This is Ja's intellectual of the 70s

• This is Ja's intellectual of the 70s

Yes my people none other than Robert Nesta marley O.M.

His songs are laced with realities of the time and poetry (play on words)but it will not be studied in our secondary schools.

Example:
    CONCRETE JUNGLE

No sun will shine in my day today
    The high yellow moon won't come out to play
    I said darkness has covered my light
    And the stage my day into night
    Where is the love to be found
    Won't someone tell me
    Cause life must be somewhere to be found
    Instead of concrete jungle
    Where the living is harder

Concrete jungle
    Man you got to do your best
    No chains around my feet
    But I'm not free
    I know I am bound here in captivity
    yeh-I've never known the happiness
    I've never known what sweet caress is
    Still-I'll be always laughing like a clown
    Won't somebody help me 'cause
    I've got to pick myself from off the ground
    In this ya concrete jungle
    I said what do you got for me now
    Concrete jungle ah won't you let me be no

Once we can sit in the Kcs, Munros, Georges, JCs, Cornwalls et al (also UWI and CAST) and appreciate the genius of Bob's work; our minds will be open. We can then move to see Tappa's genius in scoring two goals on the world stage, in order for us not to hang our heads in shame. We can also be able to call Tappa, Technical Director. We will see ourselves in a
    different light. We will then be able to produce engineers that can fix flat bridge and build massive highways without looking yonder for help and massive economic aid.

Last but not least we will be able to see Nanny P as a true political leader.

Done talk

Of the 70's but still relevant today... hopefully a day will come when the poetry will have to be put in a context to be understood...right now it's the same reality.

Yes my people none other than Robert Nesta marley O.M.

His songs are laced with realities of the time and poetry (play on words)but it will not be studied in our secondary schools.

Example:
      CONCRETE JUNGLE

No sun will shine in my day today
      The high yellow moon won't come out to play
      I said darkness has covered my light
      And the stage my day into night
      Where is the love to be found
      Won't someone tell me
      Cause life must be somewhere to be found
      Instead of concrete jungle
      Where the living is harder

Concrete jungle
      Man you got to do your best
      No chains around my feet
      But I'm not free
      I know I am bound here in captivity
      yeh-I've never known the happiness
      I've never known what sweet caress is
      Still-I'll be always laughing like a clown
      Won't somebody help me 'cause
      I've got to pick myself from off the ground
      In this ya concrete jungle
      I said what do you got for me now
      Concrete jungle ah won't you let me be no

Once we can sit in the Kcs, Munros, Georges, JCs, Cornwalls et al (also UWI and CAST) and appreciate the genius of Bob's work; our minds will be open. We can then move to see Tappa's genius in scoring two goals on the world stage, in order for us not to hang our heads in shame. We can also be able to call Tappa, Technical Director. We will see ourselves in a
      different light. We will then be able to produce engineers that can fix flat bridge and build massive highways without looking yonder for help and massive economic aid.

Last but not least we will be able to see Nanny P as a true political leader.

Done talk
      Good Mr. Jawge. I think it was ' changed my day into night' not staged though. Why stop at the 70's. Memba dis: I can't tell the woman from the man, caused they dressed in the same pollution. Gwan DJ Jawge.

Here is another Brickie may want to consider nursery rhyme.

I Know: Bob Marley

When the race gets hard to run,
        It means you just can't take the pace.
        When it's time to have your fun,
        You find the tears run on down through your face,
        Then you stop and think a little:
        Are you the victim of the system?
        Anyday now they gon' let you down;
        Remember, Natty will be there
        To see you through.
        (I) And ain't it good to know (know) now:
        Jah will be waiting there.
        (I) Ain't it doggone good to
        know (know) , you all;
        Wait in Summer, wait in Spring,
        Wait in Autumn, Winter thing,
        (Tribe) goes up, all the tribe goes down:
        Bring my children from the end of d'earth

Many a time I sit and wonder why
        This race so - so very hard to run,
        Then I say to my soul: take courage,
        Battle to be won,
        Like a ship that's tossed and driven,
        Battered by the angry sea, yea-eah!
        Say the tide of time was raging;
        Don't let the fury fall on me, no, no!
        (I) 'Cause I know (know) -know:
        Jah will be waiting there;
        (I) Ain't it good to know (know) now:
        Wo-oo-o-oo-o! Ooh, yeah!
        Lost and found, who speak I give;
        Speak I give, lost and found.
        Lost and found, who speak I give.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

yuh spoil everything wid di portia reference....what a shame.

Here is another Brickie may want to consider nursery rhyme.

I Know: Bob Marley

When the race gets hard to run,
            It means you just can't take the pace.
            When it's time to have your fun,
            You find the tears run on down through your face,
            Then you stop and think a little:
            Are you the victim of the system?
            Anyday now they gon' let you down;
            Remember, Natty will be there
            To see you through.
            (I) And ain't it good to know (know) now:
            (I) Ain't it doggone good to
            know (know) , you all;
            Wait in Summer, wait in Spring,
            Wait in Autumn, Winter thing,
            (Tribe) goes up, all the tribe goes down:
            Bring my children from the end of d'earth

Many a time I sit and wonder why
            This race so - so very hard to run,
            Then I say to my soul: take courage,
            Battle to be won,
            Like a ship that's tossed and driven,
            Battered by the angry sea, yea-eah!
            Say the tide of time was raging;
            Don't let the fury fall on me, no, no!
            (I) 'Cause I know (know) -know:
            Jah will be waiting there;
            (I) Ain't it good to know (know) now:
            Wo-oo-o-oo-o! Ooh, yeah!
            Speak I give, lost and found.
            Lost and found, who speak I give.
            Wicked, I have bredrin who feels that was Bob's statement on his eminent passing: I know Jah will be waiting there.

LOL!!!LOL!!!LO EFFING L!!!!!!!

good one Jawge.......I have not laughed so hard in a long time.......

Thanks for your contribution

That's exactly my point.

to spoil it? oh...ok...mah bad!

Where is the humour?