Minister on Fed’s list

• Minister on Fed’s list

There are indications that a Cabinet minister, along with Olint boss, Davis Smith, Smith’s brother Wayne, and Jared Martinez, are being targeted, as US Federal authorities intensify investigations into allegations of money laundering and other criminal charges against the collapsed investment club.

Witnesses in the United States, Canada and Jamaica have been debriefed by federal agents, as US attorney in the middle district in Tampa, Florida, continue probing the missing millions.

Sunday Herald sources say a Grand Jury has been empanelled to hear allegations as early as next week and persons criminally implicated could be indicted.

A multi-task force, headed by Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI) Inland Revenue Service (IRS), supported by agents from Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA), Federal Aviation Agency (FAA), have been digging for evidence since late last year. The investigators have been tracking information unearthed by the National Futures Association linking the transfer by David Smith of US$100 million to a Matinez-operated finance house, I Trade Inc. Martinez’s lawyer, Robert Christie, from the Law Firm Henderson and Layman, has acknowledged the wire transfer.

The investigators are probing several issues. Did the transfer amount to money laundering, after investigators found that only three per cent of the $100 million was used for trading? They are also checking with investors to find out if donations to the ruling Jamaica Labour Party said to be between US$8 and US$11 million were sanctioned.

Newly-appointed minister without portfolio, Daryl Vaz publicly admitted earlier this year that he received donations from Olint in the period leading up to the 2007 general elections. The names of several JLP big wigs were also listed as recipients of funds from the collapsed club. According to sources, the FAA would be interested in knowing why customs in the Turks and Caicos did not check a Lear jet either owned or leased by Smith which landed on several occasions at the airport there.

The investigators have an interest in who was traveling on the aircraft and what if any cargo was carried. Documents uncovered so far indicate transactions of US$700,000 US$249,000 and US$46,000 relating to the Lear jet.

The transfer of US$50 million to JIJ Investments, another Martinez company, is being investigated. One investor, who along with other partners, had over US$20 million in the club, are among several who are co-operating with US investigators.

Smith is fighting a legal battle in Turks& Caicos where he was arrested earlier this month. Funds in banks in that country remain frozen, although unconfirmed sources say on or around May 2008 Smith attempted to wire transfer US$200 million dollars from the Turks and Caicos to Wachovia Bank in New York. This wire transfer was intercepted by Federal authorities and the funds frozen. It is said that Smith has three Wachovia bank accounts located in the States of Florida and in New York.

He also transferred money to Lake Mary Florida, where his sister resides. And it is believed that David Smith invested money belonging to OLINT investors with Sir Allan Stanford, who in turn invested money with Bernie Madoff.

http://www.sunheraldja.com/article/show/2499

There are indications that a Cabinet minister, along with Olint boss, Davis Smith, Smith’s brother Wayne, and Jared Martinez, are being targeted, as US Federal authorities intensify investigations into allegations of money laundering and other criminal charges against the collapsed investment club.

Witnesses in the United States, Canada and Jamaica have been debriefed by federal agents, as US attorney in the middle district in Tampa, Florida, continue probing the missing millions.

Sunday Herald sources say a Grand Jury has been empanelled to hear allegations as early as next week and persons criminally implicated could be indicted.

A multi-task force, headed by Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI) Inland Revenue Service (IRS), supported by agents from Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA), Federal Aviation Agency (FAA), have been digging for evidence since late last year. The investigators have been tracking information unearthed by the National Futures Association linking the transfer by David Smith of US$100 million to a Matinez-operated finance house, I Trade Inc. Martinez’s lawyer, Robert Christie, from the Law Firm Henderson and Layman, has acknowledged the wire transfer.

The investigators are probing several issues. Did the transfer amount to money laundering, after investigators found that only three per cent of the $100 million was used for trading? They are also checking with investors to find out if donations to the ruling Jamaica Labour Party said to be between US$8 and US$11 million were sanctioned.

Newly-appointed minister without portfolio, Daryl Vaz publicly admitted earlier this year that he received donations from Olint in the period leading up to the 2007 general elections. The names of several JLP big wigs were also listed as recipients of funds from the collapsed club. According to sources, the FAA would be interested in knowing why customs in the Turks and Caicos did not check a Lear jet either owned or leased by Smith which landed on several occasions at the airport there.

The investigators have an interest in who was traveling on the aircraft and what if any cargo was carried. Documents uncovered so far indicate transactions of US$700,000 US$249,000 and US$46,000 relating to the Lear jet.

The transfer of US$50 million to JIJ Investments, another Martinez company, is being investigated. One investor, who along with other partners, had over US$20 million in the club, are among several who are co-operating with US investigators.

Smith is fighting a legal battle in Turks& Caicos where he was arrested earlier this month. Funds in banks in that country remain frozen, although unconfirmed sources say on or around May 2008 Smith attempted to wire transfer US$200 million dollars from the Turks and Caicos to Wachovia Bank in New York. This wire transfer was intercepted by Federal authorities and the funds frozen. It is said that Smith has three Wachovia bank accounts located in the States of Florida and in New York.

He also transferred money to Lake Mary Florida, where his sister resides. And it is believed that David Smith invested money belonging to OLINT investors with Sir Allan Stanford, who in turn invested money with Bernie Madoff.

http://www.sunheraldja.com/article/show/2499

I thought you nuh follow rumours and only took stuff from good source?

Where am I following rumours??

My reaction was .... ok it was .

So what??

the mere fact that you respond. If anybody else respond they would be celebrating.

You consider the fact that sometimes a the same thing others doing when you accuse them of celebrating?

the mere fact that you respond. If anybody else respond they would be celebrating.

You consider the fact that sometimes a the same thing others doing when you accuse them of celebrating?
            I don't understand what you mean. You think I am celebrating or that I should be celebrating? or maybe you feel I should have no response to the post.

I merely responded . You read too much into it.... maybe you should wait until I write something before you criticize.

again you amaze me with someone who only use "VERY CREDIBLE SOURCES".

Rumour?
                Is the FBI investigating or not investigating Olint connections?

Did Vaz say he received funds from Olint or David Smith or any of Smith's associated companies?

Rumours or facts?

you have no idea if the FBI is investigating any member of the cabinet based on this article. We just have to wait and see.

Hopefully they will investigate him but my point is Don1 don't follow "rumours".

Sass, chill!!! What, yuh tink Vaz in trouble?

Relax!

If the Gleaner had reported it, would it be a rumour?

a you need fi chill. Don1 say the Jamaican news paper is no source.

This is a direct hit at Don1 who try to be above all as all he use is "credible source".

This have nothing to do with Vaz and who care if him in trouble? If him in trouble him go a PRISON.

I find it hard for someone who up yesterday stressed his source to find any form a credibility in the same source he totally dispite.

a you need fi chill. Don1 say the Jamaican news paper is no source.

This is a direct hit at Don1 who try to be above all as all he use is "credible source".

This have nothing to do with Vaz and who care if him in trouble? If him in trouble him go a PRISON.

I find it hard for someone who up yesterday stressed his source to find any form a credibility in the same source he totally dispite.
                          What a way my name a get kall kall up suh?? A suh mi powerful?

I didn't even have much of a response to the post... just ! Is that conferring credibility to the report in your opinion? ... just chill nuh? Please?

Hahaaha!

Amazing! Den suppose yuh did say sumpten!?

Assasin look like him know what a gwaan, like him hear say him hero inna trouble. Because only dat can explain his response.