• NDM calls for commission of enquiry into Virgin Atlantic dea

NDM calls for commission of enquiry into Virgin Atlantic deal

Jamaica Observer

Posted: 4/9/2009 2:30:44 PM

The National Democratic Movement (NDM) is demanding a commission of enquiry into the sale of the Air Jamaica slots to Virgin Atlantic to determine if any laws of Jamaica or international laws were broken.

The NDM said in a news release today that it believes that the recent report released by Contractor General Greg Christie on the sale is of serious national concern and should not only be debated in Parliament, but should be investigated further.

“The NDM further calls on the Government to formally request of the government of Great Britain an investigation by Scotland Yard’s Serious Fraud Investigation Unit to determine if any British or international laws were broken,” the release said.

The NDM is also calling on Opposition leader Portia Simpson Miller to immediately remove Dr Omar Davies as the spokesman for finance, “in view of the very serious accusations of impropriety, misconduct and deceit made by the Contractor General in both the report to Parliament and the addendum to the report, until these matters have been properly investigated”.

ummm .. more work fi Omar's chief defender. Anybody see Don1?

now if the most honourable opposition leader did that, it would be a welcome surprise. but I suppose she is not politically naive........you know....like me......or the JLP administration.

ummm .. more work fi Omar's chief defender. Anybody see Don1?
        Mi deh ya!!!

btw Omar is now an irrelevance in Opposition and nothing will come of this latest theater... we will spend time on this political point scoring while crime mushrooms, jobs continue to be shed and Jamaica's present & future remains desperate... but politricks is a must!... it makes the sycophants happy!
        Last edited by Don1; April 9, 2009, 07:55 PM.

I agree nothing will come of it, but these politicians must be exposed for what they are doing in the interest of Jamaica.

I SUPPORT THE CG 1000%

I agree nothing will come of it, but these politicians must be exposed for what they are doing in the interest of Jamaica.

I SUPPORT THE CG 1000%
            Glad that at least one person agrees with me. I have nothing against the CG.... nor do I celebrate Davies.... he is now an irrelevance.

But political point scoring will not get Jamaica anywhere either.... we are in extreme crisis and should concentrate on real issues of survival.

"Political point scoring"

LOL !

The contractor general is on a mission of political point scoring ???

Which side him scoring points for ?

Unchecked corruption will not get Jamaica anywhere... wi know yuh would like to sweep tings undah di rug.. the past is the past...

Wait.. wi in extreme crisis ? What a way yuh use it when it suit yuh !

LOL !! WHOIEEE !!

does that mean we should just forget what happened in the immediate past?

If is not exposed and people called out then how do expect a better future?

There is a common saying in Ja "boss a so di thing set" or "a so the thing run".

If the CG, The PM and others don't set the example, how is the mindset going to change?

"Political point scoring"

LOL !

The contractor general is on a mission of political point scoring ???

Which side him scoring points for ?

Unchecked corruption will not get Jamaica anywhere... wi know yuh would like to sweep tings undah di rug.. the past is the past...

Wait.. wi in extreme crisis ? What a way yuh use it when it suit yuh !

LOL !! WHOIEEE !!
                  Rear Admiral....Not the Contractor General... sycophants like you and similar types on the PNP side specialize in political point scoring.

Instead you people should specialize in trying to turn the country from the present destructive course.... and try to get your political opponents to cooperate with you in the national interest.

All the JLP is doing is continuing much of the nonsense perpetrated by the PNP (and adding your own nonsense) then spending energy blaming them for your and the country's lack of progress.

That's stupidity personified.

does that mean we should just forget what happened in the immediate past?

If is not exposed and people called out then how do expect a better future?

There is a common saying in Ja "boss a so di thing set" or "a so the thing run".

If the CG, The PM and others don't set the example, how is the mindset going to change?
                    I have nothing against the CG or his investigations... just find the inordinate political attention on it to be counterproductive.

... even i'm drawn into it to ************************!

"and try to get your political opponents to cooperate with you in the national interest."

you really think this is possible? Up to now the PNP can't vote on a crime bill they agree in principle with Bruce Golding on. They can't vote yes or no.

Same thing in America where the Republicans who talk about unity failed to give Obama support on his stimilus package. In England the Tories are laying it into labour and taking advantage of a weak economy.

Don't look for too much support from these party when stuff like cheap fertilizer can become a national issue even without any proof or testing on the part of the opposition, when they fail to even come public and address the global crisis but just waiting for the government to fall.

It maybe but it deserve to be in the public domain, not under the rug as we usually do in Jamaica.

Part of the reason it is still in the publid domain is the former finance Minister and board insisting they have done nothing wrong.

To their credit the JLP is yet to address the finding.

Rear Admiral....Not the Contractor General... sycophants like you and similar types on the PNP side specialize in political point scoring.

Instead you people should specialize in trying to turn the country from the present destructive course.... and try to get your political opponents to cooperate with you in the national interest.

All the JLP is doing is continuing much of the nonsense perpetrated by the PNP (and adding your own nonsense) then spending energy blaming them for your and the country's lack of progress.

That's stupidity personified.
                          And how does leaving corruption unchecked help in turning the country from this destructive course you describe?

I am intrigued to see just how disingenuous or intrepid political/social/economic commentator Mr. Don can get?

LOL!!

"and try to get your political opponents to cooperate with you in the national interest."

you really think this is possible? Up to now the PNP can't vote on a crime bill they agree in principle with Bruce Golding on. They can't vote yes or no.

Same thing in America where the Republicans who talk about unity failed to give Obama support on his stimilus package. In England the Tories are laying it into labour and taking advantage of a weak economy.

Don't look for too much support from these party when stuff like cheap fertilizer can become a national issue even without any proof or testing on the part of the opposition, when they fail to even come public and address the global crisis but just waiting for the government to fall.
                            You see the problem only on one side.... that is your political orientation speaking.

I see both sides putting their political gamesmanship above the national interest.

The PNP plays games with dirty fertilizer, citizenship etc and the JLP plays games with allegations of past corruption, incompetence etc every chance they get... seems to be mainly distracting political point scoring in my opinion.

This stuff from both infantile sides poisons the political atmosphere and negates the chances of developing the social contract which is the ONLY hope for Jamaica's progress.

Who pays for this wasted energy and missed opportunities at the end of the day?? Jamaica does.

Neither of these two parties or their misleaders can cut it.... Jamaica cannot and will not progress significantly under the political system and habits we currently operate.

nuff said.

"The PNP plays games with dirty fertilizer, citizenship etc and the JLP plays games with allegations of past corruption, incompetence etc every chance they get... seems to be mainly distracting political point scoring in my opinion."

Suh the CG is apart of the JLP now? Yuh nuh get dizzy with all this spinning?