Tainted sale

UK airlines start to value landing slots as assets on balance sheetsPublished: 12/5/08

Deloitte
    Public Relations
    +44 (0) 20 7303 4820

Deloitte is expecting that certain UK airlines will start to value all of their landing slots as assets on their balance sheet annual results.
    Commenting on the move, Graham Pickett, aviation partner at Deloitte said: “With such high demand for landing slots, many airlines have realised the slots they hold are very valuable. For the most part2, these are not included as assets on an airline’s balance sheet. It is important that this value is fairly recognised so that airlines have the potential to use them as security against borrowings.”
    Deloitte has calculated that in Europe the most valuable landing slots are those at London Heathrow, followed by Charles de Gaulle, Gatwick and Frankfurt. Based on a recent transaction the implied value of a pair of peak time slots at London Heathrow is currently worth between £25 and £30 million3. The value of slots varies primarily depending on the time of day they are for.
    Whilst EU regulations are in place to ensure landing slots are allocated fairly, they have generally failed to significantly erode the presence of the ‘national flag’ carrier airlines at key airports.
    At Heathrow, for example, this summer there are a total of 9,562 slots available. 99% of these are held by legacy/ flag carrier airlines - those already established at the airport. 41% of Heathrow slots are held by British Airways. BMI hold a further 11% and Virgin Atlantic hold 3%. Deloitte’s research shows that just 1.0% of slots are available for allocation to new entrants and many of these are unusable because of their timing or other factors.
    With the introduction of the Open Skies Agreement and limited scope to increase capacity at Heathrow and Gatwick airports, in particular, due to air traffic congestion, Deloitte expects the value of landing slots to remain high.
    Graham Pickett said: “The Open Skies agreement should lead to greater demand between airlines for landing slots at Heathrow. London Heathrow is seen as the ‘Crown Jewel’ for landing slots. Where previously just four airlines could operate flights from Heathrow to the US, the Open Skies agreement opens the market to new entrants and we expect other airlines to look to acquire slots here.
    “However, airlines keen to rival the incumbent players may find it difficult to secure landing slots. Trading in slots, a bit of a grey area in terms of regulation, can be an extremely expensive business. There could, however, be the potential for airlines to use landing slots as security against borrowings if they can now recognise them all on balance sheet at valuation. It will be interesting to see what position airlines finally take and how banks regard such assets over the coming months.”
    For further information, read our executive summary and download our report Open skies - Is it time to recognise valuable airport slots on balance sheet?
    Ends
    Notes to editor
    1. A slot is the right to land or take-off from an airport including having access to the airport terminal for the passengers and crew. Often industry commentators refer to pairs of slots. Pairs refer to a take off and a landing at a particular airport at a particular time of day.
    2. If an airline purchases a new landing slot from another airline, then it will be capitalised on the balance sheet. However, the value of legacy slots already owned by the airlines has not, until now, been recognised.
    3. Value of Heathrow slots – the value of £25-30 million is based on analysis of slot purchases in the last six months, such as Continental Airline who paid US$209m for four pairs of take-off and landing slots to GB Airways, Air France and Alitalia. Further examples of Heathrow slot sales are available in Deloitte’s client report.
    About Deloitte
    In this press release references to Deloitte are references to Deloitte & Touche LLP which is among the country’s leading professional services firms, providing audit, tax, consulting and corporate finance services. Deloitte & Touche LLP is the United Kingdom member firm of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu (‘DTT’), a Swiss Verein whose member firms are separate and independent legal entities. Neither DTT nor any of its member firms has any liability for each other’s omissions. Services are provided by member firms or their subsidiaries and not by DTT. Deloitte & Touche LLP is authorised and regulated by the Financial Services Authority. The information contained in this press release is correct at the time of going to press.

Contact us for more information
    Good start Assasin!! Internet to the rescue!

This article illustrates the point I want to make.

Slots combine terminal gate space with a time. The more desirable slots are timed for departures and arrivals in "prime" hours. So slots have a widely variable value at the same airport depending on time.

The fact is that one pair of slots may be valued at $30m at Heathrow... another pair of slots may have zero or no market value because the time is awkward.

If our slots were more valuable... that would have been reflected in the competing BA bid. Those two airlines are in mortal combat.

As they apparently were not more valuable BA did not bid more.

End of story.

Read my post below and you will see it say pretty much the same thing I said..

I posted it in at the bottom so you wouldn't miss it.
      It does not say what you claim.

You need a little more discernment.

I think you mean, the PNP had achieved new depths in corruption however their incompetence even exceeded that..

LOL !!!

WOIEEE !

It took the PNP 18 years to dig that hole.. you are claiming the JLP has achieved that in 18 months ????

Ah si yuh not even pretending anymore...

LOL !

