You have it backwards.

He MADE the rasta image a commercial product, the rasta image didn't make him.
    Oh I see so what do you attribute the boom in popularity after his death to? I mean seeing as he was always a rasta?

elvis presley was a rasta?

And Che, and Biko, and MalcomX and....

Ah bwoy.

You think Bob Marley dominated the music scene before his death the way Elvis dominated? Interesting. Elvis was a multi platinum selling artist prior to his death. Marley was nowhere near.

You think the people wearing Malcolm X and Che t-shirts ascribe to marxism or radical black power? Thanks for proving my point.

Remind me what your point is again?

So Che became a cult figure because of his 'image" of Marxism, not because of what he did in spreading those beliefs?

MalcomX became famous because of his "image" of black power, not because of his ability to convert hundreds and draw big crowds?

Again you are confusing someone with notable talent/success making a certain image that becomes popular, with said person becoming popular DUE to the image.

Right about what?
                You lose me there?

BTW, what do YOU mean by a prophet?

Finally, I dont agree with all the laws of physics either. Notable plus like the strong and weak nuclear forces. There are competing theories out there that seem to mek more sense to me.

LoL

Like Maradona I guess...no big ting in the US!!!

Bricky, until MJ, Bob Marly had the stadium record in San Siro in Milan...150,000 packed in the stadium, he was given the reception of a Head of State in several countries, the list goes on.

The thing that people lose track of in this thread is that Bob was MUCH MORE than a musician, or an entertainer or a commercial entity.

Bob had a message that touched people deeply and continues to resonate.

Famous quote: "if my life is just fi me and my enjoyment and comfort...mi nuh want it...tek it right now". It is clear that if you really study any account of his life, he was on a mission, a special journey.

It took me a while to understand that, so I cant demand instant recognition from any one else.

Like Daniel in the Lion's den
                    Go in the fire and they never get burned
                    So I Idren, I sistren
                    Which way will you choose
                    We got to hurry, oh hurry, oh hurry, woah now
                    Cause we got no time to lose

Some people have facts and claims
                    Some people have pride and shame
                    Some people cant stand up strong
                    Some people wont wait for long
                    Some people have flocks and streams
                    Some people have no aim it seems...

Which are you? LoL

Not very tragic death at all.

Compare him to all those OD-ed American singers.....or Buddy Holly/Valens in the plane crash.

How many singers tell it like it is, telling the raw naked truth?:

The Babylon system is a VAMPIRE
                      Sucking the children day by day

Building church an university
                      Deceiving the people continually
                      Graduating thieves and murderers
                      Sucking the blood of the sufferaz

Tell the children the truth!
                      ==================

but each has landed on the posthumous best selling list.....elvis sold many while he was alive...and even more when dead....bob sold a few alive and even more dead....your point is now lost on me.....

actually you DISPROVE your point. the people who bought all those bob marley albums to make him a household name are rastas and weed smokers? OR maybe, just MAYBE they like his style and message?

OR maybe, just MAYBE they like his style
                            Thanks again for reinforcing my point

ELVIS dominated the music industry in life and in death. Bob Marley only in death so obviously it had to do with more than the music or maybe his music magically got better after his death

Elvis ruled the music industry in life Bob Marley didn't so care to explain the sudden explosion in popularity more than three years after his death? Did his music all of a sudden get better?