• Wage freeze

PM takes 15% pay cut, asks MPs to accept 10% less

Monday, April 06, 2009

PRIME Minister Bruce Golding last night announced a public sector wage freeze "at the levels which obtained on March 31", and in an obvious effort to make the decision more palatable, said that he will be taking a 15 per cent salary cut this year in addition to foregoing the seven per cent increase which would have been due to him effective April 1.

In addition, members of parliament have been asked to take a 10 per cent cut in their salaries.

These were just some of the 'tough choices' the Jamaica Labour Party-led Government said it has had to make in grappling to keep the lid on public spending and the ballooning wage bill which last fiscal year stood at $110 billion and accounted for one of the largest areas of government expenditure.

Making the disclosure during an address to the nation yesterday, Golding said those in the lead "will have to lead by example".

Golding indicated that urgent attention would be paid to tax reform. "There are some people who are paying too much tax and others who are paying too little or getting away without paying," he said. "We have spent a long time studying and analysing... The time has come when we must do what we have long needed to do to make our tax system just and equitable and one that helps to stimulate rather than stifle investment, production and job creation."

The prime minister said the alternative to the wage freeze would have been "to lay off thousands of workers at a time when alternative employment is hard to find". The Government has maintained since the start of the year that unpopular decisions will be made in the upcoming budget which is to be unveiled tomorrow when Finance and Planning Minister Audley Shaw tables the 2009/10 Estimates of Expenditure.

The prime minister further indicated that there would also be cuts on expenditure to improve infrastructure.

"The people of Jamaica are entitled to better roads and water supplies, but we are not going to be able to spend as much as we would like on these projects...," Golding said.

He, however, noted that there are some areas in which the administration would not be able to cut back.
    "We can't cut back what we are spending to fight crime, educate our children, provide health care and assist the pensioners and the very poor," the prime minister said. "These are vital services on which, even in these hard times, we have to spend more, not less. So deeper cuts have to be made in other areas, we have no choice."

And government agencies are to come under increased scrutiny. Golding last week charged permanent secretaries and heads of government departments to "set about reducing expenditure".

"It costs us over $70 billion per year to finance government activities, not including wages. We have to cut that back. Use less electricity, make fewer phone calls, use less stationery and do less driving up and down," the prime minister said.

"I expect them to rise to the occasion and I will meet with them at the end of each quarter to evaluate how well they have performed," he said.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...AGE_FREEZE.asp

Her Majesty's Loyal Opposition say the PM should move beyond tokenism and cut his cabinet. Didn't hear her say if she and her followers would agree to a pay cut.

PM takes 15% pay cut, asks MPs to accept 10% less

Monday, April 06, 2009

PRIME Minister Bruce Golding last night announced a public sector wage freeze "at the levels which obtained on March 31", and in an obvious effort to make the decision more palatable, said that he will be taking a 15 per cent salary cut this year in addition to foregoing the seven per cent increase which would have been due to him effective April 1.

In addition, members of parliament have been asked to take a 10 per cent cut in their salaries.

These were just some of the 'tough choices' the Jamaica Labour Party-led Government said it has had to make in grappling to keep the lid on public spending and the ballooning wage bill which last fiscal year stood at $110 billion and accounted for one of the largest areas of government expenditure.

Making the disclosure during an address to the nation yesterday, Golding said those in the lead "will have to lead by example".

Golding indicated that urgent attention would be paid to tax reform. "There are some people who are paying too much tax and others who are paying too little or getting away without paying," he said. "We have spent a long time studying and analysing... The time has come when we must do what we have long needed to do to make our tax system just and equitable and one that helps to stimulate rather than stifle investment, production and job creation."

The prime minister said the alternative to the wage freeze would have been "to lay off thousands of workers at a time when alternative employment is hard to find". The Government has maintained since the start of the year that unpopular decisions will be made in the upcoming budget which is to be unveiled tomorrow when Finance and Planning Minister Audley Shaw tables the 2009/10 Estimates of Expenditure.

The prime minister further indicated that there would also be cuts on expenditure to improve infrastructure.

"The people of Jamaica are entitled to better roads and water supplies, but we are not going to be able to spend as much as we would like on these projects...," Golding said.

He, however, noted that there are some areas in which the administration would not be able to cut back.
      "We can't cut back what we are spending to fight crime, educate our children, provide health care and assist the pensioners and the very poor," the prime minister said. "These are vital services on which, even in these hard times, we have to spend more, not less. So deeper cuts have to be made in other areas, we have no choice."

And government agencies are to come under increased scrutiny. Golding last week charged permanent secretaries and heads of government departments to "set about reducing expenditure".

