• Don! mi miss your comment on this

USAID Says Corruption Has Declined in Jamaica Since 2006

Kingston(JIS):
    Saturday, March 14, 2009

PRINT THIS SEND TO A FRIEND
    Corruption has declined significantly in Jamaica since 2006, Director of the United States Agency for International Development (USAID), Dr. Karen Hilliard, has confirmed.
    In an interview with JIS News, Dr. Hilliard explained that USAID began conducting democracy surveys, every other year, in Jamaica since 2006. The first report revealed that 36 percent of Jamaicans surveyed had been victims of corruption during the previous year.
    "Now when we repeated that survey in 2008, that figure had dropped to 24 percent. So, while it dropped from one in three to one in four, when you explain it that way it doesn't sound all too impressive, but a 12 percent drop over a year and a half, or over two years, is very significant," Dr. Hilliard said.
    "I think it shows that the government and the private sector got the message when the voters here, in the last (general) election, expressed their distaste for pervasive corruption and various entities, both in the public and private sectors, are beginning to do something about it and its beginning to show results," she explained.
    The Mission Director, however, noted that despite the data showing corruption is declining; the vast majority of Jamaicans still consider the country very corrupt.
    "The perception is that the country is very corrupt and, in fact, when you look at this regionally, in Latin America and the Caribbean, the perception of corruption here in Jamaica is exceeded only by the perception of corruption in places like Haiti, Bolivia and Mexico, which we all know are very corrupt places," Dr. Hilliard noted.
    She said, relatively speaking, Jamaica is still one of the more corrupt countries in Latin America and the Caribbean, even though it is a far cry from Haiti which scores at the absolute bottom worldwide. But, the perception of corruption is declining and the actual data showed it is declining.
    " In other words, we have seen a decline in the past two years, but not everybody is perceiving it that way yet, and I think that points to the need to do a couple of things," she said.
    She suggested that the Government needed to continue to hammer away at corruption in Jamaica; and secondly, to make it clear that they are doing so, and to make sure that they let the public know how they are succeeding and where they are succeeding.
    "It is important for people to realise that the situation is far from perfect here and there is much left to be done. No one would deny that. (But), things are moving in the right direction and they are moving in the right direction not just a little bit, they are moving there significantly," she explained.
    "Part of the reason why I think people perceive corruption as so pervasive in Jamaica, is that corruption occurs in a variety of sectors," Dr. Hilliard pointed out.
    One other significant factor, she stated is that Jamaicans, between 2006 and 2008, expressed much less tolerance for corruption, while in the 2006 survey the bulk of respondents said it was pervasive and it is just the way business is done in Jamaica.
    "This past year's survey, which we haven't yet launched, showed people were much less likely to just roll over and play dead where this issue was concerned. That is good, because the more the society demands clean government and a clean business environment, the more government and private business have to respond, and that is exactly what you want to see in a democracy," she declared.
    "You want to see civil society holding government and the private sector accountable for transparency, and reporting it when they don't find it," Dr. Hilliard said.
    The Mission Director said that one of the ways that that USAID is supporting anti-corruption activities in Jamaica, is through the National Integrity Action Forum (NIAF). This forum emerged from an evaluation report that was sponsored by USAID on corruption in Jamaica.
    "The idea of the forum is to bring all the reform champions together, whether that be the Auditor General, the Contractor General, the Commissioner of Police or Customs: Bring them all together under one roof, so that they can support each other and band together to fight corruption," Dr. Hilliard said.
    She noted that the forum is tasked over the next two years to developing standard operating procedures, on how these various entities can cooperate together to detect, investigate and prosecute corruption.
    Director of the NIAF, Professor Trevor Munroe, told JIS News that the NIAF hopes to develop a "protocol" of ensuring greater collaboration between the entities in fighting corruption.
    "What we hope to achieve in that area of our work, is to find out from those who are involved in the front lines -the Chief Justice, the Director of Prosecution, Commissioner of Customs and others on - how we can reduce barriers to closer cooperation, and how can we facilitate them working together while preserving their independence in getting at the corrupt ones," Professor Munroe said.
    He also explained that the NIAF is charged with coming up with a set of standard messages to educate the public about corruption, as well as developing a consolidated schedule of legal regulatory policy reforms designed to combat corruption, including reduced opportunities for corruption.
    "We have the Corruption Prevention Act, we have a whole set of laws and we have a number of institutions. The missing link is that they are not that effective, because many of these institutions are not fully resourced and many of them are not properly supported. So what we are looking at is the kind of reforms that will make them more effective than they are now," Professor Munroe said.
    He recalled that the Government is now working on a Whistleblower Act, which will protect those who tell what they see, that is illegal or corrupt, without risking their job or their position.
    He also added that the NIAF is currently developing a set of proposals to improve legislations and institutions, through discussions with all of the persons who are engaged in the fight against corruption, "so as to lift our levels of honesty and integrity."

