I think these comments are worthy of discussion under a new

jawge...R. Marley......the documentary may be good but the book of the same name by timothy white is perhaps the best of the three that i have read don taylor and rita marley are the authors of the other 2.

he may have been aware of the need to be shrewd with his money but he approached it with a naivete that saw rita being able to sign his name better than him....

people get ready is a cover of the impressions song of the same name.

jawge...R. Marley......the documentary may be good but the book of the same name by timothy white is perhaps the best of the three that i have read don taylor and rita marley are the authors of the other 2.

he may have been aware of the need to be shrewd with his money but he approached it with a naivete that saw rita being able to sign his name better than him....
        He trusted Rita...and considering his extra-marital affairs and how the relationship endured it was just another of his many good Don't know the relationship he had with Rita!

...and dismiss the 'badmindedness' being spewed about her...she had a heavy burden to bear!

I put it to you that Chris Blackwell knew talent and potential when he saw it... Bob's genius came to the fore and his international fame and success probably far exceeded anything Blackwell had imagined in his wildest dreams.
          I can believe that!
          Bob was pure and simple - a genius!
          If his music was not up to 'genuis quality' it would be where it is today regardless of the marketing.

So was Bob Marley a creation of a clever and successful marketing strategy? a "Menudo" or sorts? or was he indeed truly a genius of reggae whose music would have brought him to the fore regardless?[/COLOR]
            Did I say that Bob Marley was not an extraordinary musical talent? Did I say that Bob Marley was a "creation" of clever marketing? I simply said that Bob would not have been what he is today without the rastaman image. Good music or not. You think people who weren't born when Bob Marley was alive would be walking around with shirts with a dude looking like this just because he makes cool music?

Many of the tunes were co-written with Bunny & Peter. Also, some Marley historians believe Tosh was the sole writer of "Get Up Stand Up". Lets not forget that Tosh was a far more accomplished musician than either Bob or Bunny, and we must also give a lot of credit to the other musicians such as the Barrett bothers & Junior Murvin who are also responsible for the sound of the band.

And a lightworker.

Meditate on his lyrics and you will see that he was seeing more than the obvious.
                He simply read and was taught about Eastern philosophy by Plano or are you suggesting he was some sort of prophet?

But isn't One Love quite a different tune from People get Ready?

Yes he used some of some of the lyrics and gave Mayfield credit for it, but I would say it is a bit of a stretch to call it a cover.

I think it's fair to say it was more of a combination than cover.

Stir It Up composed by Johnny Nash, 1967

I guess technically Bobs version is a cover since Nash recorded it first although Bob wrote it, but bwoy...not the best example of a cover version making an artiste

Agreed.

Also, "War" was based on a speech made by Ethiopian Emperor Haile Selassie I before the United Nations General Assembly in 1963. The song is credited to Alan Cole and late Wailers percussionist Carlton 'Carly' Barrett as song writers, and not to Bob Marley.

Who born knowing everything?

You said "He was right...". If I study physics then profess that there are 3 laws of motion I am also right aren't I? Would you then say that I formed the basis of classical mechanics? Should I be deified for my proclamation?