"It costs us over $70 billion per year to finance government activities, not including wages. We have to cut that back. Use less electricity, make fewer phone calls, use less stationery and do less driving up and down," the prime minister said.

"I expect them to rise to the occasion and I will meet with them at the end of each quarter to evaluate how well they have performed," he said.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...AGE_FREEZE.asp
      Well! Well! Well!
      Nothing about (my - Wah yuh seh, Willi?) improving infrastructure or initiatives to secure/plan for/create a new path for development that preserves the physical well-being of the island (reduce polutants, improve and sustain adequate water supply, strengthen and protect - fire, security, clean-up and make more user friendly insist on conformity to codes...etc., move dependence further along the path of 'clean' industries and ventures - energy, hospitality industry - expand and improve - casinoes anyone (access to our myriad of attractions in our interior - caves, waterfalls, warm springs, etc.) and long term future developments, etc...

Sports development - Water sports? Golf? ...and getting the huge 'power teams to spend sometime of the offseason in Ja and develop activities around those visits? etc., etc?

Encourage development of some large farms... Is sugar really dead...or it should be switched from labour intensive to highly automated? ...rice production as highly automated farming? ...cattle and other livestock? Tax breaks on feed? Tax breaks on start-ups?

In short afraid of inflation so much that keeping our people and our island 'alive' is 'told' go to hell! So what is the point? No island and people...then????

What about Lazie's shifting revenue collection to increase in sales tax asnd lower the income tax rate?

Just the world has come crashing down - No here we go to create our own destiny...rather we are taking cover!

Oooh well?!
      Last edited by Karl; April 6, 2009, 09:32 AM.

Well! Well! Well!
        Nothing about (my - Wah yuh seh, Willi?) improving infrastructure or initiatives to secure/plan for/create a new path for development that preserves the physical well-being of the island (reduce polutants, improve and sustain adequate water supply, strengthen and protect - fire, security, clean-up and make more user friendly insist on conformity to codes...etc., move dependence further along the path of 'clean' industries and ventures - energy, hospitality industry - expand and improve - casinoes anyone (access to our myriad of attractions in our interior - caves, waterfalls, warm springs, etc.) and long term future developments, etc...

Sports development - Water sports? Golf? ...and getting the huge 'power teams to spend sometime of the offseason in Ja and develop activities around those visits? etc., etc?

Encourage development of some large farms... Is sugar really dead...or it should be switched from labour intensive to highly automated? ...rice production as highly automated farming? ...cattle and other livestock? Tax breaks on feed? Tax breaks on start-ups?

In short afraid of inflation so much that keeping our people and our island 'alive' is 'told' go to hell! So what is the point? No island and people...then????

What about Lazie's shifting revenue collection to increase in sales tax asnd lower the income tax rate?

Just the world has come crashing down - No here we go to create our own destiny...rather we are taking cover!

Oooh well?!
        The fact that you used the confused emoticon so much is a clear indication that you're confused about the point of the PM's presentation.

Get real Lazie! To use your term... a 15% cut will do NOTHING to help the Jamaican economy!!!! All tokenism.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
            Get real Lazie! To use your term... a 15% cut will do NOTHING to help the Jamaican economy!!!! All tokenism.
            Sometimes I have to wonder when yuh serious or when yuh joking. The fact is they're asking public sector workers to take a wage freeze, how in God's name could they do that, but go ahead and take their increase?

Actually tokenism did come to mind, however it is a good first step to try and tackle the expected drop off in tax revenues.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                Actually tokenism did come to mind, however it is a good first step to try and tackle the expected drop off in tax revenues.
                ...do you think a good step would be to find a way to increase revenues?

Increase revenues - yuh nuh see seh people refuse to pay taxes

so he shouldn't do it then? i don't understand....really i don't. i mean he could take the 7% increase then what people cuss and seh in these economic conditions when people getting laid off him a tek raise?

damned either way eh?

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                      Increase revenues - yuh nuh see seh people refuse to pay taxes
                      ...as Lazie infers, make it painless!

On the other hand, anything the PM does would be the right thing in Lazie's eyes.

Praise if he does, praise if he doesn't!

.......so we are right back to where we started. ah...there's the rub ....~sigh~

On the other hand, anything the PM does would be the right thing in Lazie's eyes.

Praise if he does, praise if he doesn't!
                            Don't make it about Lazie, I would have rather if he had made it clear that all MPs gonna tek a 10% decrease in salary, but people like you would claim he'd be acting like Hitler.

If that's his solution to the crisis, yes, that's what I'd claim!