PRINT THIS SEND TO A FRIEND Ministry of Justice Warns the Public to Demand Official Receipts When Making Payments to Courts' Islandwide Health Ministry Conducting Four-Year Human Resource in Health Study Joint Select Committee Holds First Meeting on Review of Defamation Law JIS-TV Presents Video Documentary to the Dispute Resolution Foundation USAID Says Corruption Has Declined in Jamaica Since 2006 See more stories... Dr. Baugh says Jamaica is Pleased with Outcome of G20 Meeting in London Jamaicans Mobilising Lobby Against Air Passenger Duty African HIV/AIDS Activist to Bring Message of Hope to Jamaica Veteran Cricketer Honoured Jamaica Bobsled Team on Track for Winter Olympics EU Ambassador Hails Jamaica's Creative Sector Grange Calls for Better Visa Deal Jamaica Triumphs in Brussels Creative Industries in Jamaica and their access to international markets: The challenge for cultural policy - Hon Olivia Grange Actress Sheryl Lee Ralph to be Honoured by Team Jamaica Bickle Agricultural Rehabilitation Project Gets Boost of $260 Million $211 Million to Rehabilitate Schools Social Safety Net Programme Will Be Strengthened - PM Transport Infrastructure Programme Takes Care of Main Roads Government to Spend $18 Million on Violence Prevention this Year RGD Uncomfortable With 2% Dissatisfaction Ministry of Education to Address Absenteeism in Schools PM Announces Cabinet Changes Government Spending $55 Million on Poverty Reduction Programmes Action Taken Against Employees of Tax Services Dept. and JCF $70 Million for Rural Water Supply Project WSUC Gets $6 Million to Build New School Hundreds Attend Business Clinic Jamaicans Have a Duty to Contribute to Education - Henry Water System at Pear Tree Grove to be Commissioned into Service Tomorrow St. James Farmers to Benefit from $4 Million Grant NCU Stages 2-Day Literacy Conference Shaw Warns Against Tax Evasion Mandeville Police Youth Club's Fun Day to Support Outreach Programmes Poor Benefiting From Military's Health Fairs
    Copyright © 1

That is a step in the right direction. Lets hear from Karl the Obfuscated One.

Cho all counter productive

LOL!

