Teachers up in arms over wage freeze announcement

• Teachers up in arms over wage freeze announcement

The Government's announcement of a wage freeze is not going down well with public sector teachers, who are warning that there could be disruption in the classroom, when the summer term begins in two weeks.

The Jamaica Teachers' Association (JTA) is stepping up its bid to get the Government to pay over money which it says is owed to members for three years.

In addition some members are opposed to salaries being frozen along with other Government-paid employees.

Members of the JTA Executive in Clarendon discussed the matter Tuesday during their monthly meeting at the May Pen Primary School.

The meeting was attended by the President-Elect of the JTA, Michael Stewart.

The members insisted that they were not prepared to take a wage freeze and will not accept Government bonds in lieu of payment.

Speaking with RJR News following the meeting Mr. Stewart said he hoped good sense will prevail on the part of the Government.

However, he said the JTA cannot guarantee normality during the next school term if there is no positive word from the administration.

"We would want good sense to prevail. We would not want to think of any disruption of the education system at this time because we are on a path of growth,"

"But to say that if the teachers are not appeased, there is no guarantee of normality in the system. We don't know what will transpire when schools open on the 20th," said Mr. Stewart.

Prime Minister Bruce Golding last weekend confirmed that public sector workers would have to forgo a salary increase this financial year due to Budgetary constraints.

The administration is insisting that it cannot afford the $38 billion increase in the wage bill.

PM to clear the air on wage freeze controversy

The Prime Minister is expected to try and clear the air on Wednesday following claims by trade union leaders that he acted prematurely in announcing the public sector wage freeze.

Mr. Golding is scheduled to address the weekly post cabinet press briefing on Wednesday morning.

During his address to the nation on Sunday Mr. Golding said the freeze took effect on April 1.

But trade unions representing Government-paid workers were reportedly caught off guard by the announcement as they were still in discussion with the Ministry of Finance on the matter and had not consulted their members.

It is reported that the salary freeze was one of several proposals being looked at to contain the public sector wage bill.

Bruce, don't beat round the bush. Mek dem know ... salary freeze ... who strike can guh home.

This thing bout asking MPs fi tek a salary nuh mek it ... tell dem it affi cut. Dem either tek it or leave it.

Lazie, throughout the course of a day, what exactly does the PM spend out of his monthly paycheck?

It simple, they can get militant and demand their earned increases then watch thousands of their "fellow" worker get axed or they can be realistic.

Still looking for the answer to my question.

Anyway, I know I'm not going to get one.

I can't imagine one thing the PM has to spend his money on. Not food, not rent, not utility bills, not anything. A cut in his salary is more symbolic than you can ever imagine.

A cut in Sharon Hay's Webster's salary however, is s different thing. I think she is being a little combative with her statement, but...

And this talk about mandating the cut...Lazie, talk sense!

Still looking for the answer to my question.

Anyway, I know I'm not going to get one.

I can't imagine one thing the PM has to spend his money on. Not food, not rent, not utility bills, not anything. A cut in his salary is more symbolic than you can ever imagine.

A cut in Sharon Hay's Webster's salary however, is s different thing. I think she is being a little combative with her statement, but...

And this talk about mandating the cut...Lazie, talk sense!
              So whats the solution then? Send home 20,000+ workers? Revenue is down, and based on how things stay I expect it to keep in the same direction. Its one thing or the other. How many people are gonna willingly want to cut their pay? It will have be mandated .. and thats the reality.

Well.. largest Economic World Crisis since depression, if Bruce nuh tek the opportunity to reduce the size of the civil service to efficient, rational numbers.. mi nuh know when it gwine happen...

Lazie, do you really believe that a cut in salary for the MPs, mandated or not, is going to save jobs?

A yes or no will do. Thanks!

Lazie, do you really believe that a cut in salary for the MPs, mandated or not, is going to save jobs?

A yes or no will do. Thanks!
                    I wasn't talking MPs alone bossman, I was talking across the board for public sector workers .... wha yuh smoking?

Well.. largest Economic World Crisis since depression, if Bruce nuh tek the opportunity to reduce the size of the civil service to efficient, rational numbers.. mi nuh know when it gwine happen...
                      I for one thought they would have started that process already.

not sharing my smoke with you, Lazie.

So, who else suppose to take a salary cut, Lazie? All public sector workers?

(Save the barbs. Get serious.)

not sharing my smoke with you, Lazie.

So, who else suppose to take a salary cut, Lazie? All public sector workers?

(Save the barbs. Get serious.)
                          Salary freeze on teachers, police, nurses, correctional officers etc .... MPs take a cut! People in charge of agencies such as Joan Gordon Wembly should also tek a pay cut.

Again I ask, stupidly, how many jobs do you think will get saved because of these salary cuts?

The govt. (incl. the other one) should have set the example long ago by not bringing in so many SUV's for their ministers. The attendant costs for such a luxury are enormous. Of course, that by itself may not save anyone's job, but it would be part of a more sensible policy to have than to live beyond our means and now come ask people fi cut dem salary.

JTA demands retro payment

The Jamaica Teachers Association (JTA) is reporting that some of its members are being de-registered from tertiary institutions because they have not paid their fees.

JTA president-elect Michael Stewart says many teachers are also facing serious mortgage arrears.

He says the teachers have been awaiting their retroactive salary payments under their 2007 heads of agreement with the Government

According to Mr Stewart, the Government is yet to honour the commitment to pay the 15 percent increase that was expected in December.

The Government had reportedly proposed to pay the teachers through bonds but the JTA rejected the suggestion.

The Association is insisting that it will only accept cash payments.

Mr Stewart says the JTA is aware of the current economic crunch, but he believes that the money had been put aside for the increase in teachers’ salaries.