events, and get a regular exercise regimen going. And here is an unpopular one: keep one sex partner!
            "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

My Laboratory pardna on the 'money' once again!!!

A balanced diet, exercise and PERSONAL HABITS appear to be the key to good health .

The later--personal habits is often times overlooked.

No, its diet.

Gotta get those good oils or blammo.

Pls explain the last one.

You think trans-fats are the ONLY bad fats????

The popular press is always a day late and a $1m short.