Stop spining.

I said the reason Heathrow is in demand is because it is one of the world's busiest airport and there are no available slot to buy.

I said all analayst I have read said it value more than what it is sold for and I just found one that pretty said the same thing. It is not from one analysts or two that made that assessment.

"another pair of slots may have zero or no market value because the time is awkward."

The biggest factor that that determine the price of the slot is the prize value of Heathrow airport. What is your point? that is was sold for value?
          If is even inna the bathroom at Heathrow the slot is, it is very valuable so your point is muted.

I think you mean, the PNP had achieved new depths in corruption however their incompetence even exceeded that..

LOL !!!

WOIEEE !

It took the PNP 18 years to dig that hole.. you are claiming the JLP has achieved that in 18 months ????

Ah si yuh not even pretending anymore...

LOL !
            Chuckie's baaaccckkk!!!

Stop spining.

I said the reason Heathrow is in demand is because it is one of the world's busiest airport and there are no available slot to buy.

I said all analayst I have read said it value more than what it is sold for and I just found one that pretty said the same thing. It is not from one analysts or two that made that assessment.

"another pair of slots may have zero or no market value because the time is awkward."

The biggest factor that that determine the price of the slot is the prize value of Heathrow airport. What is your point? that is was sold for value?
              If is even inna the bathroom at Heathrow the slot is, it is very valuable so your point is muted.
              All the analysts??

Assasin... the fact is that airline slots within the same airport have different market values based largely on time and the airport services available to the allotted space. Do you understand this?

The question to answer is why did BA not bid more for the slots if they were so valuable? That's how markets work.

Analysts don't determine value... the market does.

Neither you nor I nor any so called analyst whose opinions you read can determine the true market value of airport slots absent price signals from equivalent slots.

Clearly the $30-40m valued slots referenced are not equivalent to Air Jamaica's..... if they were... at least one of the competing bids from those two fierce competitors would have reflected that valuation.
              Last edited by Don1; April 7, 2009, 11:09 AM.

They seem like they trying hard.

Why is that so hard to understand?

Could limit be set on the bid value, because that is clearly what Assasin is suggesting.

The fact is you said the CG report didn't say it value you more and I said that is pretty much not true. Did you say that or not say that?

Airline slot value is based on where they are situated but all slots at Heathrow is valuabe because the airport is busy and to many airline it is a prize asset.

Is BA and Virgin the only airline we could have sold it too? That is not how the market works, there are many other airlines who would want a slot at Heathrow.

The market determine the value and as stated by the articles above it is value between 20-35 million in 2008. It would have value less in 2007 but not 10 million less.

Who determine the real value? A minister who talking directly with one party and make the decision without going through the right proceedure only to find that slots in the same airports are sold for record numbers a few months later?

Again who determine the price, it is obvious Omar didn't make the market determine the price by his intervention.

Why is that so hard to understand?

Could limit be set on the bid value, because that is clearly what Assasin is suggesting.
                      Assasin is busy following "analysts" reported in the media that support his preconceived ideas.

that is not what I am suggesting. I am not even suggesting anything.

I am answering Don1 misinformation that the CG never commented on the price of the sale which he did.

I see Mosiah falling for the spin ... on Real Business this morning Comrade Thwaites asked Omar if they could have received more money for the slots and Omar's reponse was yes, if we didn't rush the deal. Maybe Omar need to hire Don1 to fool others ... see him fooling Mosiah already.

The CG's report mentioned the sale of other slots .. I guess like Sass unuh gonna accuse him of not knowing the value of the slots.

oh ?

How so ?

Sounds like yuh now fooling yourself..

I truly enjoy the repeat performance of Don1 inserting his foot in his mouth.. everytime you think it cannot get better he exceeds himself..

LOL !!

The poor chap is trying so hard to defend the indefensible.. his common tactic is to challenge the "industry knowledge" of people when all that is required is BASIC common sense and an understanding of just how crooked the PNP had become over their 18 year reign.. they took on the mantle of Gods they were in so long...Wannah be Gods tend to get very careless...and their minions have to rush to their defense constantly.. poor Don1...

The man argue voluminously that the sale was what we could get and 'we' just don't understand the intricacies of slot valuation.. rah, rah rah, only for Omar HIMSELF to refute it (and in a most silly manner).. "if we did'nt RUSH the deal.."

What dat mean ??? What was the rush exactly ?? Airline Slots were in danger of becoming obsolete ?

LOL !! WHOIEEE !

Attempting to defending the indefensible invariably ends in embarassment...

Don1 clearly have nuh shame..

"The poor chap is trying so hard to defend the indefensible"

Why did you use that line Maudib? I was waiting to see if the man that loves to use the line "defending the indefensible" would use it in Don1's case .... I guess he won't now.