Luciano declares innocence

• Luciano declares innocence

REGGAE SINGER Luciano yesterday denied any criminal ties and expressed remorse for the shoot-out at his St Andrew home last week, which ended with the death of a gunman and injury to three policemen.

It was the Grammy-nominated vocalist's first statement on the March 25 incident which resulted in him being charged with harbouring a fugitive.

"I have never hired anyone to watch my headback as has been reported," said Luciano, whose real name is Jepther McClymont.

"This is not only a figment of imagination of the perpetrators of this smear on my credibility, but is a total lie," Luciano said during a press conference yesterday at the Hilton Kingston hotel, New Kingston.

"At no point in time did I know that anyone visiting my home/ studio had with him or her an illegal firearm or ammunition," he continued. "I have always had an open-door policy to people. Based on my recent experience, the danger of this open-door policy has not escaped my attention."

Andrew Senior, a man the police said was wanted for several murders, engaged a police squad in a firefight at Luciano's Westminster Crescent home on the morning of March 25.

Senior was killed in the two-hour stand-off. Police spokesman Karl Angell said two of the injured policemen underwent surgery and are still in hospital, while the other was released.

Court appearance

On Monday, Luciano was charged and offered station bail of $60,000. He is scheduled to appear in court April 9 when it will be known if he will be allowed to travel for overseas shows.

Luciano was accompanied to the press conference by his attorneys Delano Franklyn and Hugh Wilson. Several entertainment industry figures also attended.

Originally from Manchester, Luciano is a leading figure in roots-reggae and is best known for the songs It's Me Again Jah and Lord Give Me Strength.

His 2001 album, A New Day, was nominated for a Best Reggae Album Grammy.

howard.campbell@gleanerjm.com

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...ead/lead5.html

"I have always had an open-door policy to people. Based on my recent experience, the danger of this open-door policy has not escaped my attention."
    That is a poor excuse, and yuh haffi put your foot down in terms of the character of people that associate with yuh. When mi just come a foreign, nuff yute used to high pon hype, and mi mek it clear sey mi nuh deal with guns & drugs. Most a dem get deport and one and two a fertilize the earth.