Tainted sale

Suh the Vascianne case is the same as interfering with the operations of the JCF? Is that another attempt at humor?

Wait, you're the one who came here spinning for Omar when yuh client deh elsewhere making you look like yuh have no clue what yuh saying .. yet you question me? Gwaan stuggle removing yuh foot from yuh mouth. Next time get the facts before jumping to anyone's defense.
    Vascianne case demonstrates reality... politicians routinely interfere where they should not.

Golding is no different from any other Jamaican politician... although he is clearly special to you.

Vascianne case demonstrates reality... politicians routinely interfere where they should not.

Golding is no different from any other Jamaican politician... although he is clearly special to you.
      .... strange ... didn't a former member of the psc agree with the position of the PM? Time yuh stop being petty now. Omar left yuh hanging .. just hold a corner.

you are grabbing at straws. You are an analyst in Sugar now? How do you know it was too low?

You notice I never commented on the price of the sugar valuation as I had no idea. At least there was no ministerial intervention. It was open to the public but this was just between two companies.

you are grabbing at straws. You are an analyst in Sugar now? How do you know it was too low?

You notice I never commented on the price of the sugar valuation as I had no idea. At least there was no ministerial intervention. It was open to the public but this was just between two companies.
          I didn't conclude that it was low. I merely stated correctly that there was discussion on it being low.... and at the time your comment was that the price was justified.

You are certain that the slot bidding was solely between 2 companies... or were they 2 finalists from a list of applicants.. as in most bids?

.... strange ... didn't a former member of the psc agree with the position of the PM? Time yuh stop being petty now. Omar left yuh hanging .. just hold a corner.
            Left me hanging? Who cares about Omar?? Not me.

I leave it to you to parrot politicians and their self serving statements... I see them all as essentially the same.... trying their best to feed their tribe.

Yuh can hug up tician pon yuh own.

Didn't a former member of the PSC agree with Golding?? So the fcuk what??

Expecting you to have an independent thought is like expecting a hurricane in the Sahara. LOL!!

The articles stated it was only between those two airlines. Davis or the Air J board don't contradict it in any way.

If you follow the arguments been made

1) Open skies agreement was concluded 7 days before the deal, the deal was done is haste as admitted by Davis so if it was done 7 days later the price of the slots would have skyrocketed.

2) Get a copy of the letters that accompanied the report by the CG and you will see tht noway was British Airways was given a fair chance

3) I said I was happy to see the sugar company off the books of the government, just as happy as I will be to see Air Jamaica. I wasn't talking about the price. I knew the company was getting a deal but that is all I knew.

If BA and Virgin are bidding for your asset it means it is valuable and there is no reason why it wasn't open up to others who needed it as BA control most of the slots Heathrow.

The articles stated it was only between those two airlines. Davis or the Air J board don't contradict it in any way.

If you follow the arguments been made

1) Open skies agreement was concluded 7 days before the deal, the deal was done is haste as admitted by Davis so if it was done 7 days later the price of the slots would have skyrocketed.

2) Get a copy of the letters that accompanied the report by the CG and you will see tht noway was British Airways was given a fair chance

3) I said I was happy to see the sugar company off the books of the government, just as happy as I will be to see Air Jamaica. I wasn't talking about the price. I knew the company was getting a deal but that is all I knew.

If BA and Virgin are bidding for your asset it means it is valuable and there is no reason why it wasn't open up to others who needed it as BA control most of the slots Heathrow.
                I guess your knowledge on the subject far exceeds mine.

Our $35m for the slots went down the toilet.

I guess your knowledge on the subject far exceeds mine.

Our $35m for the slots went down the toilet.
                  The heart of the matter is this......

The then Minister improperly and illegally intervened in the negotiation.

You seem to think this is a non issue....but then again your moral compass has always appeared a bit chancy.

Why he did it however is a matter for speculation at this time....but that does not obfuscate the clear breach the minister made.

The goodly minister went as far as to pen a letter to the then chairman of Air Jamaica saying that having intervened personally he (the minister) would feel compromised (!!??!!) if the board did not vote in favour of the Virgin bid.

Cho, that is standard Ministerial behaviour...

Have you not payed attention the past 18 years ?

If your Prime Minister is PJ 'Shell Oil' Patterson.. what do you expect the Govt he leads to be... toss in 18 years of continous rule and you basically have a free for all..

Don1 attempts to pass this off as par for the course simply reflects that he has been pounded into a state of numbness by the PNP activities over almost 2 decades.. his compass suffered the most damage..

His attempts to lump the JLP with the rotting hulk the PNP is just one of the many red flags that has branded him.

He would earn more respect if he came straight like Karl of Jawge, instead he professes to be 'above it all'..

LOL !! Classic.

My? My? My?

No mention of what it would take to improve the airline further - more injection of funds and further rationalization?

Am I getting it wrong when I am seeing this article stating that at that time the airline even with the injection of hundreds of millions of USD per annum was still losing hundreds of millions of USD annually?

There are those who have been calling for the closure of Air Jamaica for years...why then do they have a problem with their wishes coming true as the airline slowly shrinks and sinks towards oblivion?
                      Last edited by Karl; April 8, 2009, 05:54 PM.

Why didn't more airlines bid for the slots?

Just asking!

Originally posted by Comment View Post
                          The heart of the matter is this......

The then Minister improperly and illegally intervened in the negotiation.

You seem to think this is a non issue....but then again your moral compass has always appeared a bit chancy.

Why he did it however is a matter for speculation at this time....but that does not obfuscate the clear breach the minister made.

The goodly minister went as far as to pen a letter to the then chairman of Air Jamaica saying that having intervened personally he (the minister) would feel compromised (!!??!!) if the board did not vote in favour of the Virgin bid.
                          Moral compass?? Whey yu come fram?

If it is "illegal" as you claim and there is documented recorded of this supposed illegality I expect to see the fellow charged.... this of course will not happen.
                          Why? Because there is a difference between breaking a law and breaking stated administrative procedure. Politicians break administrative procedure every day of the week.
                          Witness Golding's interference in the Vascianne issue... that's standard modus operandi for politicians... and will forever be so.

Save your faux morality for the gullible.... or ensure that the supposed illegality attracts the appropriate legal sanction.

Cho, that is standard Ministerial behaviour...

Have you not payed attention the past 18 years ?

If your Prime Minister is PJ 'Shell Oil' Patterson.. what do you expect the Govt he leads to be... toss in 18 years of continous rule and you basically have a free for all..

Don1 attempts to pass this off as par for the course simply reflects that he has been pounded into a state of numbness by the PNP activities over almost 2 decades.. his compass suffered the most damage..

His attempts to lump the JLP with the rotting hulk the PNP is just one of the many red flags that has branded him.

He would earn more respect if he came straight like Karl of Jawge, instead he professes to be 'above it all'..

LOL !! Classic.
                            Rear Admiral yu tek annoda break from di trough?? Ow much inna di budget fi yuh??

There is no doubt there is direct intervention from the minister in charge.

You think Sir Richard is going to choose to make contact with the minister directly if he wasn't trying to influence the sale?
                              You think there would be a bid if it was not a trying to influence the sale?

Why didn't more airlines bid for the slots?

Just asking!
                                He has an answer.. the bidding was rigged in Virgin's favour... and only 2 airlines were invited from among the dozens clamouring to participate.

PS... the slots would have sold for $35m at a minimum.