Wage freeze
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostIf that's his solution to the crisis, yes, that's what I'd claim!
PM's salary cut is a "show of tokenism" - Simpson Miller
Jamaica Observer
Posted: 4/6/2009 10:28:23 AM
Opposition Leader Portia Simpson Miller has dismissed the decision by Prime Minister Bruce Golding to cut his own salary by 15 per cent and forgo a seven per cent pay rise as a "show of tokenism".
Instead Simpson Miller called for him to cut the number of ministers serving in the Cabinet, which she said would save on ministerial salaries, expenses and perks
“It would have been a far more effective measure that would yield more measurable and significant savings to the public purse for the Prime Minister to cut the size of his oversized Cabinet," she said in a statement today.
However she welcomed that he took the step but added that more needed to be done to address the recession."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Where did he indicate that?
Anyhow, regardless of who the PM is in Jamaica, the way our politics is played you'd be damned if you do and damned if you don't. The cut suggests the PM is tightening his belt like all and sundry. Tokenism? yes, but necessary... regardless of whether you like him or not.
Do the govt. have solutions? anything will be localised... our economy has a significant exposure to the global economy; aluminum and demand for it and tourism to name the two important ones... that is out of the govt's control. We now have to look at ways to get more self-sufficient especially in food. That's where I look to the govt to become creative and innovative.Peter R
a good jesture... i support this move by the pm... i would like to see a reform of the tax system and revenue collection efforts... i believe too many people are not paying taxes...
dance promoters... artists on shows... sound operators... studio operators... this is just one small section...
the tax office need to be more vigilant...'to get what we've never had, we MUST do what we've never done'
yeah B. Even higglas, barber, illegal taxi.
a little smalls will help. People expect services but no fi pay nothing.
Time fi a change.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Revive the shoemaking (cobbler - dem use to call them nuh) business and export. Afterall, mi tiad of all those shoes made in China, which seem to be everywhere (make me want to puck)
Everytime, I have to ask the store clerk, if shoes are not made in Brazil and Spain anymore.“Life is a system of half-truths and lies, opportunistic, convenient evasion.”