USAID Says Corruption Has Declined in Jamaica Since 2006

Kingston(JIS):
        Saturday, March 14, 2009

PRINT THIS SEND TO A FRIEND
        Corruption has declined significantly in Jamaica since 2006, Director of the United States Agency for International Development (USAID), Dr. Karen Hilliard, has confirmed.
        In an interview with JIS News, Dr. Hilliard explained that USAID began conducting democracy surveys, every other year, in Jamaica since 2006. The first report revealed that 36 percent of Jamaicans surveyed had been victims of corruption during the previous year.
        "Now when we repeated that survey in 2008, that figure had dropped to 24 percent. So, while it dropped from one in three to one in four, when you explain it that way it doesn't sound all too impressive, but a 12 percent drop over a year and a half, or over two years, is very significant," Dr. Hilliard said.
        "I think it shows that the government and the private sector got the message when the voters here, in the last (general) election, expressed their distaste for pervasive corruption and various entities, both in the public and private sectors, are beginning to do something about it and its beginning to show results," she explained.
        The Mission Director, however, noted that despite the data showing corruption is declining; the vast majority of Jamaicans still consider the country very corrupt.
        "The perception is that the country is very corrupt and, in fact, when you look at this regionally, in Latin America and the Caribbean, the perception of corruption here in Jamaica is exceeded only by the perception of corruption in places like Haiti, Bolivia and Mexico, which we all know are very corrupt places," Dr. Hilliard noted.
        She said, relatively speaking, Jamaica is still one of the more corrupt countries in Latin America and the Caribbean, even though it is a far cry from Haiti which scores at the absolute bottom worldwide. But, the perception of corruption is declining and the actual data showed it is declining.
        " In other words, we have seen a decline in the past two years, but not everybody is perceiving it that way yet, and I think that points to the need to do a couple of things," she said.
        She suggested that the Government needed to continue to hammer away at corruption in Jamaica; and secondly, to make it clear that they are doing so, and to make sure that they let the public know how they are succeeding and where they are succeeding.
        "It is important for people to realise that the situation is far from perfect here and there is much left to be done. No one would deny that. (But), things are moving in the right direction and they are moving in the right direction not just a little bit, they are moving there significantly," she explained.
        "Part of the reason why I think people perceive corruption as so pervasive in Jamaica, is that corruption occurs in a variety of sectors," Dr. Hilliard pointed out.
        One other significant factor, she stated is that Jamaicans, between 2006 and 2008, expressed much less tolerance for corruption, while in the 2006 survey the bulk of respondents said it was pervasive and it is just the way business is done in Jamaica.
        "This past year's survey, which we haven't yet launched, showed people were much less likely to just roll over and play dead where this issue was concerned. That is good, because the more the society demands clean government and a clean business environment, the more government and private business have to respond, and that is exactly what you want to see in a democracy," she declared.
        "You want to see civil society holding government and the private sector accountable for transparency, and reporting it when they don't find it," Dr. Hilliard said.
        The Mission Director said that one of the ways that that USAID is supporting anti-corruption activities in Jamaica, is through the National Integrity Action Forum (NIAF). This forum emerged from an evaluation report that was sponsored by USAID on corruption in Jamaica.
        "The idea of the forum is to bring all the reform champions together, whether that be the Auditor General, the Contractor General, the Commissioner of Police or Customs: Bring them all together under one roof, so that they can support each other and band together to fight corruption," Dr. Hilliard said.
        She noted that the forum is tasked over the next two years to developing standard operating procedures, on how these various entities can cooperate together to detect, investigate and prosecute corruption.
        Director of the NIAF, Professor Trevor Munroe, told JIS News that the NIAF hopes to develop a "protocol" of ensuring greater collaboration between the entities in fighting corruption.
        "What we hope to achieve in that area of our work, is to find out from those who are involved in the front lines -the Chief Justice, the Director of Prosecution, Commissioner of Customs and others on - how we can reduce barriers to closer cooperation, and how can we facilitate them working together while preserving their independence in getting at the corrupt ones," Professor Munroe said.
        He also explained that the NIAF is charged with coming up with a set of standard messages to educate the public about corruption, as well as developing a consolidated schedule of legal regulatory policy reforms designed to combat corruption, including reduced opportunities for corruption.
        "We have the Corruption Prevention Act, we have a whole set of laws and we have a number of institutions. The missing link is that they are not that effective, because many of these institutions are not fully resourced and many of them are not properly supported. So what we are looking at is the kind of reforms that will make them more effective than they are now," Professor Munroe said.
        He recalled that the Government is now working on a Whistleblower Act, which will protect those who tell what they see, that is illegal or corrupt, without risking their job or their position.
        He also added that the NIAF is currently developing a set of proposals to improve legislations and institutions, through discussions with all of the persons who are engaged in the fight against corruption, "so as to lift our levels of honesty and integrity."

PRINT THIS SEND TO A FRIEND Ministry of Justice Warns the Public to Demand Official Receipts When Making Payments to Courts' Islandwide Health Ministry Conducting Four-Year Human Resource in Health Study Joint Select Committee Holds First Meeting on Review of Defamation Law JIS-TV Presents Video Documentary to the Dispute Resolution Foundation USAID Says Corruption Has Declined in Jamaica Since 2006 See more stories... Dr. Baugh says Jamaica is Pleased with Outcome of G20 Meeting in London Jamaicans Mobilising Lobby Against Air Passenger Duty African HIV/AIDS Activist to Bring Message of Hope to Jamaica Veteran Cricketer Honoured Jamaica Bobsled Team on Track for Winter Olympics EU Ambassador Hails Jamaica's Creative Sector Grange Calls for Better Visa Deal Jamaica Triumphs in Brussels Creative Industries in Jamaica and their access to international markets: The challenge for cultural policy - Hon Olivia Grange Actress Sheryl Lee Ralph to be Honoured by Team Jamaica Bickle Agricultural Rehabilitation Project Gets Boost of $260 Million $211 Million to Rehabilitate Schools Social Safety Net Programme Will Be Strengthened - PM Transport Infrastructure Programme Takes Care of Main Roads Government to Spend $18 Million on Violence Prevention this Year RGD Uncomfortable With 2% Dissatisfaction Ministry of Education to Address Absenteeism in Schools PM Announces Cabinet Changes Government Spending $55 Million on Poverty Reduction Programmes Action Taken Against Employees of Tax Services Dept. and JCF $70 Million for Rural Water Supply Project WSUC Gets $6 Million to Build New School Hundreds Attend Business Clinic Jamaicans Have a Duty to Contribute to Education - Henry Water System at Pear Tree Grove to be Commissioned into Service Tomorrow St. James Farmers to Benefit from $4 Million Grant NCU Stages 2-Day Literacy Conference Shaw Warns Against Tax Evasion Mandeville Police Youth Club's Fun Day to Support Outreach Programmes Poor Benefiting From Military's Health Fairs
        Copyright © 1
        We nice!!!!

If the US seh suh.. ah mus suh it guh!!

I recall Gamma posting it .. yet jokers all acted as if they didn't see it. Anyway Sass .. yuh must play fair.

you a di biggest joka pon the forum. For once I expected some serious analyst from you or did not expect it as it don't support your agenda?

My opinion is even if it has improved it has not improved enough but you certainly are not independent as you claim.

Don1 if USAID is not a good source then who is?

You said you don't listen politician, It seems you don't trust sources because they are US agencies so what sources you trust? Where you get your sources from?

Don1 if USAID is not a good source then who is?

You said you don't listen politician, It seems you don't trust sources because they are US agencies so what sources you trust? Where you get your sources from?
                I don't know if they are a good source on this. Not familiar with their methodolgy... so can't have a definitive opinion.

Also don't know the exact history of their studies and what their trend lines show over time.

oh... just saw that they started this in 2006 and this is the 2nd survey....
                Last edited by Don1; April 10, 2009, 02:39 PM.

you a di biggest joka pon the forum. For once I expected some serious analyst from you or did not expect it as it don't support your agenda?

My opinion is even if it has improved it has not improved enough but you certainly are not independent as you claim.
                  For once you expected serious analysis? I believe I post more independent sources to back my opinions than virtually anyone.

I don't know the US methodolgy so can't comment... other than to say it is interesting.

Corruption is not easy to track.... people's perception may or may not correspond to reality... similar to consumer or business confidence surveys.

so I'm not excited.... sorry.

However I will say (again!!) it was important and refreshing that the PNP lost power... after 18 years in power it is almost inevitable that any party would be too comfortable and subject to corruption or project a corrupt, slothful image.

So a reduction in public perception of corruption is quite possible... even likely.
                  Last edited by Don1; April 10, 2009, 02:46 PM.

Only source I know you posted was from the Caribbean Tourism Organization. I have no other credible source that you are talking about.

Most people would accept the USAID as a credible source. Corruption is not easily tracked but the only agencies I know who track it in Ja are Transparancy international who still believe corruption is on the rise and US AID who think it is falling. I don't see anything to the celebrating.

Only source I know you posted was from the Caribbean Tourism Organization. I have no other credible source that you are talking about.

Most people would accept the USAID as a credible source. Corruption is not easily tracked but the only agencies I know who track it in Ja are Transparancy international who still believe corruption is on the rise and US AID who think it is falling. I don't see anything to the celebrating.
                      If the CTO study is the only independent or credible source you've seen me post you have a very short memory.

So if Transparency Intl. thinks corruption is rising and USAID says it's falling... who does one believe? I guess that depends on partisan leaning.

This just illustrates the difficulty with opinion surveys.... and validates my lack of a definitive opinion.... thanks for helping me prove my point.

I am not helping you prove your point, I am just open to the different studies. There can be major differences for various reasons.

1)the time each study was taken.
                        2)how they were done

As Jesse Jackson said however "keep hope alive"

The fact is within the next two years we will have a very clear picture which is right. In 2006 both were saying we are one of the most corrupted country in the world.

I am not helping you prove your point, I am just open to the different studies. There can be major differences for various reasons.

1)the time each study was taken.
                          2)how they were done

As Jesse Jackson said however "keep hope alive"

The fact is within the next two years we will have a very clear picture which is right. In 2006 both were saying we are one of the most corrupted country in the world.

Unfortunately the studies are both suggesting that we are still a highly corrupt society... with one even indicating (as you posted) that corruption is still increasing.

But.. let's keep hope alive.

"Unfortunately the studies are both suggesting that we are still a highly corrupt society"

That is the sad part. I would like to wake up and see it all change but work have to be done. Let us hope Bruce is up to the job, if not hopefully the PNP can put up a leader with some credibility in fighting corruption, not one that supports every member of their party that is accused of corruption. I am yet to hear PJ or Portia not support someone accused of corruption or inferior performance.

"Unfortunately the studies are both suggesting that we are still a highly corrupt society"

That is the sad part. I would like to wake up and see it all change but work have to be done. Let us hope Bruce is up to the job, if not hopefully the PNP can put up a leader with some credibility in fighting corruption, not one that supports every member of their party that is accused of corruption. I am yet to hear PJ or Portia not support someone accused of corruption or inferior performance.
                              Don't hold your breath on either hope.. Patterson/Portia or Golding.... just my humble advice.